Medishield or Medisave claim

Deckbuild

please don’t blame the doctors and specialists here

they also need to drive their bentleys and ferraris and live in luxurious landed properties given their great sacrifices they made for their profession

the last time i was discharged after a week in hospital ... i had to go for follow-up checks ... at one of the check-ups, the nurse also commented that she also dunno why i had to go for this particular check-up since it had nothing to do with my hospitalization ...

nowadays, you'd be surprised by the number and types of check that the govt hospitals prescribe for you !! i was.

some ppl just too free ... Dr say test this test that ... they will just agree to the buffet tests .... but if they have to pay, then they will start to question the Dr's recommendations and then decide ai mai.

refer to my re-post in red.

i also found this interesting read.

In fact, insurers have been bombarded with questionable claims from patients with riders who were treated in private hospitals, The Straits Times has learnt. Here is a sampling:

• A 37-year-old woman stayed seven days in hospital for abdominal hernia repair. Of the $46,000 bill, the surgeon's share was $31,900, or five times the norm. It transpired that while in hospital, she also had her breast augmented, and a tummy tuck with the fat transferred to her buttocks, but since these are not covered by insurance, none of this was stated in the bill.

• Another patient who needed cataract surgery opted to be admitted to hospital, instead of having it done as a day procedure, which would have taken no more than an hour or so. His one-day stay each time for each eye amounted to a total bill of $21,000. The median private hospital bill for cataract surgery of one eye is $5,000.

• A patient with fungal growth in her nail stubbed her toe, causing the nail to fall out. She was admitted for two days and was billed $6,000.

• A patient complaining of stomach and chest pains was admitted to hospital, and underwent gastroscopy and colonoscopy procedures to check his stomach and intestines. He was also referred to a heart doctor, a dermatologist for skin rash and an ophthalmologist for blurred vision. The total bill for his one-day stay was $14,000.

• A patient was admitted for 16 hours for inflammation of the gall bladder. The tests showed no inflammation and no treatment was needed. However, the patient was given a series of unrelated screening tests, including an electrocardiogram, a magnetic resonance imaging scan and a computerised tomography scan. Screening is not covered by insurance. The bill came to $11,000.

• A woman was warded for 42 days for cervical sprain and strain (or pain in the neck) but received treatment only on seven days. She was given physiotherapy and painkillers for the other 35 days, something that could have been done as outpatient treatment. The bill was $84,000.

• A 40-year-old man was warded for four days for pain and swelling in his big toe, chalking up a bill of close to $6,000. The bill was rejected after the insurer checked with the doctor, who said the patient was admitted at his own request and that the treatment would otherwise normally be done in the clinic.

i was having abnormal high pressure in the ear and ringing in the ear and was given an appointment at a new hospital up north.......the ent did a check and found nothing wrong and suggested am mri at $600 a pop. I refused and now the pressure is gone but the ringing still there, sometime loud some unnoticeable. $600! Swee swee for my medisave special procedure deduction........

AIA came up with a slightly cheaper plan last year when my renewal was near ... this one is more for planned medical  service as you had to go through AIA's medical advisers before you can be warded. they will decide on where you should go for  specialized treatment.

I don't know if private hospitals will be included but it should be included since the plan does mention private hospitals.

i might be switching over to this if the premiums get too much for me (i have pre-ex) ... and i really don't care if i go to a govt or private hospital when/if i really need it.

btw, i wonder if ppl knows that if they go private, then their follow up will be under private ... and when the insurance don't cover, they will still rack up a neat sum themselves when going for the follow-ups.

From 1st April, all the plans need to include 5% co-payment. Only people who already have the rider before 7/3/18 can still be covered from first dollar onwards.

But I find that it is also because of this follow up under private if warded at private that is driving the costs up also. Now the post hospitalisation claims are up to 365 days. So after 365 days if need more followup, some patients will find ways to get hospitalised again so they have another 365 days for post hospitalisation claims again.

Reminds me of our arf.......when sign purchase agreement lta say at the end of coe we will be given back full arf..........8 yrs later they say can oni get 50%. Gov is leading the way in screwing us hor! Cant blame the ins coy 100%¿

i was having abnormal high pressure in the ear and ringing in the ear and was given an appointment at a new hospital up north.......the ent did a check and found nothing wrong and suggested am mri at $600 a pop. I refused and now the pressure is gone but the ringing still there, sometime loud some unnoticeable. $600! Swee swee for my medisave special procedure deduction........

My kid wanna go mri, ownself pay, no insurance

The specialist don’t allow

He told me: my reputation I put on table, I tell you no need

I hear already straight away say he steady, I believe him

From 1st April, all the plans need to include 5% co-payment. Only people who already have the rider before 7/3/18 can still be covered from first dollar onwards.

But I find that it is also because of this follow up under private if warded at private that is driving the costs up also. Now the post hospitalisation claims are up to 365 days. So after 365 days if need more followup, some patients will find ways to get hospitalised again so they have another 365 days for post hospitalisation claims again.

