Australia: Car Rental in Melbourne

Tjkbeluga

Thanks guys....

After checking around, the price is just about the same, with the one from airport about AUD30~40 more (as expected). Only difference is availability of car models. I'll be most likely choosing a camry for comfort and fuel ecomony....

Price is about AUD330

I also advise you get a Falcon or Holden Commodore. Enjoy the Aussie experience!

P.S. There's a good place in the city for *ahem*manly pleasures*ahem* [;)]

Have car will travel. Convenience is the word. But it can be really hard to find parking in city area.

expensive too..

IIRC, more exp than sg?

but countryside is free :D

Guys, any advise on what is good to buy in OZ?

Fish oil I already got it cheap cheap from GNC USA liao.

Crumpler? I heard not cheap.

What else?

Try Budget car rental.

I found that go vroomvroomvroom to rent from budget is cheaper than going to budget directly.... As some bro here recommended, I got myself a Ford XR6 at AUD326 for 6 days....

XR6 is a good choice.. make sure you open the bonnet to drool at the 4lit I-6 engine before driving it... :wub: :wub:

Guys, any advise on what is good to buy in OZ?

Fish oil I already got it cheap cheap from GNC USA liao.

Crumpler? I heard not cheap.

What else?

Crumpler confirm not cheap!

Home brand but more ex than SG....

If you have chance to go to their flea market, you might wanna look at their Leather jacket, provided you wear one, it's dirt cheap compare to SG...

Scra.com.au

:wub:

It's well worth it! Got the 911T from them last time for the drive along Great Ocean Road

Their police are very strict, TP or Police can catch speedster or what ever funny thing you try to do, becareful of their speed cams, sure activate once u above the speed limit even by 1kph.

Careful on the hook turns if there are any as well.

Will be going to Melbourne for a week with my family this coming school holiday.... Any good lobang on which car rental to rent a car at Tullamarine airport?

renting a car is cheap. parking in melbourne will be a $$ killer.

i would suggest take teksi from airport (abt AUD50) if you're juz visiting the city and rent only when you're going out of town and drop-off at the airport on the way back.

Will be going to Melbourne for a week with my family this coming school holiday.... Any good lobang on which car rental to rent a car at Tullamarine airport?

Budget is very popular, cheaper than Avis and Hertz. If need a GPS, cheaper to bring your own Garmin GPS (if you have one) to Australia, because to rent one in Australia is around AUD$10-$20 per day.

http://www.budget.com.au/default.aspx?IATA...t%2Bhire%2Bcars

Watch out for the infamous Hook Turn.

hook-turn.jpg

post-190274-1246930638.jpg

Edited by Billcoke

renting a car is cheap. parking in melbourne will be a $$ killer.

i would suggest take teksi from airport (abt AUD50) if you're juz visiting the city and rent only when you're going out of town and drop-off at the airport on the way back.

Ya man! 1 hour like 8AUD in Mel? And very easy kena summon if you overtime lol....

Ride bike there best, can do what ever you wan, no need to pay their "ERP" as well.

Anyway TS is not going city if I'm not wrong.

Yea, I'm aware of the hook turn, though I have not personally encountered it yet. Seen this a lot in Taipei, though it's only for bikers, but the concept is the same. I wonder if the hook turn sign will appear early enough. It's difficult to change lane if it's too near to the intersection.

I'll be staying slightly offskirt of Melbourne, so renting from airport will make sense to me. On the day that we plan to go to the city, we will like be taking the public transport.... We'll see how...

You can either take a train to City or park at Crown casino ($6 for 6hr), this is the cheapest parking fee ever in City.

Crown casino to swanston street quite far right? The tram ticket are not cheap too..... Ppl that go Aussie and stay for a few years will appreciate our train fares [laugh]