Durian Sellers - recommendations and to avoid

Aukang

Was at temporary Ghim Moh market earlier & saw some Q at one of the fruit stall (Ah Seng). People were buying durians vacuum packed.

Bought 3 durians (D24), $8/kg. MSW was selling at $18/kg. When one of the durian wasn't good, without me asking he auto chose another one. Was satisfied with the durian quality, definitely better than my "regular" seller. Next time will try his MSW

Your intention is good, but the bad durain sellers will attack you if they are here.

Thanks for highlighting. I think if the durian sellers are good, they won't be black marked. For those fly by night ones, they wouldn't bother attacking me cos they are out to earm $ quickly. These are the ones to avoid. This year, I didn't come across any bad ones, just those who sell mediocre durians at the same price as good stalls ie. Msw at $15/kg...high price but not really out to cheat cos its really msw but poorer quality...like one stall in central amk near amk hub.

This year, I found two solid tok kong sellers that sell quality durians. One is Durian Lingers along Bukit Timah road and the other is The Durian Tree at blk 278 bukit batok. These are strongly recommended.

Edited by Aukang

Avoid the Durian Stall AT REDHILL MARKET outside the 7mth incence shop. sold fake MSW at 15 per kg. go back home try its fake not sweet, unripe and even big seeds where MSW have small flat seeds

Durian season has started again.

Ytd dropped by ah seng for msw. $18/kg. Good price for start of season.

December still have MSW? [inlove]

How is the quality?

I thought those from July/August had better quality..

How is the quality?

I thought those from July/August had better quality..

yah think summer ones are better. 

But saw newspaper 2 weeks ago on MSW price shoot up to $50/kg, duno due to what?

Seriously?!

But i havent seen any durians so far, is it only msw or got other species?

How's the queue?

I used to patronise ah seng before he got so popular - just drop by and collect, don't even need to park the car.

These days gotta queue 30-60 minutes even after placing an order.

Sian.

Seriously?!

But i havent seen any durians so far, is it only msw or got other species?

Go facebook and search for ah seng or any other durian seller. These days they are all it savvy.

I also when i saw durians sold out the NYUC in Bedok central. Quite good quality.

jus had some guy knock on my door last nite n asked if i want some durians. didnt even know it's durian season.

下周进入旺季 可吃到便宜好榴梿
07/12/2015 on 新明日报
By 林礼颖

SM_07_12_2015_CJ_1_30202220_30198245_woo

受国人喜爱的猫山王在下个星期大约会卖15元一公斤。(摄影:吴承沄)

榴梿再度进入旺季,下星期国人将吃到便宜好榴梿,但有摊贩指需求量的竞争激烈,价格相信不会比6月份来得低。

摊贩陈勇祥(30岁,经理)受访时表示,12月份是榴梿旺季,这一、两个星期内榴梿的产量会增加,顾客将可买到又便宜又好吃的榴梿。

他说,目前远近闻名的猫山王价格是18元一公斤,而D24榴梿则卖12元一公斤。下个星期价格将会有所调低,猫山王大约卖15元一公斤,D24则可能是8元一公斤。

完整报道,请翻阅07.12.2015《新明日报》。

durian season starting soon?!

durians from Penang, Pahang, Muar, Pagoh etc are already available. I just had some from Muar and Pagoh last weekend. durians from Machap and Tangkak will be available from July onward. it's a hit and miss for quality durians at the moment. i reckon the quality will start to peak after the first week of July.

Ah seng have grown too big and too popular to ensure the proper QC liao , Last time , he was the one to open and grade the durians , now all done by his workers liao , so standard drop liao lor ... 

He does give you discount if you feedback to him but its for the next visit lor ....