DIY oil change and servicing workshop leasing

Gylgyl

DIY oil change and servicing workshop leasing  

22 members have voted

1. 1. DIY oil change and servicing workshop leasing, will you be interested to DIY?

• Yes, because i trust only myself to my car.
    • No, too troublesome ... i rather pay workshop for manhour to do it for me
    • Yes, if there are a significant saving of more than 30%.

if i provide a workshop space with the lift system and basic tool for oil change and other servicing needs will you be interested to DIY yourself?

Do you also provide service to get rid of the used oil? Prease dun tell me pour away into the drain coz NEA will come after you.

Some things do not look that simple. The lift do not run on free electricity, so do the lights & fans.

Some clowns got no sense of safety. If anything happens who is going to be responsible and did you buy any liability insurance in case sh!t happens? If any injuries MOM will do a very thorough investigation and they will make sure that workshop get shut down.

No point lah. Anyway simple oil change and oil filter change do not cost much. Just let trained mechanics do it.

Dear sir, yes the oil dump service will be inclusive as well..thinking to get the same oil pan with a tank beneath one to collect used oil n will dispose in a approved legal way of some company collecting it ...

you pointed a very good aspect about safety... one thing we could do is to educate n teach on safety usage on the lift n equipment before allowing members to diy themselves.

the reason why i am thinking to settng up is bcos me myself cant find this kinda of service in singapore

That's becoz majority of car owners here have a day job and a family to take care of. Dun have that much time in their hands like yourself to DIY.

You think you can just go around and lease a workshop? If you can suggest such an idea means you have no idea the legal aspect of running a business here in sgp.

if i provide a workshop space with the lift system and basic tool for oil change and other servicing needs will you be interested to DIY yourself?

A lots of Tiko here diy only on their dick & not oil change.

why don't u open a place for people to watch porn & diy themselves,i think business will be good.

ok enough say,later RadX [rifle]

This works in some countries because their labour charge very high. Singapore's labour considered quite cheap already. Not worth it to DIY if you thinking of saving money.

It is a good idea, but I think it sufficient for any WS to open on sunday to let people do DIY. What matter most is how u gonna charge by hour or wat. The price would be a determining factor.

Singapore personally I don't think there is a mkt, so maybe u can start small and test water. By offering ur WS on sunday for people to play with their car and maybe charge them a lower cost when they screwed it up. I have a friend WS that I can access to, I keep telling myself got time I going to take my rim out and wash and do some detailing but never had the mood to engage in such activity .

There's always a small group of people who do not mind getting their hands dirty to do some simple work on their cars. I'm one of them and I know of people who changed their brakes + suspension themselves before. Of course one of them had access to a workshop.

For us it's not about the money, rather the simple joy of DIY and also knowing more about the cars.

What if the vehicle owner occupy the car lift the whole day and doing oil changing in snail pace ... [sweatdrop]

Drip dry the oil sump until the last drop before replacing new engine oil ... :angry:

in Singapore there's the Workplace Safety and Health Act. You better be familiar with it if you want to do this.. Its the occupier's responsibility to ensure the safety of the people working in it..

My advice is not to do it as there's too many legal implication

Edited by Baphomet

If anything the health and safety culture is even more pronounced in ang moh countries and they've still got places like these open. Hell, even their culture of litigation is stronger.

I like the idea and won't mind trying if the cost is same or lower than getting workshop to do. But how long will I keep going back routinely is hard to say.