Football is just not in Chinese's DNA

Scion

ok... peace peace

apologies to anyone who finds this thread offensive

here's a football joke

Police have been forced to warn people not to waste their time after a Manchester United fan rang 999 to complain about Nani's sending-off against Real Madrid.

The controversial red card garnered plenty of column inches and an 18-year-old in Nottinghamshire felt it was so egregious that he phoned the police to report it as a crime.

He later apologised for the call, claiming to have been caught up in the excitement.

"While this recent example may be amusing, it illustrates the sort of insincere calls we have to deal with on a daily basis in the control room," chief inspector Ted Antill said.

"They waste our time and they direct us away from genuine victims of crime, particularly if we dispatch officers out to something that turns out to be a bogus report."

Nottinghamshire police recorded 6,933 hoax calls in 2012

If football in Asia pays good money, I'm sure they will be good players. Plus you and your family cannot eat the ball for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Looking at Europe and Asia, Asia football do not generate that kind of money Europe does. Ppl actually make more money being a bookie fixing matches. It's also becoming a problem. Even a Sgporean w/o football talent can fix matches until the interpol is after him.

Asians are too smart for football. Being a football player in Asia is not going to pay well and they know that. It's much more lucrative being a bookie plus they dun have to chase after a ball until hair hair chuan.

Chinese will never encourage their kids to take up sports...

So difficult that we can see our young Chinese kids good in soccer...

No choice, this had been like that since ancient past. since the time chinese had been emphasising on academic result that is why we have imperial Exam in the history.

Edited by Joseph22

Actually, the article didnt even mention anything about Soccer in Chinese DNA or not. how come thread title dont reflect it huh??

No choice, this had been like that since ancient past. since the time chinese had been emphasising on academic result that is why we have imperial Exam in the history.

erm... beg to differ, ancient china only the rich can afford to send their children to study. the majority which is the poor emphasis on their family trade/skills, farmer, woodcutter, cook etc.... even if they can afford to send their children study they probably oso wun, train them take over family business more important. in fact scholar are look down at times, tts y have the term 穷书生

thats why Raymondism pointed out the thread title is putting a racist slant to the article mah.

erm... beg to differ, ancient china only the rich can afford to send their children to study. the majority which is the poor emphasis on their family trade/skills, farmer, woodcutter, cook etc.... even if they can afford to send their children study they probably oso wun, train them take over family business more important. in fact scholar are look down at times, tts y have the term 穷书生

there are poor scholar in the system too.. Like now, the rich are likely to have a better chance of passing as they have the money not to do anything. but still there are poor scholar who are successful.

http://www.sacu.org/examinations.html

Undoubtedly, success in the examinations was easier for the well-off. In the late Qing period in particular, corruption was widespread; examiners could be bribed, and early stages of the exam process could be skipped for a fee. Tutors, books and brushes all cost money, so poor candidates were at a disadvantage even during periods when bribery was frowned upon. Despite this, many poor scholars did succeed in their ambitions. During the Qing period, over a third of jinshi degree holders came from families with little or no educational background. Nor was the system biased towards the inhabitants of the capital. Degrees were awarded to scholars from throughout China; indeed the provinces of Jiangsu and Zhejiang boasted the greatest number of jinshi graduates

thats why Raymondism pointed out the thread title is putting a racist slant to the article mah.

I agree with him. cause the article didnt mention anything about DNA..

and worse, the article didnt mention about Chinese not able to play soccer. IF anything the article is talking about chinese league isnt taking off very well interm of attendant and attention.

there are poor scholar in the system too.. Like now, the rich are likely to have a better chance of passing as they have the money not to do anything. but still there are poor scholar who are successful.

http://www.sacu.org/examinations.html

Undoubtedly, success in the examinations was easier for the well-off. In the late Qing period in particular, corruption was widespread; examiners could be bribed, and early stages of the exam process could be skipped for a fee. Tutors, books and brushes all cost money, so poor candidates were at a disadvantage even during periods when bribery was frowned upon. Despite this, many poor scholars did succeed in their ambitions. During the Qing period, over a third of jinshi degree holders came from families with little or no educational background. Nor was the system biased towards the inhabitants of the capital. Degrees were awarded to scholars from throughout China; indeed the provinces of Jiangsu and Zhejiang boasted the greatest number of jinshi graduates

k.... u using qing dynasty to support ur point... bear in mind in terms of ancient china under dynasty rulings, qing is the last one already... by that time already have a lot western influence and justified the importance of education in the society... china has much more history before tt and not much was emphasis on studies

actually depend on dynasty. there are dynasty that emphasis on studies while there are other who frown on study.

if i remember correct, Tang Dynasty was one of those that concerntrate on Imperial Exam.

anyway, erm... i dont mean to OT [bigcry] also, i conceed defeat. i just make a statement for fun nia... [bigcry]

Edited by Joseph22

Thot good at tai chi....no?

tai chi cannot be used coz involved too much hands.....thats for the office

I agree with him. cause the article didnt mention anything about DNA..

and worse, the article didnt mention about Chinese not able to play soccer. IF anything the article is talking about chinese league isnt taking off very well interm of attendant and attention.

ya lah

i'm the one who said that football is not in Chinese's DNA...

the fact is there are more than 2 billion Chinese in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Malaysia and Singapore (referring to race), but we are not able to produce a single good (never mind world class) player on global stage

The Koreans and Japanese can do it... but why we Chinese can't?

food for thought

ya lah

the fact is there are more than 2 billion Chinese in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Malaysia and Singapore (referring to race), but we are not able to produce a single good (never mind world class) player on global stage

food for thought

relax lah.. joking with you nia. [laugh]

why huh?? the same reason why singapore got no good soccer player after fandi era lor?? pay not high enough. [mad]

plus dont forget, soccer player life span not very long too.

Edited by Joseph22

ya lah

food for thought

its not that not in Chinese DNA but its not in chinese culture

u can see chinese love to play badminton and table tennis while ang moh like soccer and rugby

its not that not in Chinese DNA but its not in chinese culture

u can see chinese love to play badminton and table tennis while ang moh like soccer and rugby

It seems like Chinese are good in games that require techniques and movement (badminton, table tennis) while bad at those that require strength (tennis, soccer, rugby).