Will u buy Diesel or Petrol Cars in SG

Darky8888

43 minutes ago, Dannnn said:

I am considered a low mileage user, i chose the diesel version because i prefer the driving feel, in SG.

its only when im at NSHW ill prefer a petrol but per yr only that few times i'll be travelling in Msia.

so ultimately ill still take diesel in SG for the driving feel(Torque) . Mileage only average 12k or so per yr.

12k annual mileage you wanna try diesel?

Diesel has a lot more loose ends than petrol and you won't save much $$ on fuel

Short moment of bliss, then a lot more pain waiting

Similar to marrying wrong gal

2 hours ago, Shoebox said:

Earlier this year, I seriously considered and almost bought a german diesel car.

But in the end i did not, because of these three words: diesel particulate filter.

Actually the DPF can be removed at a workshop (similar to decat) which will remove the hassle of blocked filter. This will fail inspection though so need to reinstall for inspection periods. 

Edited by Ceecookie

1 hour ago, t0y0ta said:

12k annual mileage you wanna try diesel?

Diesel has a lot more loose ends than petrol and you won't save much $$ on fuel

Short moment of bliss, then a lot more pain waiting

Similar to marrying wrong gal

It's not about the mileage, its about the trip. if travel only 8km per day city, then of cos diesel is a headache. but if one way of 18k km mostly highway, it shld clear the DPF.

weekend can always take out for a drive from east to west to makan etc. 

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

Wait till you drive twin turbo diesel with 500nm torque.

You might not want to drive petrol on NSHW.

Nowadays, turbo petrol has similar torque feel in the city.

12k km might not enough to breakeven the additional road tax 

Seriously, to me is not about breakeven of the $ (fuel vs roadtax)

its the driving feel that gave you. Of cos have tried both petrol vs diesel of the same vehicle, before deciding.

Twin turbo diesel maybe is higher tier car, not within budget. 

just likeTS asking E200 vs E220D , we stick to this comparison . test both and most likely will get the E220D.

and not comparing E300 vs E220D etc. or Even 535i/540i vs E220D.

On 8/1/2020 at 8:45 PM, Shoebox said:

Earlier this year, I seriously considered and almost bought a german diesel car.

But in the end i did not, because of these three words: diesel particulate filter.

Don't think that's is a major issue. During the months of Covit lockdown, my mileage was limited to only home and market.

No issue with dpf getting clogged. 

If one is really concerned, what's the problem of driving round the island once in a month or two to clear it? Diesel is still much cheaper in comparison.

On 8/1/2020 at 11:53 PM, Dannnn said:

It's not about the mileage, its about the trip. if travel only 8km per day city, then of cos diesel is a headache. but if one way of 18k km mostly highway, it shld clear the DPF.

weekend can always take out for a drive from east to west to makan etc. 

Seriously, to me is not about breakeven of the $ (fuel vs roadtax)

its the driving feel that gave you. Of cos have tried both petrol vs diesel of the same vehicle, before deciding.

Twin turbo diesel maybe is higher tier car, not within budget. 

just likeTS asking E200 vs E220D , we stick to this comparison . test both and most likely will get the E220D.

and not comparing E300 vs E220D etc. or Even 535i/540i vs E220D.

One issue is the limited rev band. Going downhill on Cameron highland or Genting using engine brake will be hitting redline very often.

3 minutes ago, Solar said:

One issue is the limited rev band. Going downhill on Cameron highland or Genting using engine brake will be hitting redline very often.

Unless your car has very tok kong suspension, unlikely hit redline.

On 8/1/2020 at 9:54 PM, inlinesix said:

Wait till you drive twin turbo diesel with 500nm torque.

You might not want to drive petrol on NSHW.

Nowadays, turbo petrol has similar torque feel in the city.

12k km might not enough to breakeven the additional road tax 

Mine isn't twin, but is having 430nm with a single turbo.

The torque is indeed shiok 😍

3 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Unless your car has very tok kong suspension, unlikely hit redline.

Not sure about that.. but I do find my car's suspension a little hard.. I did hit the redline and had to step on the brake to complement the engine brake as I went downhill.

I didn't have to do as much when I was driving the Legacy GT.

Last time the company I worked at also had our own diesel tank and pumped for own fleet. Pumped for our contractor's fleet too!  So much cheaper and I don't remember got maintenance issues for the fleet.  Diesel is diesel, unless those white pumps add water for even more profits.

13 hours ago, Hamburger said:

Question is, euro 5 boh? Certified?

No point saving a few dollars and paying thousands for repair later.

My guess  this will be industry diesel.

I see the engine oil for diesel car i sian 1/2 already. 

Its forever black oil.  Even when u just change u start  engine. U check dip strick the oil is black.

Not to mention the issue with dpf  Injector .fuel pump bababa

Just ask why eu is pharsing out diesel  car.

Why no super car use diesel. 

40 minutes ago, Beregond said:

I see the engine oil for diesel car i sian 1/2 already. 

Its forever black oil.  Even when u just change u start  engine. U check dip strick the oil is black.

Not to mention the issue with dpf  Injector .fuel pump bababa

Just ask why eu is pharsing out diesel  car.

Why no super car use diesel. 

OK. This is not supercar.

"BMW X5 M50d review: do you need 395bhp in a diesel SUV? | Top Gear" https://www.topgear.com/car-reviews/bmw/xdrive-m50d-5dr-auto/first-drive?amp

2 minutes ago, Tohto said:

OK. This is not supercar.

"BMW X5 M50d review: do you need 395bhp in a diesel SUV? | Top Gear" https://www.topgear.com/car-reviews/bmw/xdrive-m50d-5dr-auto/first-drive?amp

Diesel  engine can have very powerful model  also.

Look at all the trucks.  

But does the horses and bulls and their  equal have model that use diesel  engine?

If not why? 

Maintenance?  Smoke? Comfort? 

14 minutes ago, Beregond said:

Diesel  engine can have very powerful model  also.

Look at all the trucks.  

But does the horses and bulls and their  equal have model that use diesel  engine?

If not why? 

Maintenance?  Smoke? Comfort? 

Refinement not there I think. Even if a diesel supercar passes by from behind, you would think it's a truck/taxi! Tek Tek Tek...... 

Must go try out the diesel Alpinas to confirm!

Edited by Volvobrick