Looks like the old 12gb plan

My kid wanna go mri, ownself pay, no insurance

The specialist don’t allow

He told me: my reputation I put on table, I tell you no need

I hear already straight away say he steady, I believe him

Looks like the old 12gb plan

thought can use medisave for that procedure? Your son can use yours? But ya.....your specialist steady wan........but many especially new hospital not like that. They want roi asap.........

Down south that hospital, years back when I had back issue the specialist asked me if I ready to consider surgery as an option, if not, no point go MRI.

Maybe govt/restructured lar, I find that they won't ask you to go for scan unnecessarily.

a few weeks ago, I was sitting on my living room sofa and was getting up to go out. as I stood up, I felt the room bouncing up and down !!

the next day(Monday) I went to polyclinic as I was still feeling a bit giddy and the Dr saw me and gave me a hospital referral letter. she said I might need a MRI scan too.

so I took MRT down to SGH in the afternoon and saw the ENT Dr .... who only did a hearing test for me and told me they don't know what is wrong with me and they do not have a precise remedy. So he just issued me double dosage of some pills and told me to see him again in a month's time - which I did not go back.

so the SGH Dr did not feel that I needed a scan but felt that it had to do with the ear fluid imbalance.

paid $65 cash.

I am guessing that private hospitals will start to feel the heat after this issue and will not dare to anyhow "help" patients claim unnecessarily already ... else they might get into trouble themselves. if a single person want to challenge the medical services it will be very troublesome. but 6 insurers with deep pockets and an army of lawyers will be ample to challenge them easily.

do you rem those ads on radio that kept telling ppl to go to the private hospitals for whatever and the patients won't have to fork out a single cent if they had 100%coverage ?? I really get angry when I hear those ads ....

a few weeks ago, I was sitting on my living room sofa and was getting up to go out. as I stood up, I felt the room bouncing up and down !!

the next day(Monday) I went to polyclinic as I was still feeling a bit giddy and the Dr saw me and gave me a hospital referral letter. she said I might need a MRI scan too.

so I took MRT down to SGH in the afternoon and saw the ENT Dr .... who only did a hearing test for me and told me they don't know what is wrong with me and they do not have a precise remedy. So he just issued me double dosage of some pills and told me to see him again in a month's time - which I did not go back.

so the SGH Dr did not feel that I needed a scan but felt that it had to do with the ear fluid imbalance.

paid $65 cash.

ya.....usually poly will just issue referral letter because they can only make an educated guess base on your symptoms.....cant blame them with the equipments they have at their disposal. Usually fluid inbalance are caused by an infection in the ear. I had it once when inwas in my mid 30s. The whole world seems to be shaking slowly as i walk and i had to stop and squat down for that brief period....sometime i will also feel nauseas.

I am guessing that private hospitals will start to feel the heat after this issue and will not dare to anyhow "help" patients claim unnecessarily already ... else they might get into trouble themselves. if a single person want to challenge the medical services it will be very troublesome. but 6 insurers with deep pockets and an army of lawyers will be ample to challenge them easily.

do you rem those ads on radio that kept telling ppl to go to the private hospitals for whatever and the patients won't have to fork out a single cent if they had 100%coverage ?? I really get angry when I hear those ads ....

Some hospitals even advertise their one bedded rooms and ask you to see their financial consultants to find out how you can stay for free or something like that.

paid $65 cash.

End up you feeling better after consuming these pills?

Some hospitals even advertise their one bedded rooms and ask you to see their financial consultants to find out how you can stay for free or something like that.

openly abuse the system ... [furious]

End up you feeling better after consuming these pills?

not really ... Dr said I might need a long time before this goes away ... but he can't tell me what's wrong ... and for the time being, my body will just have to compensate itself for the unbalance.

as for myself, I am quite ok as long as I don't have to climb stairs .... the up and down movement will cause me to feel giddy ... the feeling is like my body reached the second step but my eyes need time to catch up. I don't really know if the pills helped.

Edited by Ysc3

they didn't do anything illegal, the terms were there and they make full use.

just that some people know how to take advantage than the other, do away with the 100% then identify whoever claim before and impose higher premium for them.

So going to public hospitals, still got such problems?  :a-bang:

It's call tinnitus.

Is it in 1 ear or both ears? If it's 1 ear, better go for an MRI.

It's call tinnitus.

Is it in 1 ear or both ears? If it's 1 ear, better go for an MRI.

started with left side...then the other. Now getting better! Started when i had a fever....then the left ear became pressurised and started ringing.......thanks for the advice.

Both ears never mind, sometimes it comes with age like me.

So going to public hospitals, still got such problems?  :a-bang:

Yes, even for public hospitals.

Both ears never mind, sometimes it comes with age like me.

Yes, even for public hospitals.

think so too! Ever since i touch 50 i am having muscular pain from my finger which disappeared but reemerges in my arm.....now i kana frozen shoulder...3 month liao and it still hurt....