Recommendation for digital camera

Cichildae

i don't know about other models.

Personally, i feel these issues can happen to any electronic device especially the more compact it is.

So far for my friends, relatives, myself, no complaints.

Lucky you then :)

But the sony insider forum got quite a few complaints for different models of sony.

For $200-$300 camera, might as well save the money if you already have modern smart phone with 8mp and above. looking at my galaxy S3 pictures, I feel it as good as most budget point and shoot camera.

Thanks for highlighting...

From the link it really seems that there are alot of complaints and it is holding me back to purchase it...

Maybe it is down to Nikon / Canon now..

For $200-$300 camera, might as well save the money if you already have modern smart phone with 8mp and above. looking at my galaxy S3 pictures, I feel it as good as most budget point and shoot camera.

the s3 photos are quite decent. i have it too.

better than ip4. but dunno about ip5.

Thanks for highlighting...

From the link it really seems that there are alot of complaints and it is holding me back to purchase it...

Maybe it is down to Nikon / Canon now..

lol though i have 2 nikon dslrs. but i think compact camera, i would buy canon.

Thanks for your feedback... I think I missed out Canon SX240HS which I didnt see the physical camera as yet...

But just curious, I noticed Canon cameras do not have high mp as compared to the others in the same range... Sorry I am no pro in cameras but higher mp should equate sharper image?

lol though i have 2 nikon dslrs. but i think compact camera, i would buy canon.

For compact, Canon is still the best. Best in features, picture quality and reliability.

Nikon is not bad for reliability.

Sony.... good features but... can tahan 2 years only. Focus also not sharp.

Samsung.... take it if it is free [:p]

Thanks for your feedback... I think I missed out Canon SX240HS which I didnt see the physical camera as yet...

But just curious, I noticed Canon cameras do not have high mp as compared to the others in the same range... Sorry I am no pro in cameras but higher mp should equate sharper image?

megapixel is just a fad. picture quality is more important.

megapixels just mean u can print a bigger image, maybe poster size instead of normal 4R photo. But these compact cameras the image is too grainy to print at such a big size.

because Canon trying to keep the picture quality above competition.

High MP only give you bigger picture, or option to crop.

Actually for consumer, 5-6mp is already enough. Anything more is just marketing gimmick.

Those with bigger sensor is different story lah...

For compact, Canon is still the best. Best in features, picture quality and reliability.

Nikon is not bad for reliability.

Sony.... good features but... can tahan 2 years only. Focus also not sharp.

Samsung.... take it if it is free [:p]

hmmm, sony now builds the best mirrorless camera range in their nex series.

So i won't discount them.

To me the only good Point and Shoot for less than $300 is Oly Tough 620 - waterproof and drop proof to 1.5m. Not the best pic quality but about the same as its peers.

I have a brand new Samsung P n S, use first time, son drop it. Camera cost about $400. No point repairing.

The Tough series (Nikon and Panasonic also have similar but more ex), is idela for everyone to use - going outdoors dun have to worry about rain. Kids can use without worry about dropping the darn thing.

My 2 cts.

hmmm, sony now builds the best mirrorless camera range in their nex series.

So i won't discount them.

Theit NEX and Alpha might be good.

I was referring to their T and W series.

Why buy P&S camera?

Just use handphone camera lah!

Can upload to FB very fast.

But please be careful, I took some

exotic shots of the wife and accidentally

uploaded the pics to FB! Deleted liao.

Why buy P&S camera?

Just use handphone camera lah!

Can upload to FB very fast.

But please be careful, I took some

exotic shots of the wife and accidentally

uploaded the pics to FB! Deleted liao.

That's why i recommend Samsung Galaxy Camera. It is a proper camera which can upload photo. Somemore can access MCF on the go.

Good suggestion! [thumbsup]

what are the recommended android camera apps, in that case?

"Camera Zoo" that offers time lapse and stable shot is quite ok, i think.

Afraid I didn't notice the budget of $300. I will suggest stick to handphone.

Likely a waste of money and she won't bring out often for such digi cam.

Low light performance (e.g. christmas lighting, candlelight , indoor) will be so-so.

The build quality is usually a cheaper grade of plastic, and the performance, only slightly better than a high end handphone.

With a bigger screen, viewing picts from handphone has a more pleasant experience.

Smartphone's integration to social media makes sharing photos a snap of fingers.

Edited by Oblong