Used Car Dealers Feedback (Part 2)!

8 minutes ago, dumbbird said:

Hi guys need your expert advices

Looking at this car.

https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=924312&DL=2547

Any advice on whether this is a good deal or not? 
Not sure about how to compare because i can't find any basis for comparison.
Would i be over paying at this price? 
Or are there hidden issues that this car dealer is known to hide?

thanks

More than six owners... I would stay far far away from this.

16 minutes ago, yellowshaun said:

What PDPA the AD also empowering these clowns, wonder when will our MP decide to blow up mileage tampering in parliament to put some form of legislation to stop this nonsense once and for all...

What to do 🤷. That's why I resorted to my own effort by digging up the history of the car...

48 minutes ago, dumbbird said:

Looking at this car.

thanks

You are definitely over paying.

The coe is 29K, they sell 49K for a COE car.

They profit for 20K leh. what do you think?

1 hour ago, kobayashiGT said:

How do i work out a fair value then, assuming that as dealers they would want a cut. 
Given that the coe is 29K, would it be correct to assume that the fair price to pay would be + 5K? or is that wrong
sorry first timer here 

23 minutes ago, dumbbird said:

How do i work out a fair value then, assuming that as dealers they would want a cut. 
Given that the coe is 29K, would it be correct to assume that the fair price to pay would be + 5K? or is that wrong
sorry first timer here 

The dealer put 49K, how are you going to under cut until 35K?

My advise is either you wait for durain to drop, or you hunt for a more bread and butter car like Mazda 3, Altis and Avante kind, the mroe listing the car is in the market, the more transparent. it is.

He can tell you that this car is very niche now. You want you take lor.

Anyway, my retirement car is a S660 Manual. hahahaha. I will buy one if I can retire comfortably.

2 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

Ya lor, you overpay for the car. Just pay for the COE can liao.

Dealer very rich, no need to earn.

Car body is taken from a scrap yard.

Rental for showroom waived by government.

Salesman volunteer to sell car for experience.

Floor stock finance waived by bank in view of covid 19.

All future repairs within the 6 months lemon law period the boss will come out from his own pocket as he just struck Toto last week.

The car from scrap yard condition like brand new. Comes with New Tyres, fresh paintwork, road tax, brake pads, engine oil etc.

Government waive GST due to Covid 19.

3 minutes ago, TheCarDealer said:

All future repairs within the 6 months lemon law period the boss will come out from his own pocket as he just struck Toto last week.

The car from scrap yard condition like brand new. Comes with New Tyres, fresh paintwork, road tax, brake pads, engine oil etc.

cant tell if sarcasm or truth

44 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

The dealer put 49K, how are you going to under cut until 35K?

My advise is either you wait for durain to drop, or you hunt for a more bread and butter car like Mazda 3, Altis and Avante kind, the mroe listing the car is in the market, the more transparent. it is.

He can tell you that this car is very niche now. You want you take lor.

Anyway, my retirement car is a S660 Manual. hahahaha. I will buy one if I can retire comfortably.

i will save this post to show you when you are 65.... 😁... maybe cannot even climb into the seat or get out....

1 hour ago, dumbbird said:

sorry first timer here 

First timer? Once kena slaughtered once , you will have buying experience .

44 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

i will save this post to show you when you are 65.... 😁... maybe cannot even climb into the seat or get out....

Can lah. I very short one leh. I 165 only.

Old like maybe will be 160. hahahah.

Midget like me can go in one.

4 hours ago, dumbbird said:

cant tell if sarcasm or truth

Of course its sarcasm 😅

Before COE renewal, the parf value has to be forfeited and that can be a few thousand dollars too.

Its like when you buy a new car and say why pay for the car? Just pay for the coe can already. 😆

4 hours ago, TheCarDealer said:

I know you meant it as sarcasm, but I assure you, if every one of the above were true, the dealer would still happily pocket 20k. And why not? 😂😂😂

15 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

I know you meant it as sarcasm, but I assure you, if every one of the above were true, the dealer would still happily pocket 20k. And why not? 😂😂😂

Like this i also bee tang. 😆

4 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

Can lah. I very short one leh. I 165 only.

Old like maybe will be 160. hahahah.

Midget like me can go in one.

It’s  the height of the seat.

On 11/13/2020 at 11:43 AM, dumbbird said:

Looking at this car.

thanks

Agreed on the over-paying portion as mentioned by some of the members earlier.

I owned a Copen once, also a used vehicle but it wasn't a COE car. It had approximately 26 months left and I got it around S$20k. I'm sorry I cant give you the exact figures as I do not have the purchase agreement with me at the moment. Hope these little bits helped in your consideration.

But do take note of the retractable hard top, especially the hydraulics parts. I remembered it malfunctioned when the vehicle was close to 9 years old. The roof was not able to fully retract until some light pushes needed. And when I wanted to have the vehicle covered, again the hydraulics appeared to be weak in pushing the roof into its original position. So something to watch out for and perhaps prepare some repair funds should you really purchase the vehicle.

28 minutes ago, cluelessCarBuyer said:

Hi, first time trying to get a 2nd hand car. arranged for viewing with the dealer. but the dealer keep asking me to pay deposit if im okay after viewing. is it normal?

No. Only if you want to buy it.