Need Some Recommendations On Gps

Afiyy

For you guys who have been a garmin user for don't know how many years. Is it okay if you can share some good points on the advantages of Garmin?

For now I only think that Garmin Disadvantages is No speed limit camera which alerts you , No ERP alert which alerts you , Have to fully type the address

is it true that Garmin able to use 3rd party map via Online? And does Garmin includes any bundle map ?

I don't use Marbella or or brands but I believed they incorporated those POIs into the map but with Garmin, you have to download them yourself from MSM or MFM. But, the main advantage of Garmin is that you get data that are created by people on the ground and they get updated very frequently. For POI alone, you get alerts like Toll Plaza, R&R stop, school zone, night markets, shapr bend, ERP, speed trap, redlight cam, AES cameras, railway crossing, waterfall and many more. I don't think other brands provide so many types of POI.

The main selling point for any GPS is the map support, without which your device is as good as useless if the map is not updated frequently or you can't find a map of any country you want to go. Of course, Garmin device purchased locally is bundled with not one but at least 3 maps - Garmin CN, MSN NT 2012.xx and MFM NT 2012.xx. Garmin has maps of almost every country in the world, not just official maps but also routable third party maps. Garmin is the only brand that has third party maps and no other brands have it.

for the past two days been surveying all around for a gps from challenger/harvey norman/newstead and yet can't decide on which to get.

their salesman keep promoting that brand , another sales man promoting another brand and so far so on but to think of it this is my 3rd GPS i want something that don't fail me in the future in terms of map navigations/customer services/performances and etc

Okay for now please don't brainwash me to get other brands because both me and my parents are into either Marbella and Garmin GPS.

Disadvantages Of Marbella ;

What I heard that their Customer Support is very poor , they said every 4mths they will email you for a map updates and after sometimes they will stop doing so,heard from others that to update a firmware theres a additional fee

Advantages Of Marbella

It has parking rates , It has ERP rates , It has auto search without typing the full name . It has bundle map <--- Which my parents like this feature.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For you guys who have been a garmin user for don't know how many years. Is it okay if you can share some good points on the advantages of Garmin?

For now I only think that Garmin Disadvantages is No speed limit camera which alerts you , No ERP alert which alerts you , Have to fully type the address

is it true that Garmin able to use 3rd party map via Online? And does Garmin includes any bundle map ?

I used to own. Garmin before I jumped into Marbella. At least Marbella will feed you the updates every 3 month and Garmin will just ask you to download from MFM or msm. I didn't know how to do it and at the end, I sold my Garmin away without a updated maps after 2 years of using it.

I was deciding between Holux and Marbella and joint a road adventure this year whereby every car will have a Holux GPS installed in your car and you can own it at a good price I remembered. It was very laggy and took a long time to get the GPS signal. I asked them why they told me sometimes its like that especially you have solar film. Come on la, which car don't have solar film in Singapore. Even wanted to sell at $99 I also didn't buy it.

I jumped into marbella and I have to say the searching made a lot easier then its previous version. I just received their map updates few days back. Hoping to do it before I head off to Malaysia toml.

FYI, Garmin overseas maps is very expensive, I wouldn't consider to buy the maps at all. There are a lot of 3rd maps online but I didn't know how to installed them. I also don't know how reliable it is in the end I rented a GPS in Perth. Heard marbella can get overseas map for free but I haven't try it yet so I can't comment on that.

Just my 2 cents worth [laugh]

I used to own. Garmin before I jumped into Marbella. At least Marbella will feed you the updates every 3 month and Garmin will just ask you to download from MFM or msm. I didn't know how to do it and at the end, I sold my Garmin away without a updated maps after 2 years of using it.

No more liao lah, now with Lifetime Map Updates you can download the latest maps compiled by Garmin from Garmin's website liao. 1 year up to 4 updates....... [laugh]

get tom tom....

Good that I saw this thread. I own a tomtom now. got problem navigating through KPE. Lost signal after entering KPE. No problem with CTE.

