Well done George Yeo!

Not too long ago, I'd met KOPI ANAN along NSHW while driving to KL [sweatdrop] it's a true story [:p]

That one, quite common. I also meet him every time I go for long road trips. <_<

what did GY do that make u all think he is good?

there is such a thing called google...... <_< <_<

You're a big mcf Ang Pie and Gold Medalist, RadX big eyes certainly never miss you [shocked]

lucky u say big eyes...not mercedes benz, one big, one small [laugh] [laugh]

That's the problem with SG people

We vote out ppl who are good and we continue to vote in ppl who deserve to go......

And these good ppl will leave and do something else, and we let those not so good ppl continue to control

We vote out ppl who are good and we continue to vote in ppl who deserve to go......

And these good ppl will leave and do something else, and we let those not so good ppl continue to control

as tey say, the good ones leave.....

Let this be a lesson for those who kicked him for for the "greater cause". See what the "greater cause" has achieved so far?

i wun be surprised there will be acclaims of grooming him and preparing him thus making him apt. Well, his exposure in MFA certainly helped for sure!

But seems like the job he is taking got some risk... like digging skeletons from the closet... hmmm

yes, and remember when a sgean, did that? kena scandal that was unfounded. Wun be surprised that scandals will come up just like that here, with no basis....

scandal is small ... his life is big... ppl here can only create scandal but over there might be another story...

ya man....crucify :wacko: :wacko:

there is such a thing called google...... <_< <_<

To be honest, he did some things that are questionable. He was basically the architect of Internet Censorship in Singapore. I consider all censorship to be evil, so I am very much against this.

Also, he was the person who mooted (or was chosen to be "figurehead" by higher powers) the idea of establishing casinos in Singapore. Whether this has been a blessing, on balance, is contentious; but certainly many people have always been against this.

But he is a smart bloke, and he accomplished some good things for the country, most notably the negotiation of the free trade agreement.

Some people support him because he was seen for a while as part of the shadowy anti-LHL camp within the MIW. I regard this as so much stuff-and-nonsense, a poorly-conceived conspiracy theory. During his tenure, GY did almost nothing to really oppose the MIW on critical matters - unlike people like TCB and OTC.

Overall, I think he's an effective technocrat and as ministers go, hardly the worst. But was it worth sacrificing him to secure the WP that critical GRC? I'd say yes, definitely, more to come in future, please. No man (including those in white) is indispensable.

A great deal. For one thing, it's showed those amongst us who are unbiased, intelligent and rational what sore losers the P@P are, with this time-wasting cleaning saga. [rolleyes]

To be honest, he did some things that are questionable. He was basically the architect of Internet Censorship in Singapore. I consider all censorship to be evil, so I am very much against this.

Also, he was the person who mooted (or was chosen to be "figurehead" by higher powers) the idea of establishing casinos in Singapore. Whether this has been a blessing, on balance, is contentious; but certainly many people have always been against this.

But he is a smart bloke, and he accomplished some good things for the country, most notably the negotiation of the free trade agreement.

Some people support him because he was seen for a while as part of the shadowy anti-LHL camp within the MIW. I regard this as so much stuff-and-nonsense, a poorly-conceived conspiracy theory. During his tenure, GY did almost nothing to really oppose the MIW on critical matters - unlike people like TCB and OTC.

Overall, I think he's an effective technocrat and as ministers go, hardly the worst. But was it worth sacrificing him to secure the WP that critical GRC? I'd say yes, definitely, more to come in future, please. No man (including those in white) is indispensable.

think by now u know bro, dissonance theory actually set in finally. the casino, if i heard him correctly, he had an internal struggle also...and he voiced agst, but well, he was only 1 voice.

and yes, he is one of the 'other' camps as i had told u b4

think by now u know bro, dissonance theory actually set in finally. the casino, if i heard him correctly, he had an internal struggle also...and he voiced agst, but well, he was only 1 voice.

But he was the one who brought up the proposal in the first place, I think. Doesn't count for a whole lot if he opposed it later. I would've had more respect for him if he'd stood by his principles from the start. What is a man if not for his principles?

I can't be sure of this, because it's a hazy recollection. But I remember a televised address by Bill Gates when he visited Singapore - he said that the gahmen had assured him that they would not try to censor the Internet because it was a futile and regressive thing to do. Bill Gates seemed very happy with this (and presumably told all his American friends that we were sound). Shortly after we left, the MDA censorship started, and the architect was George Yeo. What can this behaviour be called, if not disingenuous?

and yes, he is one of the 'other' camps as i had told u b4

Maybe. I've heard the same things you have. But what did it really make him *do*?

Anyway, I hope you're right on this point if he does win the next PE. Perhaps he'll be the next OTC. I have my doubts, though.

But all I can say is that the monsters he's bred when he was in power continue to torment us Netizens after his departure - like the MDA (I'm referring to the $50,000 bond thing, along with the ever-present blocklist).