Anyone watched.. Ah Boys to Men?

VellfireS

last time, kana called up, have to go to Depot rd to report, picked up by buses to Keat Hong Camp to draw uniforms and kana left, right, centre by those storemen....transported to commando jetty and took RPL to tekong, from jetty with Ali baba bag have to run all the way to Camp 3!!!!...reached there, straight away kana asked how our papa/mama doings and kana introduced to know the tar road better, never in my life I need to see the road so close to my face.......

Now, kana called up, very sweet one, everything can be thru internet submit the sizes, take nice air-con fast craft to tekong, parents can follow, uniform all packed swee swee on the table for collection with name tags.........way to go lah!

Frankly, the movie was not bad at all even if some people say its "propaganda". But most Singaporean men are/were part of this "propaganda", so there are a lot of memories flashback watching the movie. As a movie on its own, I thought the part on the uncle explaining "keng" and "songs" was a bit more like TV drama style, rather than movie, the pace is somehow not for a movie, and might affect its box office overseas (if planned).

the movie is trying to ensure parents out there whose kids are going to NS (after many reported incidents/accidents in NS) that overall are still safe compared to what was done in the 70s & 80s.

My boy ask me to migrate to other country in order to skip NS, now he is quite assured nothing scary in there [laugh] [laugh]

Had a couple of the United States army personnel in my camp during my active days and these guys were massive but ranked Corporals and PFC, and you should see the look on the faces when they had to salute to our dear 2LT 19 yr old JC boy.

Talk about being red-faced.

My company was attached to an infantry battalion in brunei..their soldiers are regular.

Early morning, was walking past a brunei coy. Whole coy came to attention and greeted me. I so embarassed. Sgt there aredy big fark..their sgt is like in 40s. In specialist mess, go messboy come take our order and serve us..

officer like king..heard stay in bungalow, got maid & driver..

My company was attached to an infantry battalion in brunei..their soldiers are regular.

Early morning, was walking past a brunei coy. Whole coy came to attention and greeted me. I so embarassed. Sgt there aredy big fark..their sgt is like in 40s. In specialist mess, go messboy come take our order and serve us..

officer like king..heard stay in bungalow, got maid & driver..

During my Technical Grade 55 course, there was also a batch of Bruneian soldiers there for training but not so "on" leh. Only during morning parade then "on" like us. Otherwise, they are pretty much like us. Go there to pass time only. [lipsrsealed][laugh]

For entertainment, i am having second thoughts about giving this show a miss. might just catch it on pay tv later. side track a bit, managed to catch skyfall (one of those rare occasion) and was very disappointed with it. donno why review say is the best bond movie. M died and there is the new Q and M.

Edited by Vextan

its funnier than the recent productions by jack neo but hilarious? not to me.

funny yes, worth? don think so...

lucky free tix [laugh]:D[:p]

Edited by Tom_kkh

For entertainment, i am having second thoughts about giving this show a miss. might just catch it on pay tv later. side track a bit, managed to catch skyfall (one of those rare occasion) and was very disappointed with it. donno why review say is the best bond movie. M died and there is the new Q and M.

I feel skyfall is the best among the 3 james bond films which Daniel Craig acted. The other two, Casino Royale and Quantum of Solce was mediocre. M has to be replaced I guess because Judi Dench is almost 80 and probably not able to act in future James Bond films. So is Q, who is probably also in his 70s.

I brought my parents to watch but chose on a weekday which is $7 after credit card discount (since I dun think JN films are worth S$11 to catch).

Would I say it is worth it? Depends on how one looks at it. For entertainment, I give it a 7.5/10. And for the fact that it is about army which brings back the memories for most of us who served NS before, I would say this is one of the main reason to watch it. If you are someone who emphasises strongly on plot and storyline, then I would say this show is not for you.

I brought my parents to watch but chose on a weekday which is $7 after credit card discount (since I dun think JN films are worth S$11 to catch).

Would I say it is worth it? Depends on how one looks at it. For entertainment, I give it a 7.5/10. And for the fact that it is about army which brings back the memories for most of us who served NS before, I would say this is one of the main reason to watch it. If you are someone who emphasises strongly on plot and storyline, then I would say this show is not for you.

I dont think there is much plot and storyline for this type of movie. Maybe i think more for entertainment and memories for those went through ns before.

Usually we see a number of movies abt local army life.

But not so much on our fellow NS man who is in police units.

Any bros here in the police? And how was the training and "tekan" like?

I from camp 1 Charlie in 92, the 3rd door bund was used as store room already.... Never met a Xiao Qian..

Cool! I was in '91 Alpha coy - love the original British barrack dust, smell, dirt and all at camp 1.

The Charlie bunk was converted to part store and training room, if I recall correctly.

Haven't seen the movie but I hope Mindef retain the camp 1 original barrack instead of those multis-storey ones...

Had a couple of the United States army personnel in my camp during my active days and these guys were massive but ranked Corporals and PFC, and you should see the look on the faces when they had to salute to our dear 2LT 19 yr old JC boy.

Talk about being red-faced.

some young chaps are quite mature as officers, showing lots of leadership and responsibility...

but there are others who are childish, blur or reckless type... these are the ones who give officers a bad name

how come there's no discount for NSF/NSMEN?

at least give a 10-20% off for all who had served NS regardless of SAF,SCDF,SPF as a tribute to all those had 'sacrificed' 2.5 years for this country.

likely he need to contribute 10% of his earnings to CH... if give discount here and there then he eat what? besides he is not a saint to provide free entertainment and this is only comeback movie to cover the recent no show years after the sex scandal.

Edited by Jayy25

likely he need to contribute 10% of his earnings to CH... if give discount here and there then he eat what? besides he is not a saint to provide free entertainment and this is only comeback movie to cover the recent no show years after the sex scandal.

got discount what. govt alr say they giving out vouchers to NS men soon for the sacrifices which we can use to watch movies. lol [laugh]