The CSO helping me with the problem sucks. Response like cut and paste from some standard scripts. Ask me to update everything, then ask me to reset and reinstall everything and I started to question her ability to resolve my problem. Last response was that they rely on a company to keep their map up to date and so maybe its singapore map is not up to date. That's bad...KPE not updated since 2008. Anyway, I lang lang has to get it resolve so I am trying to use their map reporteras suggested. Let see what happen.

I think tomtom is still trying to get into the asia market so map not that updated.

When I compare tomtom with the galaxy note running the google map, I like tomtom unit for its clearer and louder instruction. Sad about its map though. google map is impressive

Edited by Sparrow

Good that I saw this thread. I own a tomtom now. got problem navigating through KPE. Lost signal after entering KPE. No problem with CTE.

The CSO helping me with the problem sucks. Response like cut and paste from some standard scripts. Ask me to update everything, then ask me to reset and reinstall everything and I started to question her ability to resolve my problem. Last response was that they rely on a company to keep their map up to date and so maybe its singapore map is not up to date. That's bad...KPE not updated since 2008. Anyway, I lang lang has to get it resolve so I am trying to use their map reporteras suggested. Let see what happen.

I think tomtom is still trying to get into the asia market.

When I compare tomtom with the galaxy note running the google map, I like tomtom unit for its clearer and louder instruction. Sad about its map though. google map is impressive

My Garmin also got the same problem when in KPE but was alright when in KL's Smart Tunnel......... [laugh]

If you are using either the Garmin CN, MSM NT or MSM v5.xx map, your device will go into simulation mode the moment it loses signal inside the tunnel. Previously, when there was no simulation inside the tunnel, the moment it lost signal, the device would announce "lost satellite signal" or words to that effect and the navigation would stop working. With simulation mode, it will not announce it the moment it loses signal as the simulation mode will kick in. So, if you still get the announcement, check to see if the simulation mode has kicked in in your device.

My device prompted "lost satellite signal" while in the KPE tunnel. Could this be due to the map chosen? How do I check to see if the simulation mode is enabled? [confused]

I think tomtom is still trying to get into the asia market so map not that updated.

i am using Tomtom GPS. No problem in KPE and CTE tunnels. Yet to try in KL's SMART tunnel.

but Tomtom cannot get GPS signal on my prev ride which was on v-kool window film. No problem in other car on other film.

Garmin can get GPS signal in my v-kooled ride.

Yes tomtom map update not as good as garmin. Cos Tomtom using a complied map for SEA. For example, the new highways in msia are not updated.

Don't mind posting it here because i still a newbie.

Hi guys, I need some recommendation of GPS brands that you can recommend me with probably $150-$200 of budget.

Brands that I know off like Garmin, Papago,TomTom ,Holux,Marbella .

Which of this brands is like the most top one ?

And on top of it is it possible to have international map in it ?

i know majority of the gps only have Malaysia/Singapore maps but is there any gps that have international maps.

Use your hp as your GPS. Get free sygic aura.

i am using Tomtom GPS. No problem in KPE and CTE tunnels. Yet to try in KL's SMART tunnel.

but Tomtom cannot get GPS signal on my prev ride which was on v-kool window film. No problem in other car on other film.

Garmin can get GPS signal in my v-kooled ride.

Yes tomtom map update not as good as garmin. Cos Tomtom using a complied map for SEA. For example, the new highways in msia are not updated.

Hi bro, can I know what model you are using? Great to hear that there is no problem with KPE. So it got to be my unit having an issue. No, my car windscreen got no film.

I got the via 280. Damn, I scolded the CSO when she told me to reset and reinstall. Looks like I got do that first.

Thanks for update.

Garmin City Navigator map of Sg & My, together with the free MSM NT 2012.xx and MFM 2012.xx maps are updated up to 4 times a year and are posted in the Garmin Sg website. Nowadays, even the Garmin CN map is free for those Garmin device that come with lifelong map update. On top of these 3 maps that you can download from the Garmin Sg website, there are also the weekly/fortnightly free MFM and MSM maps compiled by the respective website with their cGPSmapper compilers.

