A honest Singaporean

Simon29

Why is it so hard for people to accept that there are honest people? If you don't believe that there could be honest people, it's because you would have kept the money if you were in his situation and could come up with a plausible "I didn't see it" story. But don't judge others by your own (low) standards. Its called integrity. Its the same mentality some people take to beat red lights, or to drive at insane speeds - just because they feel there's no visible law enforcement.

I am not saying that the taxi driver was not really being honest but lets say now someone finds 1million and knows for sure that no one knows he/she picked it up and won't be able to track them down. What will most people do? Bring to the police station?

Of course in reality its quite hard to pick up 1 million and not be tracked down la. If I just lost a million dollars I won't mind spending tens of thousands just to track down the guy who picked it up.

Edited by Nzy

I am not saying that the taxi driver was not really being honest but lets say now someone finds 1million and knows for sure that no one knows he/she picked it up and won't be able to track them down. What will most people do? Bring to the police station?

Of course in reality its quite hard to pick up 1 million and not be tracked down la. If I just lost a million dollars I won't mind spending tens of thousands just to track down the guy who picked it up.

Like someone said earlier, $1m not enough, $10m maybe enough to make the taxi driver change his mind, you'll never know [:(]

His actions proved that he was honest.

What prompted the honesty, no one can tell for certain. Could be fear of being tracked down, could be because he was afraid of being hunted by hired killers, could be because he feared being arrested, or maybe he was simply honest enough to return what isn't his?

I just find it sad that Singaporeans (ie true blue local born/bred) cannot believe that there are genuinely good people out there anymore.

Do you put on a seatbelt because there's a cop around, or because you are aware it prevents you from flying through the windscreen in a crash?

Are you more likely to run a amber/red light if it were armed with a red light camera, or because someone might be crossing the road on his green light?

Are you more likely to speed at night when you're sure there's fewer TP on the road? Physics work the same at 9am just as it does at 2am.

And here you guys are, sitting in the opposite of your ivory towers, trying so hard to drag this cabby through the mud that he returned the money because he was afraid of prosecution, than to believe that he could actually be a good, honest person?

You kidding me...

Condo 1.1m can buy lah.

Non prime areas house 1.1m also got.

It's just a matter of how crappy it is.

1.1m?

jurong ar?

If I'm the passenger, I will keep the money for 2 or 3 yrs... if nothing happens, I will go overseas n change it to foreign currency.... Come back Sg to change back to SGD and if authority asks, I will tell them I won the money in casino... LL . Haha

Casino? That sum of money casino will need a record of your passport. Still traceable.

Ya lah so many sour grapes. You think the taxi uncle stupid meh? After he verify the money can straight away press meter and dispatch a "phantom" pax to some places. Then keep the money. If trace to him also lan lan. Cos he can deny cos following pax took the money what. So I think he is really an honest person. :D

Under such circumstances one person mind probably face with only one question; return or not. I doubt most of us will be able to straighten our thoughts and come up with such "scheme" facing with 1mil hard cash. [laugh]

1.1m?

jurong ar?

Bishan also have. A few months back one condo unit sold alittle more than that. But small unit. Heard is alittle smaller than HDB 4 room.

how to win 1.1million out of a casino?

assuming they change 1.1million to chips and back after a few rounds..

how to cash out 1.1million?

casino also sure investigate

I have yet to see anyone cash out 1.1million from casion in hard cold cash.

Seriously, i cannot understand why some of the bros insist on taking the moral high ground and accuse those who doubt the taxi uncle's honesty to be someone without integrity or with a lack of faith towards fellow Singaporeans.

For goodness sake, this is just a forum! As much as you can voice your views and be a beacon of good morals, people who are skeptical are entitled to their thoughts as well.

Don't see the need to preach here and there imo...

Bro, money not like that wash one. One possible way is buy things which is within his means and sell it away with few dollars lost. By changing 1.1 million in casino wouldn't work. Out casino is link to Casino Regulatory Authority under SPF. CAD also under SPF. They will feed each other with information one.

Buy the 5 match sticks watch. [lipsrsealed]

Ya lah so many sour grapes. You think the taxi uncle stupid meh? After he verify the money can straight away press meter and dispatch a "phantom" pax to some places. Then keep the money. If trace to him also lan lan. Cos he can deny cos following pax took the money what. So I think he is really an honest person. :D

Camera Camera Bro ! CBD all surround by camera. even your traffic light and expressway.

one dumb teksi uncle.

i dropped my phone at a cab before and i even got the receipt with the taxi reg plate.

in the end call up the taxi hotline and was told that the phone was not found and could have been taken by other passengers and close my case.

Edited by AnimalFarm

Cannot keep. The couple who lost the money knew they left in the cab. If cabby didn't return the money, it will become a criminal case. Not worth it.

if amt is 11 million? it will be another story [laugh]