Petrol Price Movement in Singapore

Friendstar

18 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

Govt still ‘watching’ after 2 months. 

SINGAPORE'S antitrust authorities are keeping a close watch to ensure petrol companies do not profiteer from the recent surge in crude oil prices that has occurred after war broke out in Ukraine, said Second Minister for Trade and Industry Tan See Leng on Thursday (Mar 10).

Responding to a parliamentary question from Sembawang GRC MP Lim Wee Kiak, Dr Tan said while pump prices are set by the market, the Competition and Consumer Commission of Singapore (CCCS) keeps a close watch to ensure an open and competitive market.

"If there is evidence of anti-competitive behaviour, such as coordinated price increases, CCCS will investigate and take firm enforcement action under the Competition Act," he said, adding that well-informed consumers are also a "key deterrent" against unreasonable pricing.

talk-cock.png

4 hours ago, inlinesix said:

This year budget still deficit.

By temporary suspending petrol tax, where to find the income to patch the hole?

They will turn on the ERP soon

• Sad 1

12 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Traffic volume has increased substantially.

Now 100% can go back office, sure traffic volume would increased. Even when 50% can go back office that time, traffic volume also quite high liao.

5 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

Wait long long for Mr Tan. Not Tan See Leng hor.

SINGAPORE: Singapore will not reduce or suspend fuel duties or provide road tax rebates despite the recent increase in pump prices, Finance Minister Lawrence Wong said on Monday (Apr 4), adding that these measures effectively amount to a subsidy on private transport and will have "counter-productive effects".

Wtf

You impose a surcharge above base+margin. Then you increase the surcharge. Then when people complain surcharge too high, you say cannot reduce surcharge as it will subsidise. 

I rather they just stfu. 

8 minutes ago, Karoon said:

Wtf

You impose a surcharge above base+margin. Then you increase the surcharge. Then when people complain surcharge too high, you say cannot reduce surcharge as it will subsidise. 

I rather they just stfu. 

Precisely, it was never a subsidy. It’s  tax in the first place.

Reduce for a few months to lessen the impact of inflation which everyone felt - NO.

But don’t worry, we have the $100 CDC voucher this month. 万岁!

15 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Precisely, it was never a subsidy. It’s  tax in the first place.

Reduce for a few months to lessen the impact of inflation which everyone felt - NO.

But don’t worry, we have the $100 CDC voucher this month. 万岁!

Swee. can buy 50 more kalipoks. 

dont worry. our gahmen still watching. like this watch:

gif-eating-popcorn-38.gif.c482459d4ea32c3a2ca9aed205829718.gif

or this:

some-men-just-want-to-watch-the-world-burn-batman.gif.5e8b7c552059eb3c31ccc8595008f62e.gif

6 hours ago, inlinesix said:

This year budget still deficit.

By temporary suspending petrol tax, where to find the income to patch the hole?

Tax on the new population .. if they need to prop yo 6.9mil u already huat .. 

4 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said:

Tax on the new population .. if they need to prop yo 6.9mil u already huat .. 

A lot of these new populations do not have onshore income.

2 hours ago, inlinesix said:

A lot of these new populations do not have onshore income.

Those are not the population that the chenhu trying to have in inclusive diversity.. u must be thinking migrate workers.. 

the 6.9 “probably “ are those on the mid tier of 12k per month and above type n have a set of parents tow with them . And if that’s not enough will be boon to 10mil .. else our borders would have been open to Rohingya 

2 hours ago, Sdf4786k said:

Those are not the population that the chenhu trying to have in inclusive diversity.. u must be thinking migrate workers.. 

the 6.9 “probably “ are those on the mid tier of 12k per month and above type n have a set of parents tow with them . And if that’s not enough will be boon to 10mil .. else our borders would have been open to Rohingya 

Migrant workers don’t have family office 

6 hours ago, Karoon said:

Wtf

I rather they just stfu. 

Classic Panzer Pincer move... 高招。。得寸进尺。。

On 5/8/2022 at 5:59 PM, Fcw75 said:

Govt still ‘watching’ after 2 months. 

SINGAPORE'S antitrust authorities are keeping a close watch to ensure petrol companies do not profiteer from the recent surge in crude oil prices that has occurred after war broke out in Ukraine, said Second Minister for Trade and Industry Tan See Leng on Thursday (Mar 10).

Responding to a parliamentary question from Sembawang GRC MP Lim Wee Kiak, Dr Tan said while pump prices are set by the market, the Competition and Consumer Commission of Singapore (CCCS) keeps a close watch to ensure an open and competitive market.

"If there is evidence of anti-competitive behaviour, such as coordinated price increases, CCCS will investigate and take firm enforcement action under the Competition Act," he said, adding that well-informed consumers are also a "key deterrent" against unreasonable pricing.

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/companies-markets/asia-oil-refiners-rake-in-record-profits-on-tight-global-supplies

As long as they gouging the entire world nothing CCCS can say... fair mah

11 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Migrant workers don’t have family office 

Ah I see what you mean..

can you then help explain the huge profit from NRI in the investment banks?

Edited by Sdf4786k

20 hours ago, Karoon said:

Wtf

I rather they just stfu. 

probably someone will die if reduce petrol tax... or maybe the person will be sack if agrees to reduce... u know we are a revenue driven country.... every cent counts...  

1 hour ago, Danielyap said:

PSC 95 increase to $3.12 now

SPC also increase to $3.12?!! :o

• Sad 1