Talking Point >>> Is your CPF enough for retirement?

Wt_know

3 minutes ago, Starry said:

dun understand bro.....means every year spend 4% of savings huh?

Then like that 25 years finished already mah.....

If I retire at 50, then by 75 still haven mati how? Money already run out if follow 4% rule....

Or my understanding wrong is it?

Read the full article given in my edited post

if u hv investments, that can also hedge and bring you beyond that range of $$

also not every year u spend 4% cos the ideal is u spend less as u age wor.. u less u hv many honey to take care

19 hours ago, Starry said:

dun understand bro.....means every year spend 4% of savings huh?

Then like that 25 years finished already mah.....

If I retire at 50, then by 75 still haven mati how? Money already run out if follow 4% rule....

Or my understanding wrong is it?

If you put your wealth in 2% FD, then you subscribe to 2% rule. Theoretically, you never exhaust your principal amount. After 70, you will also spend a lot less.  

19 hours ago, RadX said:

also not every year u spend 4% cos the ideal is u spend less as u age wor.. u less u hv many honey to take care

With REITs and banks paying 4-6% dividend, can just buy a bank or REIT ETF, they are also inflation hedge too.

Now that interest rates are much higher, can i whack all my OA into a bond which pays 4.5%?

never chup my cpf money before, how to do it uh? 

Edited by Throttle2

52 minutes ago, Dp26 said:

Quick answer is no, not all your OA. 
Max 35% of available for bonds. 

Alamak.  Ok just leave it for time being.

thx

On 7/18/2022 at 4:08 PM, RadX said:

i thot as we age we spend more..........................on medical bills! :yeah-im-not-drunk:

2 minutes ago, Spidey10 said:

f%$@^^&*!!! I am still working at 54!! i am going home now....:omg:

be patient, next year collect cpf liao then go home ok [laugh]

17 minutes ago, Spidey10 said:

f%$@^^&*!!! I am still working at 54!! i am going home now....:omg:

Many people even work until 70s. So you are still very young still having to work at 54 la. Lol.

20 minutes ago, TangoCharlie said:

John obviously was an outlier in terms of wisdom and life expectancy in his times.😄

He was a brilliant businessman for sure.

And i think he would still be during our times.

so if he stops at 50, we stop at 55, ok lah. Acceptable

Just now, Wt_know said:

hard truth ... [bigcry] 

2022-08-12_114852.png

yes...i met those who died

when they were alive.....what you all thinking....nbz..:grin: and i believe, they would have done it differently