Extortion by JB Traffic Police/Customs

Calvinus

there are some here who will say, don't give them kopi $, insist on fine.

but for this case, when TS insist on fine, the police said 'you don't make trouble for us or we will make trouble for you too.'

so no matter wrong or not, i also will give them the kopi $.

any heroes here dare to challenge the malsysian polis?

On the way back to Singapore from JB, we drove into the wrong lane, into a lane intended for buses and coaches.

Traffic Police/Custom Officer came by and said that he has to issue us a fine, compounded at RM 300.

While I doubt that there is any real offence, we didn't want trouble and decided to ask him to issue a fine. He said can give chance and only fine us RM 150... told him no money and he said you don't make trouble for us or we will make trouble for you too. As I really didn't have money to give, he eventually settled for whatever loose change I had which amounted to about RM 70...

Feel damn buay song after I left but not choice since I had mother in law and wife with me and didn't want them to be further tramatized (don't want to fall in their hands with some fake charges) but if this had happened to you, what would you do?

This is what I see:

- You tried to cut queue by taking lorry/bus lane and you probably attempted to squeeze in the last minute (I've seen this stunt many times)

- Even if you did not do it intentionally, it's a monkey see monkey do action and you did not check properly to see if the cars in front are doing this legally

- You got caught

- Malaysian TP has the right to issue you a summon (and you thought cutting queue/lane isn't an offence? How about forming up improperly? That's an offence right?)

- Probably your tone towards the TP was a bit kuai lan, that's why they play punk with you.

Cutting queue stunt aside, I would have asked for the summon instead. Why pay them kopi money? If it's not a real offence, do you think they dare to issue official ticket to you?

there are some here who will say, don't give them kopi $, insist on fine.

but for this case, when TS insist on fine, the police said 'you don't make trouble for us or we will make trouble for you too.'

so no matter wrong or not, i also will give them the kopi $.

any heroes here dare to challenge the malsysian polis?

Yes. Those who love to do naked squat in their office, in fron of their officers. [laugh]

Cutting queue stunt aside, I would have asked for the summon instead. Why pay them kopi money? If it's not a real offence, do you think they dare to issue official ticket to you?

so even if the polis challenge you with 'you don't make trouble for us or we will make trouble for you too.'

you will still insist on not paying kopi $?

so even if the polis challenge you with 'you don't make trouble for us or we will make trouble for you too.'

you will still insist on not paying kopi $?

Why must I pay kopi $? Malaysian govt already made it clear it's an offence to offer bribe, or pay bribe to its Polis.

Here's the thing. Ask for the summon in a courteous manner. Talk to them nicely. You give them kuai lan, they will surely return the favour.

I'm sure the TS chose to omit some details of the conversation between him and the Polis.

I got caught before for a different offence in JB town. I talked to them nicely and asked for the summon to be given to me. Gave them my driving licence and passport. Never give them your NRIC, which has your address. Just tell them you don't bring your NRIC to overseas countries. That way, they can only give you the summon but will not know where you live. After some minutes of talking, they eventually let me off without any summon and gave me a stern warning.

Never pay them or offer to give them kopi $, it is an offence far severe than a traffic offence. Not worth it. Weigh the pros and cons before making your decision.

What if they don't give you summon and don't release you?

I had this encounter during my first trip to JB. Drove back from supper 2am, wrong lane into bike lane but managed to turn back into car lane immediately. Reached JB custom counter, that tp came from behind and mentioned he saw what happened. Asking me fine or 'help' , luckily I only put $20riggit in my wallet. Open wallet I said that's all I left, he L L take n say gd bye. Case resolved. Perhaps keeping lesser cash in wallet helps

Edited by Dezouk

On the way back to Singapore from JB, we drove into the wrong lane, into a lane intended for buses and coaches.

Traffic Police/Custom Officer came by and said that he has to issue us a fine, compounded at RM 300.

While I doubt that there is any real offence, we didn't want trouble and decided to ask him to issue a fine. He said can give chance and only fine us RM 150... told him no money and he said you don't make trouble for us or we will make trouble for you too. As I really didn't have money to give, he eventually settled for whatever loose change I had which amounted to about RM 70...

Feel damn buay song after I left but not choice since I had mother in law and wife with me and didn't want them to be further tramatized (don't want to fall in their hands with some fake charges) but if this had happened to you, what would you do?

WTF WTF WTF [furious] [furious] [furious]

i wish i could treat the TP kopi-o previously when i kena by TP ..... [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Zealot

I would also like to add an incident that happen to me before. NSHW road block and was stop by the polis... say speeding blah blah blah but they did not stop the veh that is in front of me which i am not happy so I insist i did not and ask them to give summon (try luck). However, after a while of arguing, they issue me 2 summons instead. 1 for speeding and 1 for illegal number plate (chrome) RM 300 X 2 instead of RM 50 (road fee which sometime we KENA :wacko: ). So i ask my malaysia friend to help check the summons but came back 1 speeding summon which couldnt be found in the system but the illegal chrome plate become dirty car number plate which they anyhow hammer only.

So which is more worth it? RM 600 or RM50? Sometime being in bolehland hor i think just close one eye lo. Just think you lost 1 round in casino. Furthermore, sometime the bet is alot higher than this amount. [smash]

But surely there are no laws and fines for driving into a wrong lane right? I will be happier if I was speeding and got caught or if I had beat a red light... but this is pure extortion/day light robbery lor

R u sure there's no law?

Try driving into bus lane in singapore and see what u get during the operating hours..

I would also like to add an incident that happen to me before. NSHW road block and was stop by the polis... say speeding blah blah blah but they did not stop the veh that is in front of me which i am not happy so I insist i did not and ask them to give summon (try luck). However, after a while of arguing, they issue me 2 summons instead. 1 for speeding and 1 for illegal number plate (chrome) RM 300 X 2 instead of RM 50 (road fee which sometime we KENA :wacko: ). So i ask my malaysia friend to help check the summons but came back 1 speeding summon which couldnt be found in the system but the illegal chrome plate become dirty car number plate which they anyhow hammer only.

So which is more worth it? RM 600 or RM50? Sometime being in bolehland hor i think just close one eye lo. Just think you lost 1 round in casino. Furthermore, sometime the bet is alot higher than this amount. [smash]

yours is a typical case singaporean drivers meet everyday in jb. i also wonder those who say it is an offence to offer e bribe, will they still rather choose to accept the fine ?

Let me make this clear, the traffic was clear that day and there were no cars ahead of me. I was definitely not cutting queue... I probably have a car cam footage to prove it...

If I had committed an offence I wouldn't have been so peeved.