Running Injury - Plantar Fasciitis

Chrispie

Hi runners out there...

any one also kena plantar fasciitis? I kena on right foot, it got better, then now left foot kena.. see specialist, physio therapist, sinseh etc still as bad.. Now i can only keep doing calves stretch to relieve the pain.

the thing is i dont even run a lot.. i always warm up properly.. mileage is like 5km per run, once to thrice (rarely) a week...

Any solution?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plantar_fasciitis

Edited by Chrispie

kep it warm. Will take a while. Pain esp in mornings on the first step. Nothing can be done. REST

have to take ippt.. though already cleared for the current window..

but hor.. once rest.. stamina drops like crazy.. 2 weeks of rest is enough to kill almost all your progress..

have to take ippt.. though already cleared for the current window..

but hor.. once rest.. stamina drops like crazy.. 2 weeks of rest is enough to kill almost all your progress..

change shoes...Asics gives good support at the area affected...chk it out

Can consult Mok Ying Ren on facebook. Used to be Singpaore top runner until he got the same injury as yours.

I also recently getting pain in the right heel but dunno whether it's the above problem. Not a runner though coz I hate running. I find that stretching helps. Must wear socks during bed time and avoid carrying heavy weights for too long. But difficult, sometimes my kid want me to "bao bao" during walks. I have tried using deep heat to rub on the heel but it doesn't work. Maybe I will try loosing some weight for a change.... haha...

Any inflammation? Since you don't run, may be gout?

change shoes...Asics gives good support at the area affected...chk it out

already wearing Asics for years... when younger, wore DS - Racers...

Now.. Gel Nimbus with support insoles..

Actually when i kena the right sole.. doc already warned me that the left may kena as if i continue running, body will naturally put stress on the healthy foot and due to extra stress... the other foot will be affected also. Really came true. [bigcry]

Worse is.. for this condition, cannot perm downgrade.. maximum is 6 months temp downgrade.. lagi sian.

Any inflammation? Since you don't run, may be gout?

I'm already on no beer, no alchohol, no seafood and no oily food(ok lah maybe some) diet for the longest time, anyway pain will come only when I carry heavy objects or do weights. If inflame I won't be able to touch the ground siol. So no.

the problem could be from the structure of your leg or your running or walking posture.

You can try to see a Podiatrist. I was referred to them by the specialist at TTSH. They checked my walking posture also assessed my flat foot which is quite prone to injuries. After that they custom make insoles for me. They also advised me on the right kind of shoes to buy. The insoles are quite expensive. Therefore I recommend that you go to a polyclinic for referral but the waiting could be quite long.

stretch your calfs/hamstrings everyday with a gym towel every night for 10mins

good footwear

minimise walking/running when flare.

Ice pack when very painful can help. some angmoh runners dip in bucket of cold water but i think may promote rheumatism.

from personal and professional experience, nothing beats stretching.

if all this don't help, don't overdo it. switch to low impact cardio activity.

I had plantar fasciitis many years ago and it will heal naturally if you let it rest (good excuse to avoid IPPT). This is quite common problem, especially for runners.

The pain is terrible for the first steps in the morning, when you wake up. Normal activities (except running of course) should not be a problem.

Need to get a night splints (molded by specialist - podiatrist) to put on before you sleep and the next morning the pain will lessen until healed.

Mine took few months to heal naturally.

I had the same problem. Did stretching in the morning, rest, wore gel heels...didn't work. Even took pain killer like Celebrex also no help. In the end, went for an injection at the feet and the pain never came back. See a specialist for it.

It's a steroid cum pain killer injection so cannot,hav it too often. Once at the specialist is good enuff for me.

Wear warming socks to sleep.

Stretch calf muscles before getting out of bed. It helped to alleviate the pain to some extend.

Get shoe insoles with heel cushioning.

Got to get used to it; part of ageing process, not just for runners.

i got plantar fasciitis months ago..the pain was unbearable in the morning when i woke up..ask my therapist and was told to lose some weight..cut down on my rich diet and lost 3kgs within a month and the pain slowly dissipate and finally gone..perhaps its really weight related

I'm not a runner but i hardly get plantar fasciitis now after using nike free shoes and stretching.

Heel strikers obviously will get plantar fasciitis more easily.

the problem could be from the structure of your leg or your running or walking posture.

You can try to see a Podiatrist. I was referred to them by the specialist at TTSH. They checked my walking posture also assessed my flat foot which is quite prone to injuries. After that they custom make insoles for me. They also advised me on the right kind of shoes to buy. The insoles are quite expensive. Therefore I recommend that you go to a polyclinic for referral but the waiting could be quite long.

I have severe flat feet too.... I've had a pair of insole done by a podiatrist at Alexandra hospital way back and I find wearing it tires out my arch even more. I have stopped wearing it for a long long time. Nowadays, I will only wear proper arch support shoes when I run. True, initial first 1 or 2 km, will feel the soreness but after endure it through, the soreness will be gone...