Final hospital Bill: $1k

nurse chio bo?

nurse too chio, wait new ailments develop and cannot be paid for by medishield...

[thumbsup]

I really hate it when those people with a lot of anti-govt angst tell me "In Singapore can die but cannot get sick". If they don't do their homework and keep wallowing in their stubborn ignorance, nothing can help them.

Well, we appreciate what is there, and guess doing some homework FOR OUR BENEFIT wun hurt [;)]

So KBW paid $8 is real and touch wood if we hospitalized with major surgery but had planned properly ahead we also don't have to pay multiple K for medical? All this while I read the forum I thought it cannot happen to common people like us? So policy is the same for all and no privilege for certain group of people? Anyone can enlighten? So confusing, cannot believe forum?

I have in fact gained from paying insurance premiums.

Hospital bill in 2011 for 3 days at Mount A, was $11k. Zero cent fork out. In fact i was paid $300 per day in hospital income.

as toothie said, yes, hospital insurance a must, cos as we age, we dun know what lies ahead!

Yeah, MY one may be free, but u dare to try their medical services? Their free one is govt hospitals hor.... not private ones. And we all know how their government standards are........ U will be lucky if the doc bothers to talk to you.

i was having the same thought until i took my mum to a govt hospital in KL last month, the service and the doctors are professional and friendly (at least the one we went the specialist are all local chinese and they speak mandarin and dialect :D ), a few days stay plus all the tests cost nothing for a senior citizen (no need insurance or medisave whatsoever)....

by the way it was referred and highly recommended by the NUH doctor ^_^ ^_^

Edited by Jman888

So KBW paid $8 is real and touch wood if we hospitalized with major surgery but had planned properly ahead we also don't have to pay multiple K for medical? All this while I read the forum I thought it cannot happen to common people like us? So policy is the same for all and no privilege for certain group of people? Anyone can enlighten? So confusing, cannot believe forum?

basic is get yourself covered. REad the terms and conditions. Find what is suited for you. Premiums for hosp paid from medisave. Riders maybe not, see your comfort level...hmmm....i shd change job be agent...muahahaha

well, bro, u hearing from the horses mouth here, and a few other horses here [laugh] [laugh]

i was having the same thought until i took my mum to a govt hospital in KL last month, the service and the doctors are professional and friendly (at least the one we went the specialist are all local chinese and they speak mandarin and dialect :D ), a few days stay plus all the tests cost nothing for a senior citizen (no need insurance or medisave whatsoever)....

by the way it was referred and highly recommended by the NUH doctor ^_^ ^_^

hers minor right? cos when comes to major things, the better expertise still is here, altho KL heart ctr also reputable, and Thais catching up

Wah not bad...my mother tio hospitalised a couple of years back for an op...total cost come up to $6k...you only 1k...

Class B can liao lah...class A for what sial...play the 'handgun' what's why need the privacy izit? [laugh]

hers minor right? cos when comes to major things, the better expertise still is here, altho KL heart ctr also reputable, and Thais catching up

hers is the C thingy, going back for treatment if necessary. I have to thank the NUH doctor for the recommendation as i know a few of them in the cancer centre are malaysian.

Edited by Jman888

Wah not bad...my mother tio hospitalised a couple of years back for an op...total cost come up to $6k...you only 1k...

Class B can liao lah...class A for what sial...play the 'handgun' what's why need the privacy izit? [laugh]

as my case was more than the normal required due to the nature, i was given single bed w aircon n HBO...... [laugh] [laugh]

er...death plan not out yet [laugh] [laugh]

a few years ago, sfs did come out with a death plan to cover funeral expenses but I think there were no takers ^_^ but I looked at the plan, like not bad leh [laugh]

Edited by Othello

hers is the C thingy, going back for treatment is necessary. I have to thank the NUH doctor for the recommendation as i know a few of them in the cancer centre are malaysian.

ok..yah i rem. she coping well?

Radx

what i dont understand is that

with insurance

why cant we not pay a single cent for the final bill

the old scheme was very good where with rider you just leave the bill between the hospital and insurance to sort it out and you just have to worry about recovering

the new scheme even though with rider you still need to pay certain percentage of the final bill

to us still ok

but what happen when we retire and we might need multiple surgery within a year

worse if you dont have dependant to help out

The thing with agents....

u think u bug them with questions...

they end up trying to sell u more...

hahahaha i dun like talking to them too much...

You may not care about other kinds of insurance, but you always MUST care about your own medical insurance. It's the medical bill invoice that will kill you even though u may survive the major operation.

So always take care of yourself

my dad had a major heart bypass some years back in SGH, and the total bill was $16k++. Because of NTUC medishield covered for him, the net amount that we have to pay was only $2k+. And this is because I didn't cover the 10% deductible, which i kind of regretted. If i had covered 100% for him, then the entire operation and ward will be FOC.

As the saying goes "You cannot be poor to be sick in SG"

I was with NTUC medishield last time and now i switch to Aviva one. supposed to cover more than NTUC. Go check it out. And make sure you cover 100%. Don't stinge on small money.

Today Yahoo News talked about that SG guy who got into accident in New York while cycling. His hospital bill is now $250,000!

As you all know, i had a recent major surgery

Nope, not the $8 as mentioned [laugh] [laugh] but could hv been

Invoice stated $33k. After the subsides, Medisave, and more important enhanced Medishield, payable out of pocket is $1049.8

Moral of story here is:

1. Healthcare can be affordable if you plan

2. Cover yourself appropriately and sufficiently accordingly. Premiums payable by Medisave. Could have been cheaper if i had riders

3. If you fail to plan, you plan to fail

So, the resources are there...use it instead of kpkb here...

Final word, ur funeral will be more ex....save for that cos 3M cannot use [laugh] [laugh]

not fair, your position and people know you, got discount here and there, one time package here and there, special service here and there. how to compare with the rest of the wage earner

Radx

what i dont understand is that

with insurance

why cant we not pay a single cent for the final bill

the old scheme was very good where with rider you just leave the bill between the hospital and insurance to sort it out and you just have to worry about recovering

the new scheme even though with rider you still need to pay certain percentage of the final bill

to us still ok

but what happen when we retire and we might need multiple surgery within a year

worse if you dont have dependant to help out

this is where u shd get what you need then. As you age, perhaps you add riders for protection. Perhaps the other bros who have these and have had the benefit, can enlighten

as toothie said, yes, hospital insurance a must, cos as we age, we dun know what lies ahead!

When i was working part-time at 22yrs earning a measly take home pay of 1.5K, my friends questioned me why i paid an average of $350 per month on insurance premiums.

Thank God i made that decision. Essentially i needed to get hospitalisation coverage, disability income, critical illness, and accident plans. And this covers me globally which is beneficial especially after reading the article on the S'porean who got hit and run in NY ending up with a USD$640K bill.

u dare talk....if malaysia, i prepare funeral $$$ first...muahahahah

You are so right. For certain treatment, some m'sian prefer to spend more here than on 'good' pte hospitals in m'sia (one way tix). :D