Talking Point >>> Is your CPF enough for retirement?

Wt_know

On 7/17/2025 at 8:23 AM, Kookies said:

Should be more than sustainable with the 2.5% that they are giving for OA.  Afterall, Malaysia EPF is giving 6.3%.

That one different lah...altho got some sama sama but...can sell low buy again high...oh wait...她妈吸 sometimes also...😂

On 7/17/2025 at 8:13 AM, Wt_know said:

the reason many able to achieve $1M in CPF at young age now

because got ATM daddy/mommy pumping their CPF even before the kid start schooling or working 

:grin:

yeah. but nobody cares about those.

its like, there are many millionaires by age 25 , father mother give one.  Muayhahaha

On 7/17/2025 at 8:23 AM, Kookies said:

Should be more than sustainable with the 2.5% that they are giving for OA.  Afterall, Malaysia EPF is giving 6.3%.

No point with 6.3% if the currency keeps devaluing. One reason of high interest rates is to prevent capital flight from the country.

On 7/17/2025 at 12:47 PM, Butakim said:

No point with 6.3% if the currency keeps devaluing. One reason of high interest rates is to prevent capital flight from the country.

Did you hit 1M50 ? just asking....

Edited by Throttle2

On 7/17/2025 at 1:44 PM, Butakim said:

no

Can you share how you are planning to fund your retirement?

How many percent CPF, how many percent investments and how many percent other income eg. rental?

Edited by Throttle2

On 7/17/2025 at 2:01 PM, Throttle2 said:

Can you share how you are planning to fund your retirement?

How many percent CPF, how many percent investments and how many percent other income eg. rental?

Not planning to retire. Probably will have to change the nature of work or work hours. Maybe try do different things like being YouTuber, grab driver etc.

I think better to keep integrated into society. Live a life. Be happy. 

Living is simple. Just wake up, eat, sleep and shit.

I am not sure why some folks who can afford FRS or ERS want to choose BRS. Already CPF trap your hard earn $$$. With BRS, you cannot sell your property unless you refund CPF your pledge property with compound interest. 

Once you choose BRS at 55, you cannot switch to FRS later, there is also a missed opportunity for higher CPF interest (4-6%) from 55 to 65. 

If I am not wrong, you cannot top up with BRS to enjoy higher withdrawal when your reach 65, only FRS and ERS can top up. 

Also I do not think CPF allow you to choose BRS if you have enough fund in your SA and OA for FRS, unless you transfer all you SA to unit trust few days before your reach 55. 

FRS + standard paying plan ...

sign and throw it to CPF and forget about it 

besterest plan ... no need to lose sleep about it ... :grin:

On 7/18/2025 at 3:21 PM, Ghgan said:

I am not sure why some folks who can afford FRS or ERS want to choose BRS. Already CPF trap your hard earn $$$. With BRS, you cannot sell your property unless you refund CPF your pledge property with compound interest. 

Once you choose BRS at 55, you cannot switch to FRS later, there is also a missed opportunity for higher CPF interest (4-6%) from 55 to 65. 

If I am not wrong, you cannot top up with BRS to enjoy higher withdrawal when your reach 65, only FRS and ERS can top up. 

Also I do not think CPF allow you to choose BRS if you have enough fund in your SA and OA for FRS, unless you transfer all you SA to unit trust few days before your reach 55. 

Usually SA  alone can meet the FRS by 55. By default it will be FRS. One possible reason that the some want to go for BRS because they still need to service the mortgage from their cpf after 55🤣

Edited by Ginyu

On 7/18/2025 at 3:40 PM, Ginyu said:

Usually SA  alone can meet the FRS by 55. By default it will be FRS. One possible reason that the some want to go for BRS because they still need to service the mortgage from their cpf after 55🤣

Screenshot_20250718_164903_ChatGPT.thumb.jpg.93a6709175a8b1650aeea039651caf9b.jpg

On 7/18/2025 at 4:51 PM, Ginyu said:

Screenshot_20250718_164903_ChatGPT.thumb.jpg.93a6709175a8b1650aeea039651caf9b.jpg

So add all up, 25% of people still use cpf to service mortgage after 55. Not a good sign. 
everything seems to be at odds. Want to sell property high high. So as not to rob the coffers.
But yet demand cpf FRS be high so that you can feed yourself when old.
and to make it worse wages are not going up in tandem. 
good luck Singapore. 

On 7/18/2025 at 3:40 PM, Ginyu said:

Aiyo….. so jialat meh? 55 yrs old still need to pay mortgage from cpf? Hai……. Hard life

On 7/18/2025 at 5:22 PM, Mkl22 said:

So add all up, 25% of people still use cpf to service mortgage after 55. Not a good sign. 
everything seems to be at odds. Want to sell property high high. So as not to rob the coffers.
good luck Singapore. 

Hai……….

GLSGL !

😃

On 7/18/2025 at 5:22 PM, Mkl22 said:

good luck Singapore. 

25% of them are holding tightly to their current  job. Don’t think anyone above 55 dare to change job🤣

Edited by Ginyu

On 7/18/2025 at 5:40 PM, Ginyu said:

25% of them are holding tightly to their current  job. Don’t think anyone above 55 dare to change job🤣

Oh you mean, they are like sitting ducks then?   if kena chopped, finished liao?  

Hai.....zhen nan..... Singapore lang hard life. 

I down here, still so guai lan, people offer me $350kpa job, I snub .

Last week, got one ask me go interview for C suite job, I say "bo eng"

Choose to cho bo , play tennis smoke cigars.

Next week I think I better eat vegetarian......and reflect

Edited by Throttle2

On 7/18/2025 at 3:21 PM, Ghgan said:

Can still sell your property if you choose BRS. 

There is no rule saying you can't top up to ERS even after you choose BRS.

You can choose BRS even if you have enough fund for FRS or even ERS.