Medishield or Medisave claim

Deckbuild

Hi, this few days having back pain directly behind the inverted V or my rib cage, would like to ask if I go for a CT scan, or what ever scan, can I claim from medishield or medisave?

...go to poly and get a referal letter first...that will be cheaper..btw hospital dont take walk in unless

A&E..or have appoint.

think you can only claim if you are hospitalised, if you have a higher plan, work with the private hospital lor [rolleyes] [rolleyes]

Those pte clinic can get referral letter? Polyclinic que will DIE....

yes, private clinic can get referral letter to see specialist or do further test...I have done that but too sure about polyclinic bec have not visited polyclinic before due to the infamous Q

Those pte clinic can get referral letter? Polyclinic que will DIE....

take 1/2 day leave, bring your tablet and spare battery, then go there and queue..

also if scare no chair, you can also bring your (reservist) foldable safari chair there.. very satki [laugh]

and one thing.. their number don't follow sequence.. so if u go eat breakfast, you number may get bypassed.

want to get chenghu benefits, do the chenghu way.. [laugh]

yes, private clinic can get referral letter to see specialist or do further test...I have done that but too sure about polyclinic bec have not visited polyclinic before due to the infamous Q

I was told once by the doctor at the clinic near my house that if you're referred by private clinic, you'll be treated as a private patient and will pay more. If referred by polyclinic, then will be subsidized...... <_<

take 1/2 day leave, bring your tablet and spare battery, then go there and queue..

also if scare no chair, you can also bring your (reservist) foldable safari chair there.. very satki [laugh]

and one thing.. their number don't follow sequence.. so if u go eat breakfast, you number may get bypassed.

want to get chenghu benefits, do the chenghu way.. [laugh]

yup, this one we got no choice but to follow their way....... [laugh]

I was told once by the doctor at the clinic near my house that if you're referred by private clinic, you'll be treated as a private patient and will pay more. If referred by polyclinic, then will be subsidized...... <_<

This is correct. And it's one heck of an area that could be improved, by allowing private clinics to refer to specialist, and the patient still pays subsidized rates as long as the patient is citizen or PR.

Claim wise like what Jman says unless u are hospitalize then able to claim unless u got other plans. Best go polyclinic, although the appointment will be quite some time down the road. I went to polyclinic to get referral for my knee in early march and my appointment for specialist is in May, around 2 months time. So if you can tahan the pain, go polyclinic, else go private, it will be faster and more ex.

WTF man, so expensive to survive in sg, I read from sammyboy, they mention it cost over 1k to scan....

Yes...MRI

https://www.allsingaporestuff.com/article/medisave-more-burden-help-sick-sporeans

MEDISAVE MORE BURDEN THAN HELP FOR SICK S'POREANS

Dear CPF Board,

I’m writing to question and hopefully clarify the purpose of the Medisave scheme. Both me and my wife are self -employed and are required by law to contribute almost $5,000 each to our Medisave accounts annually in cash. Just how does Medisave help us? We found out the hard way that the Medisave scheme is causing us more financial burden instead of helping us.

I suffer from hypertension and needs to pay around $720 annually for my medication alone. I also need to go for blood tests and doctor’s consultations in order to get this medication with additional costs and nothing is claimable beyond the prescribed $400 annual withdrawal limit. Who and why dictate that I can only withdraw $400 annually from my Medisave account for treatments of such chronic illnesses? After all, I did not ask for or enjoy having hypertension. I’m not requesting Medisave funds to make my face prettier. I would rather pay the $720 medication fees for treating my hypertension in cash instead of having to contribute almost $5,000 to Medisave and only be allowed to utilise $400 each year.

Recently, my daughter was required to undergo for 2 surgeries. The total costs of the surgeries, hospitalization, medication and therapies etc. cost us around $60,000. Also recently, my wife was required to undergo an MRI scan. The scan itself cost around $1,400 and she was only allowed to utilise around $200 from Medisave. We were lucky to be able to claim the full amount from private insurance instead. It was during these occasions that we discovered that Medisave was almost absolutely of no help to us.

We are lucky to have bought private insurance that paid for almost all the costs. Since private insurance can cover such unexpected medical, surgical and hospitalization expenses in full, and one can only withdraw very controlled and limited amounts of funds from Medisave for such purposes, why not allow citizens to choose between getting insured privately instead? After all, the premiums for private insurance that reimburses hospitalization and medical costs in full is only a few hundred dollars per person per annum. If you compare this with the almost $5,000 per person annual contribution requirement, it just doesn’t make any sense.

When my father was dying of cancer in 2008, his doctor suggested him having a PET scan which, if I remembered correctly, cost around $2,500. We were told that this have to be paid in cash and not the dying man’s Medisave or ours. Why even deny a dying man’s need to utilise Medisave monies from his own account really trouble me until today. All in, if the government is afraid that they have to foot unpaid bills by any citizen because they have insufficient Medisave, me and my family members are more than willing to sign any form that relinquish them of such responsibilities.

We will take care of ourselves.

Bryan
A.S.S. Contributor

- More at AllSingaporeStuff.com https://www.allsingaporestuff.com/article/medisave-more-burden-help-sick-sporeans
FB: http://fb.com/allsgstuff

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/singapore-turn-crowdfunding-pay-medical-bills-235608437.html

After the introduction of so many policies to help citizens or PRs to cope with medical bills, exactly what happen?

Why the need for crowdfunding?

I am very worried for the trend of things happening within these few years.

Any thoughts, information or solutions?

:TT_TT:

medisave is another means to hold your cpf money.

in Sg, it's better to die than get sick.

you can't use your cpf money anyway.

Need to treat it as tax rather than savings. This way, you won't be caught by surprise. If you are lucky to be able to withdraw some to enjoy your fruits of labour, just treat it as tax refunds. [laugh]

No matter how you kpkb, the schemes are here to stay for a long time.