Talking Point >>> Is your CPF enough for retirement?

Wt_know

1 minute ago, RadX said:

I can gladly say I have that ... for a while now

i work cos I enjoy what I do

I am glad to say i have that as well but can't say i work cos I am enjoying it. 

Hope to get to your blissful position soon but the second part is really hard for a workaholic with few hobbies. Nothing much to monetize. 

1 hour ago, Voodooman said:

You can walk away from your 5/6-digit a month job? Lol

retirement only need $2k per month ma

sure can do

sell rolexes can tahan another 1-2 yrs

Really 2k? Enough meh? 

I mean I’m not thinking of ultra luxurious lifestyle but 2k doesn’t seem like a “retirement” figure. More like a spend a bit / save more kind of lifestyle. 

If someone tells me he got 1m and can retire for at least 40 years I’ll be truly impressed.

Jin gao tong!

13 minutes ago, Dp26 said:

Really 2k? Enough meh? 

I mean I’m not thinking of ultra luxurious lifestyle but 2k doesn’t seem like a “retirement” figure. More like a spend a bit / save more kind of lifestyle. 

If someone tells me he got 1m and can retire for at least 40 years I’ll be truly impressed.

Jin gao tong!

Enuf if one is prudent with low expenses on daily necessities...but once get really ill...hospital ever ready to help one spend more...😁

My mantra is 2k per month is enuf for me and better half...once fall ill...don't waste time and money...just put out the torch and lit the fire 😌🙏

Edited by mersaylee

I mean we can survive on 2k but plan for retirement 2k is ? like doesn’t make sense. 

at least for me la. 

you do your CPF top up to FRS or even better ERS already close to that figure. 

then your cash savings/investments over 30/40 years working life should at least accumulate a few hundred k or more. 

No right or wrong but we should be planning more aggressively for more rather than hoping for the best to happen. 

36 minutes ago, Dp26 said:

Really 2k? Enough meh? 

Jin gao tong!

errr....if 1m cash provides 2k per month dvd

and cpf at frs provide 2k per month for couple

already 4k per month leh

1m capital still untouched

🤑

Edited by Enye

36 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Enuf if one is prudent with low expenses on daily necessities...but once get really ill...hospital ever ready to help one spend more...😁

My mantra is 2k per month is enuf for me and better half...once fall ill...don't waste time and money...just put out the torch and lit the fire 😌🙏

2k per month per person or just 2K per household? 2K per household is quite challenging

23 minutes ago, Somewhat1975 said:

2k per month per person or just 2K per household? 2K per household is quite challenging

Just the 2 old couple...the children will be on their own once I retire...that's how my grandparents and my old folks did it...ownself take care of ownself without burdening the offsprings is the bestiest heirloom for inheritance...😁

Edited by mersaylee

39 minutes ago, Enye said:

already 4k per month leh

🤑

wah ... smelly smelly $4K-ish x 12 months = $50K passive income ... huat ah!

26 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Just the 2 old couple...the children will be on their own once I retire...that's how my grandparents and my old folks did it...ownself take care of ownself without burdening the offsprings is the bestiest heirloom for inheritance...😁

If no debt or other expenses ... 2k is enough at least for next 10yrs . Dont know how inflation will be .

Just now, Angcheek said:

If no debt or other expenses ... 2k is enough at least for next 10yrs . Dont know how inflation will be .

No worries...if 50% inflation...buy half a cup of kopi lah 😁

On 1/5/2021 at 1:35 PM, Lala81 said:

T bills can be purchased online. But of course your bank must be authorised under the CPF investment scheme. 

I dunno... I will learn more when I'm 54 lol

yeah... wait goal post and policies shift again.

6 hours ago, mersaylee said:

Thats what you think, bro.

Understand this, $2k today is not worth $2k in 10 yrs, 20yrs.  I dont think youare 75 yrs old today.  My guess is probably early forties? Even if $2k per month is enough now for your and wife.  It will not be in the future.

6 hours ago, Enye said:

already 4k per month leh

🤑

i estimate when my children grow up, i would need probably much lesser money per month for me and ex gf
Cigars $1k
Food $2k  Travel and Entertainment $3k  utilities $500,  misc $1k 

total $7k excluding health, one offs, shopping etc... 

multiply by 2 to take inflation into consideration over 20 yrs, the amount is about $15k per mthto retire for me at wife.

7 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

Thats what you think, bro.

Understand this, $2k today is not worth $2k in 10 yrs, 20yrs.  I dont think youare 75 yrs old today.  My guess is probably early forties? Even if $2k per month is enough now for your and wife.  It will not be in the future.

2k per month for the 2 oldies in the not too far future oredi factored in 50% inflation to our daily staple of F&B needs...WTM or BCM one plate 2 persons share share...won't be able to eat much anyway...😁

I'm like that HK "Principal"...celebrated 25th BD at least 25 times oredi😅

11 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

i estimate when my children grow up, i would need probably much lesser money per month for me and ex gf
Cigars $1k

multiply by 2 to take inflation into consideration over 20 yrs, the amount is about $15k per mthto retire for me at wife.

boss...you ivory tower level different from me peasant lah

i full time work as storeman now already no have $7k how to dream of retiring on $15k 20 years later? 

😰

35 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

Cigars $1k

My boys are all grown up. Wife and me still working. Retirement account enough for both of us, haven't touch CFP, no need to. Everything paid up in full. No debts. 

Each of us $2k a month can sustain for sure, presently we don't spend much either apart from the miscellaneous, fridge, TV breakdown etc. Those accounted for, meals, self cook, save more money, hardly eat out, travel expenses all planned out, places we go also are to visit relatives. No need much to live. Even now, we spend less than we make. Investment yields etc. Life is very unexpected, main issue is to be happy and contented with what you have, I said this before, many will feel its never enough, but when will the buck end? How much is enough? You make a mountain and end up not even enjoying life at all. Whatever it is..........

A cigar - Cohiba Siglo IV and a shot of whiskey - I like Gentleman Jack, straight, cold rainy night, for me is pure heaven. 

1579E22B-8B29-49C5-B6C7-1890ED2E9CC0.jpeg

75D0BD72-F6C8-445D-BF68-D52B703C97FD.jpeg

F25793F8-67A0-411D-B516-495D099D22B6.jpeg

Edited by Mazdaowner