SG-Ipoh-Penang-KL-SG road trip 20th to 24th Sep 2012

Adrianli

SG-Ipoh-Penang-KL-SG road trip :

20/09/12 (Thu)

We set off from Singapore at 5am to MY thru EDL onto NSH. 7am first pee stop and pump petrol, at Ayer Keroh rest stop. Then we turned off at Nilai to bypass KL to Seng Huat Bak Kut Teh (under the flyover one) at Klang for breakfast. It

post-2654-1348734463_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734479_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734491_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734505_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734529_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734546_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734566_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734586_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734595_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734610_thumb.jpg

We proceeded to check-in our hotel, Syuen Hotel and opted to park at the front for just RM10 per 24hrs. They will reserve the lot for u even when u drive off for shopping or dinner. Syuen hotel is just opposite Ipoh Parade Shopping Mall. The hotel is nice but fittings were pretty old. Breakfast variety also not too many choices. We then went for dinner at Onn Kee as many mentioned Lou Wong standard drop. But to me the chicken does not taste as good as the ones I had in SG. The bean sprouts were fatter n crunchier than SG ones, we ordered a second plate after finishing the first. Char siew was also tasty cos they only use lean meat to make it. Overall, quite good and filling dinner. Forgot to try the Sar Hor Fun. Visited a confectionary just opposite and they had very nice mooncakes and piglet snacks. My fren

post-2654-1348734750_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734758_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734766_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734773_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734782_thumb.jpg

21/09/12 (Fri)

Breakfast at Hotel and headed for Butterworth ferry terminal. But before we knew it, the GPS routed us to Penang bridge. So we travelled to Penang Island by the bridge instead. So we proceeded to Lebuh Kimberly for lunch and walkabout. We parked along Lebuh Camarvon and walked pass a corner coffeeshop selling roast duck, pork and char siew so we stopped and had lunch there. The coffeeshop was crowded so had to wait a while for our orders to serve. All we told to stallholder was everything, four adult and two kids. Alamak, when the food was served, it was tasty. As good as SG standard or better but still lose to the ones I ate at HK. It was served with lotus roots soup too. The coffeeshop also famous for its boiled sugar cane drink which I missed having it. My mum would always boil sugar cane drink for me and not allow me to have normal sugar cane juices. The frenly coffeeshop uncle keep promoting his boiled sugar cane drink as

post-2654-1348734891_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734917_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734948_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734959_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734969_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734979_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348734992_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735002_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735016_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735045_thumb.jpg

Its dinner time and we went to the recommended Good Friends Seafood Restaurant at Teluk Kumbar. Lucky with the help of GPS, we made it there. Have to turn off the main road and onto a small sandy road. The place is just by the sea and the shore is littered with fishing boats. Great place for picture taking of sunset views. The prices were reasonable, crabs were of smaller sizes, RM50/kg for male and RM55/kg for female with roe. Mantis shrimp was RM30/shrimp, good for four persons. We ordered four crabs, one mantis shrimp, one plate of seashells like lala, one plate of cockles and vegetable. Total ard RM143.50. Price is reasonable. But I don

post-2654-1348735106_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735114_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735127_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735144_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735184_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735196_thumb.jpg

Thanks for the FR. It will come in handy when I plan my trip there...soon!

Btw, how many cars went with you? I only saw one i45 in one of the pics...

22/09/12 (Sat)

Breakfast at hotel and the spread was good. Lots of food to choose from. The main staple is the nasi lemak. After breakfast we proceeded to Kek Lok Si Temple to view the largest standing bronze statue of Guan Yin. Being a weekend, traffic near the temple was slightly heavy and crowded. We parked at the lowest level and climbed our way up the various temples within Kek Lok Si. We took the tilted elevator up to view the bronze Guan Yin. It is almost completed less some scaffolding on her right side. The view there is also nice, can see parts of Penang. You can have ur name written on the roof tile with a token of RM100. This roof tile will then be part of the building structure of the bronze Guan Yin. I didn

post-2654-1348735291_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735318_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735358_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735371_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735386_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735398_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735411_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735440_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735453_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735465_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348735576_thumb.jpg

23/09/12 (Sun)

My fren and I wanted to view the Teluk Bahang Dam and it was our last day in Penang so we decided to make a dash for it. Woke up at 5.45am, by 6am we drove out of the hotel MSCP and clocking speed of avg 80kmh towards Teluk Bahang Dam. Road was twisty and winding, at some points with huge red sign Laju, have to really slow down. Great drive if you love to drive. Traffic was little to none so we reached there by 6.30am. The sun was not out and it was still dark so we slept in the car till ard 7.15am when it was bright enough. The guard came and open the gate ard 7am. The dam faces the sea and the view was great. The morning air was also refreshing. After taking lots of pictures, we proceeded back to the hotel, enroute we drove thru Gurney Drive and there was no traffic but lots of joggers. There were also lots of

post-2654-1348736284_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348736294_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348736305_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348736323_thumb.jpg

By 8am, we are back in the hotel and ready for breakfast at the hotel. Finished breakfast, pack up and left the hotel for the confectionary to buy tau sa piah recommended by my brother. We went to Ban Heang at Macallister Road. Bought many many boxes for colleagues and relatives. Drove back to the mainland thru Penang bridge. Heading towards Mid Valley, KL for our rest stop of the day. Booked Cititel Mid Valley Hotel, the room was small but the staff there were frenly. Breakfast not much variety but ok lah. Mid Valley mall is huge the first three levels are all the branded shops and boutiques. Again its for the ladies, not for me. I went to the huge ACE hardware store and mostly walked ard the basement which had food shops and little push-cart stores. Had dinner at one of the Chinese restaurant, then back to shopping before dragging my wife back to hotel room to catch the Man U vs Liverpool game live on ESPN.

post-2654-1348736368_thumb.jpg

24/09/12 (Mon)

Breakfast at hotel, then shopping at Carrefour for groceries and headed back to Singapore. Drive back was uneventful, stopped at Ayer Keroh A&W for lunch and saw opposite direction a fleet of Ferraris screaming past. This time no speeding ticket for the whole trip cos mostly drive at 110kmh and used cruise control. A very helpful tool.

I find Penang a nice place and there are still lots of places I have not been. I will be back to Penang, maybe next year again.

Thanks for the FR. It will come in handy when I plan my trip there...soon!

Btw, how many cars went with you? I only saw one i45 in one of the pics...

Only two cars, my fren's Freed and my i45.

I tot you drove a Honda Accord? :o

Traded in for a i45 when i broke even, two months ago. :D I downgraded. [:p] [:p]

Edited by Adrianli

So, Ipoh gals or Penang gals are prettier? [:p]

Didnt look much at the gals(wife always beside me). [laugh] But when we were at Ipoh, they were holding the Miss Malaysia Model. Saw three of the contestants while having breakfast, they had to wear their sash around them, face like lang ga lorry, body skinny like can blow away in the wind. Not my liking. [:/]

425042_10150974287764142_91929652_n.jpg

Edited by Adrianli