Talking Point >>> Is your CPF enough for retirement?

Wt_know

1 hour ago, Starry said:

All this keep rising...but what I want to know is when will the interest rate rise? 

The current cpf rate will remain up till 31st march 2023 as announced. Subsequently heaven know what will be the movement or no movement. 😁

Anyway based on those so called "experts" analysis the current inflated interest rate is likely to peak mid of next year 2023. 

52 minutes ago, Kopites said:

The current cpf rate will remain up till 31st march 2023 as announced. Subsequently heaven know what will be the movement or no movement. 😁

Anyway based on those so called "experts" analysis the current inflated interest rate is likely to peak mid of next year 2023. 

Last night job data shows 3.75% of hikes have had little impact on slowing down the job market, so more to go or at least rates will stay high for a while.  My bet is CPF 2.5  will be adjusted next quarter.

Larry Summers Says Fed Will Need to Boost Rates More Than Markets Expect 

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2022-12-03/larry-summers-says-fed-will-raise-interest-rates-more-than-forecast

Edited by Voodooman

Just now, Throttle2 said:

They need to raise CPF rates

shouldnt even be a question already.

if they dont raise by end 1q2023, then will have knnbccb reactions all round

FD all smelly smelly 3.5% to 4.0% liao and OA still giving 2.5% ... [mad] 

On 12/3/2022 at 1:59 PM, Wt_know said:

FD all smelly smelly 3.5% to 4.0% liao and OA still giving 2.5% ... [mad] 

if they dun raise.....i think those above 55 and with excess of BRS will withdraw and put into FD.....:yeah-im-not-drunk:

just imagine how much money will flood the banking system....

for me is an obvious choice.....higher interest but more importantly, my maney in my hand rather than with someone....:yeah-im-not-drunk:

interest rate stay low < 1% for 10 years

if interest rate stay high for the next 3-5-7 years, how?

ah gong watching wor … 

7E84C59F-C087-46AE-A85B-A55930ED5744.jpeg

1 hour ago, Spidey10 said:

if they dun raise.....i think those above 55 and with excess of BRS will withdraw and put into FD.....:yeah-im-not-drunk:

for me is an obvious choice.....higher interest but more importantly, my maney in my hand rather than with someone....:yeah-im-not-drunk:

Do your sum carefully to factor in the effect of compound interest on CPF OA.

Might not be that significant down the years. If worthwhile then go ahead. 

1 hour ago, Kopites said:

if slight difference then is fine for me.....more important for me is my maney is in my hands....

who knows with a stroke of a pen...the pen says change the withdrawal age to 65....then really lan lan already!! really c@#$ die standing...:TT_TT::omg:

19 minutes ago, Spidey10 said:

if slight difference then is fine for me.....more important for me is my maney is in my hands....

who knows with a stroke of a pen...the pen says change the withdrawal age to 65....then really lan lan already!! really c@#$ die standing...:TT_TT::omg:

Not so quickly and easily lah.

evenif raise withdrawal age also must slowly. 
first step to 60 before 65

you know i suspect they read our posts here. 
so many times whatever i say comes true a few days a few weeks later

etter dont give them ideas

26 minutes ago, Spidey10 said:

I have no better use of the cpf money as of now. Probably will leave it as status quo till the times come to shield OA and SA.

Imo, it is so hard to put money into cpf relative to wothdraw out.

😁 Thick twice before you proceed to withdraw out. 

40 minutes ago, Kopites said:

I have no better use of the cpf money as of now. Probably will leave it as status quo till the times come to shield OA and SA.

At such rates, if i am allowed, i will take it all out.

57 minutes ago, Kopites said:

the when the time comes when you want to withdraw but can't....lan lan suck thumb ...:TT_TT:

that's why for me, my maney in my account better that my maney in someone's account - both my wife and I think this way, we are in control ...never know what tomorrow brings....

1 hour ago, Throttle2 said:

Not so quickly and easily lah.

evenif raise withdrawal age also must slowly. 
first step to 60 before 65

you know i suspect they read our posts here. 
so many times whatever i say comes true a few days a few weeks later

etter dont give them ideas

Hoi...die ler...issshhhhh

Edited by Spidey10

32 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

At such rates, if i am allowed, i will take it all out.

Definitely I will do likewise if I am as savvy when come to investment. 😁 

7 hours ago, Spidey10 said:

For those with excess of ERS so just keep enough for BRS and withdraw the excess and put in FD 😂

6 hours ago, Kopites said:

Compounded annually. So 1yr FD also works the same.