I was deciding between Holux and Marbella and joint a road adventure this year whereby every car will have a Holux GPS installed in your car and you can own it at a good price I remembered. It was very laggy and took a long time to get the GPS signal. I asked them why they told me sometimes its like that especially you have solar film. Come on la, which car don't have solar film in Singapore. Even wanted to sell at $99 I also didn't buy it.

What the salesperson was refering to is those solar film that comes with metallic element in it. V Kool is one of them and it can affect length of time it takes to log onto the satellites. Well, it is very difficult to find a salesperson who is very knowledgeable about the product he sells. If you good knowledge about a particular product and grilll the salesperson, chances are he will be lost or have no explanation or worse, try to bluff his way out.

I jumped into marbella and I have to say the searching made a lot easier then its previous version. I just received their map updates few days back. Hoping to do it before I head off to Malaysia toml.

FYI, Garmin overseas maps is very expensive, I wouldn't consider to buy the maps at all. There are a lot of 3rd maps online but I didn't know how to installed them. I also don't know how reliable it is in the end I rented a GPS in Perth. Heard marbella can get overseas map for free but I haven't try it yet so I can't comment on that.

For Garmin, besides official maps, there are tons of third party maps on the web and they are quite reliable. Official Garmin maps can be expensive but if you know where to find them and know how to install them, you can easily get them free.

Just my 2 cents worth [laugh]

My device prompted "lost satellite signal" while in the KPE tunnel. Could this be due to the map chosen? How do I check to see if the simulation mode is enabled? [confused]

If simulation mode kicks in, you should still see your vehicle icon moving on the road in your device just like normal navigation. If it really loses signal and there is no simulation, then the vehicle icon should be froze on your device's map. Always make sure you check only one map for navigation. Checking multiple maps can cause navigation error. Simulation mode is coded in the map and has nothing to do with the device used. As far as I know, Garmin CN and MSM maps have these but I dun know if it is also done in the MFM maps. If you have this problem with the MSM map, please feedback to the admin there about the particular spot in the tunnel where satellite signal is lost and no simulation mode.

If you look at Garmin company, you will know that it's a truly navigation company. specialised in navigation products. Professionals who are into sports, trekking, sea faring, are all using Garmin stuff.

What kind of company Marbella is?

My point is you won't go wrong with Garmin.

If simulation mode kicks in, you should still see your vehicle icon moving on the road in your device just like normal navigation. If it really loses signal and there is no simulation, then the vehicle icon should be froze on your device's map. Always make sure you check only one map for navigation. Checking multiple maps can cause navigation error. Simulation mode is coded in the map and has nothing to do with the device used. As far as I know, Garmin CN and MSM maps have these but I dun know if it is also done in the MFM maps. If you have this problem with the MSM map, please feedback to the admin there about the particular spot in the tunnel where satellite signal is lost and no simulation mode.

OK, I think the simulation did kick in then 'cos after the error message the vehicle icon still move ahead and did not freeze.........but also no sound from the device until reached the end of the tunnel. I was thinking what iff I was to turn out earlier than the end of the tunnel........will the device be able to estimate that I should be using which exit??? [confused]

Hi bro, can I know what model you are using? Great to hear that there is no problem with KPE. So it got to be my unit having an issue. No, my car windscreen got no film.

I got the via 280. Damn, I scolded the CSO when she told me to reset and reinstall. Looks like I got do that first.

Thanks for update.

i am using Go 750. quite an old model.

cheers~

Myself a Garmin user for the past 5 yrs

Sometime this yr i change to Marbella

Personally i feel Marbella are equally good if not better, it logon GPS faster

I had done numerous trips to Malaysia so far so good never get lost

Sometime last month i screwed up the Marbella software while trying to do an upgrade

Bring it to the agent not much question ask and they did a 1 to 1 xchange on the spot

After sales service is good imho, they offer trade in old Marbella for a new model as well