RadX Moderator October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 Talk about good timing (or bad!). I kena spot check by the LTA today. Made me pull my 911 over to the side of the road and asked if my exhaust was original. I replied (truthfully) that it was. He still insisted on checking my IC, then got under the car to have a look. Finding that everything's stock, he waved me off. I'll see if I can get the video from my in car cam up later. They're going all-out - I heard from a reliable source that they stopped a Ferrari with a Tubi exhaust. May God have mercy on his soul. liar liar bra on fire you [:p] considering your age, your ic is paper one right??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sucker Clutched October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 Some Mit Lancer CSC 3 or Honda Jazz or Hyundai Getz can be louder than the REX/EVO in the MSCP and definitely not louder than Harley Davidson. . Wow. Do you really think exhaust mod is ONLY for louder sound? Most of the time, it's the illegal mods that're disturbingly loud, not the legal ones. WRXs & Type Rs do have performance benefits from an exhaust mod, not because the owners have inferior complex and want their cars to sound like a V12. BTW, these cars are already louder then most cars before they are modded. Personally, I think more annoying then loud exhausts, is the failure to signal, failure to give way, tailgating, road hogging, reckless driving and revving needlessly in a carpark in the dead of the night when we are all asleep. Well, all fast cars are loud, but not all loud cars are fast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 liar liar bra on fire you [:p] considering your age, your ic is paper one right??? My car is all stock, honest! Boh lui to mod, lah. Still got paper IC meh? Thought we all forced to "upgrade"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jokerd 2nd Gear October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 I don't get LTA's stock = legal, not stock = not legal unless clear with charges out of your own pocket (usually in relation to headlights) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 Anyway the TP so good to be able to recognise all stock / not stock? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 Anyway the TP so good to be able to recognise all stock / not stock? ROV/LTA officers on bikes have apparently been trained. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 ROV/LTA officers on bikes have apparently been trained. If in doubt they can summon you to the inspection center. And if the guy doesn't know, I think they can call for more backup. In short, waste time if yours is stock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 If in doubt they can summon you to the inspection center. And if the guy doesn't know, I think they can call for more backup. In short, waste time if yours is stock. you tio before ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 (edited) To be fair, LTA is acting upon public feedback on the unnecessary noises generated from these vehicle owners. Government don't hate car (and you) as implied, they just want to control before it spirals out of control (too late?) as there are many irresponsible motorists and workshops out there. I think is a thumbs up as 'approved' exhausts produce measured decibels range henced 'controlled' verses those that are opened up, etc. The drawback is the pricing of these approved exhaust systems are extremely pricy which in turn feeds the illegal trade. Time to study and legalise aftermarket mods? To share, I saw an LTA bikey officer last friday riding next to an class 2B scrambler with an aftermarket exhaust (not sure legal or not). The scrambler guy was trying not to draw the attention of the LTA officer by gliding most of the time and I think he succeed in escaping an inspection. I am definitely SURE that the exhaust is louder and hollower than it looks. At the same stretch was a yamaha 2B 'cub kia' and it was also having an aftermarket exhaust which sounded like a 400cc. lol He too escaped... sigh. I may get flamed but the idiots are those who think a loud exhaust is cool and enjoys trottling/accelerating off loudly at junctions, carparks, etc. what if a legal exhaust/STOCK exhaust is LOUDER than an illegally modified one? hurhur and i still dont get it.. my car is running at EJ20 engine.. BUT i cant use an exhaust approved for another EJ20 engine... must get it reapproved for my EJ20 engine... i didnt know that EJ20 is different from EJ20 Edited October 15, 2012 by Mllcg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 If in doubt they can summon you to the inspection center. And if the guy doesn't know, I think they can call for more backup. In short, waste time if yours is stock. but if doubtful=wasting YOUR time also. heads they win tails we lose Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 Paiseh.. for the wrong info about 5000cc. AFAIK, Rotary engine is already 2500cc but LTA (also AFIAK) has some definition about cc above the crankshaft. Hence, LTA (AFAIK) classified it is 1300cc. Probably, SMSA (AFAIK)know it and make reclassify it to 1cc of Rotary engine is equal to 2cc of NA engine. 1.3CC X 1.7 X 2 = 4.42 + stickers = 5000CC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RoadTricks Neutral Newbie October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 most people only install the exhaust systems and stop there, these exhaust systems only work when used in parallel with other modifications - bigger turbo, supercharger, intake and ecu mods else a bigger exhaust alone is very much pointless especially considering that car models nowadays are built to be compatible with multiple engines and the exhaust systems remain the same for the 1.6L, the 2L or even the 3L engine your qoute *most people*.how sure are you?? And how sure are you that changing the exhaust systems without doing any other mods won't increase power? I'm a trackie and a STOCK car with proper exhaust mods will beat the same model without exhaust mods on the straights. Would you want to see the improvements on a dyno sheet? a STOCK car on exhaust mods. clearly u don't see the dynamics and the airflow spec of these custom exhausts. (btw i'm not using illegal pipes for road use but you are clearly wrong about your assumptions.But it must be a proper measured exhaust systems) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RoadTricks Neutral Newbie October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 liar liar bra on fire you [:p] considering your age, your ic is paper one right??? [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 (edited) Well, here it is. I did nothing wrong, so I have no qualms about posting the entire video. I would, however, appreciate it if this video is kept within this forum. Please don't link to it from elsewhere or repost it. The last thing I want is to see it in an idiotic place like STOMP. I kept the video unlisted for a reason. Edited October 15, 2012 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 So why were you stopped??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 So why were you stopped??? Beats me, dude. I was driving sedately. I think they're stopping pretty much every performance car nowadays. Quota to meet, and all that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ohlins Neutral Newbie October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 They have to check a certain number of vehicles ... :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched October 15, 2012 Share October 15, 2012 Well, here it is. I did nothing wrong, so I have no qualms about posting the entire video. I would, however, appreciate it if this video is kept within this forum. Please don't link to it from elsewhere or repost it. The last thing I want is to see it in an idiotic place like STOMP. I kept the video unlisted for a reason. Bro, wtf? Stock Porsche also kenna? Like that my sticker car die liao lo (even though inside full of LTA-friendly mods)... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...