Opel Car Owners - Pls fall in

Ngjs

Opel cars like Insignia, Zafira, etc looks good and seems pretty solid......but not cheap...if not mistaken could be more expensive than some of the VW models.....

To be frank, waiting for Opel parts could be a long wait. My Zafira Tourer was sandwiched between a taxi and a car late last year. The front was not too bad but the rear was hit hard and as I didn't think other repair shops could get the parts and do the works well, I decided to let Auto Germany, the distributor of Opel cars, do the repair works. The repair works was actually done by its associate firm First Auto Works. When third party insurance was cleared before Xmas in 2014, I was given a replacement car while Auto Germany ordered the parts for my car and the repairs started. But I have to wait for nearly four months before my car was repaired as the parts such as the bumper and in-built bicycle rack took a long while to arrive from Germany. Not sure, why the parts took so long to come. Anyway, just sharing my experience with the rest of the Opel drivers in Singapore. Cheers.

Went to see the Meriva too. My wife was drooling at the yellow Astra GTC in the showroom too! Tempted, but my Astra still has about 4 more years, so have to discipline myself!

Opel owners are a rare breed. However, their loyalty is rewarded with a great drive, and a less common car.

I personally haven't (3 Opels to date) had issues with parts and servicing. There is the current agent, the previous agent, and a no. of Opel specialists like CM etc.

Go for it!

I recently took over an Astra-H GTC from a director uncle, must really say I am inpressed at the build quality of Opel. My colleagues were surprised and they are all shocked at the handling and ride of such an old ride. In general fuel was ok, around 10km per litre. Nothing fantastic . Till date only repair bill was $20 to fix a dead fuse in the cigarette charger, everything else worked like a charm. I am puzzled why there are so little Opels on the road as well ...?!

post-156793-0-53082100-1427005583_thumb.jpg

I owned astra years ago...the semi auto gearbox is a piece of junk. Need to lift up your right leg to ease the accelerator to ensure a non jerking Ride ..compare to the dual clutch technology. ..is so dated...not sure they still use that for new car....also...the rear suspension must be lubricated periodically to reduce the. .

Edited by LoverofCar

I also took over a 2012 Astra GTC.

All my family and friends were amazed at the car for the price it cost me.

After my COE dies in 2016, I would probably look for an Astra-J GTC as well.

Love the looks ... Especially after you install the OPC kit .....

post-156793-0-71296100-1427028339_thumb.jpg

After my COE dies in 2016, I would probably look for an Astra-J GTC as well.

Love the looks ... Especially after you install the OPC kit .....

Haha.. that is if you can get hold of OPC kit locally.

They only bring in the manual OPC in SG. Last I heard, left 2 units only.

I owned astra years ago...the semi auto gearbox is a piece of junk. Need to lift up your right leg to ease the accelerator to ensure a non jerking Ride ..compare to the dual clutch technology. ..is so dated...not sure they still use that for new car....also...the rear suspension must be lubricated periodically to reduce the. .

I am driving an auto 6-speed gear. It works like any normal auto gearbox.

I drive a Astra GTC 1.4 ... Happy little engine zips around just fine with 140 horses, but sometimes I do feel that it's not really enough for such a heavy car (same curb weight as a CLA200/BMW 3 Series). Quite efficient for me at 11.8km/l.

Parts are a pain in the ass though, but everything has been fine so far other than changing wear and tear stuff.. brake pads at 25k were really hard to find (AD wanted around 400 for JUST THE FRONT PAIR). Got them from stockist and had my WS fix them up for under 120.

I like the car alot, nice boot, good looks and it's heavy and safe, but I drive extremely conservatively because I am absolutely terrified of any bumps or dents or the such... We all know how long we have to wait for parts with Opel.

It's a unique ride but I wouldn't buy it new, took over from someone who had it barely 8 months and took a nearly 40k hit off market value back then for me. Very bad resale value if you are the first owner guys. Just take note. Car itself as previously mentioned, very very solid.

Was driving Meriva previously but decided change because worried that the gearbox will break down. other than that i like the car

I drive a Astra GTC 1.4 ... Happy little engine zips around just fine with 140 horses, but sometimes I do feel that it's not really enough for such a heavy car (same curb weight as a CLA200/BMW 3 Series). Quite efficient for me at 11.8km/l.

Parts are a pain in the ass though, but everything has been fine so far other than changing wear and tear stuff.. brake pads at 25k were really hard to find (AD wanted around 400 for JUST THE FRONT PAIR). Got them from stockist and had my WS fix them up for under 120.

I like the car alot, nice boot, good looks and it's heavy and safe, but I drive extremely conservatively because I am absolutely terrified of any bumps or dents or the such... We all know how long we have to wait for parts with Opel.

It's a unique ride but I wouldn't buy it new, took over from someone who had it barely 8 months and took a nearly 40k hit off market value back then for me. Very bad resale value if you are the first owner guys. Just take note. Car itself as previously mentioned, very very solid.

Family had the vectra B in 1996. Same issues with parts supply. Crazy prices from the agent. And you are really stuck if it is a major part that breaks and you need to get it back on the road. You will be at their mercy. Which is why no more "unique" cars for me as a family car. I rather go main steam and stick with Hondas and toyotas. The opels then are also similar to the VW now. Reliability sucked.

that was the reason why I bought an Toyota wish, because its common car in Singapore. I actually prefer the zafira, in which I have always dream of owning one.

in Singapore with the prices of car quite difficult to accept car repair that long. can u imaging four months without ur ride plus instalment still in play.

sometimes we love the ride unfortunately in our island doesn't make it visible considering we are driving most expensive cars in the world....

Bro where is CM?

Looking at a used zafira 2006.

May want to check if they do pre sale check.

Thanks

Went to see the Meriva too. My wife was drooling at the yellow Astra GTC in the showroom too! Tempted, but my Astra still has about 4 more years, so have to discipline myself!

Opel owners are a rare breed. However, their loyalty is rewarded with a great drive, and a less common car.

I personally haven't (3 Opels to date) had issues with parts and servicing. There is the current agent, the previous agent, and a no. of Opel specialists like CM etc.

Go for it!

thats y i scared to buy opel...

once upon a time in the 70s, my dad had a opel kadett coupe....

im sure its the same league as anglia, fiat 850, escort, cortina...

but haiz...this is sgp...how to keep tat kind of cars...if $ is an issue...

To be frank, waiting for Opel parts could be a long wait. My Zafira Tourer was sandwiched between a taxi and a car late last year. The front was not too bad but the rear was hit hard and as I didn't think other repair shops could get the parts and do the works well, I decided to let Auto Germany, the distributor of Opel cars, do the repair works. The repair works was actually done by its associate firm First Auto Works. When third party insurance was cleared before Xmas in 2014, I was given a replacement car while Auto Germany ordered the parts for my car and the repairs started. But I have to wait for nearly four months before my car was repaired as the parts such as the bumper and in-built bicycle rack took a long while to arrive from Germany. Not sure, why the parts took so long to come. Anyway, just sharing my experience with the rest of the Opel drivers in Singapore. Cheers.

Which workshop you opel owners frequent ?

I recently took over an Astra-H GTC from a director uncle, must really say I am inpressed at the build quality of Opel. My colleagues were surprised and they are all shocked at the handling and ride of such an old ride. In general fuel was ok, around 10km per litre. Nothing fantastic . Till date only repair bill was $20 to fix a dead fuse in the cigarette charger, everything else worked like a charm. I am puzzled why there are so little Opels on the road as well ...?!

I thought brake pads are standards? Why are they hard to find?

Which workshop you opel owners frequent ?

No specific shops to go to. I went for one at Ubi Road 3, the mechanic helps me with everything. Ordered a pair of new headlights from ebay.co.uk and ship to Singapore. Going to install soon once it arrives. Anyway my headlight is not spoilt, was wanna change new ones to look better and look new

Cost of parts : $289 . Shipping $120

Labour $80 to install.

(Local agent say no stock, need to wait 3 months, cost $1200. Siao !!!!!!!!!)

I find it strange when people starts to complain when there is a long wait for local parts. There is this thing call Google , Ebay and all you need is to use your brain to make it work. Try searching for Vauxhall Astra H instead of Opel Astra and you get tonnes of parts to import and get your mechanic to install. HELLO not everything you need to go through agents or ask workshop to sell you. Unless you driving toyota or nissan lah. I remember the days when we import our own cars from Japan, (JDM) . Go LTA fill up import papers, call Japan, arrange shipping, go Pandan and collect car. Dont need agent to do that. I am one of the proud owners of 17 Nissan Silvia S15 back in 2001. 7 of them were imported by ourselves. SO stop KPKB say no parts. Cry cry cry. Go research a bit and get things done.