Durian Sellers - recommendations and to avoid

Aukang

2 minutes ago, Enye said:

err... you rich towkay can afford

i peasant bo lui suck thumb 

😅

Nope... I cut down and spent a lot less this year.  Getting old, can't eat much anyway. This stuff is so darn hard to digest, so full of sugar but taste so bloody good. 😂

I am no towkay lah, i am just paying up to buy some happiness during this depressing period.😄

38 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

Yah, Sld have gone to TDT. 

Actually prices at TDT very reasonable, is the long queue that make me lazy to go there. So far they never fail me. 

Haiz, KNN, now have to make a new trip to TDT liao....<_<[laugh][laugh]

Yes, their pricing is at least 30-40% cheaper than many good name sellers. i am tempted to try it out but very far from my place. 

How is their D24 and MSW?  

22 minutes ago, Enye said:

wah ... thank you bff

10kg... you pay then put my name then i go takeaway 

i accompany you run 10km virtual run to burn off the calories in return for your kindness 

🤣

roger roger!!! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

19 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Yes, their pricing is at least 30-40% cheaper than many good name sellers. i am tempted to try it out but very far from my place. 

How is their D24 and MSW?  

be warn of the queue. ordering long queue, packing also long queue, is like here queue there queue. 

That day the staffs were saying so far got more than 10 ppl kena summon for social distancing there liao..[:/]

MSW is okok, normal, but mayb because last season I ate alot of cheap orh kim, so not fair to compare. 

Their D24 good, the last lot I gotten from them was alot better than what I just bought. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

this pics from a couple of weeks ago.

Happened to walk past this store so took a quick look. Initially curious as the other stores in the immediate vicinity all sold out/no stock but this one had quite a decent amount on display, as well as a table of prepacked ones.

front view

front.thumb.jpeg.69178e14eba7e0f97b9973f925efb36d.jpeg

back view

back.thumb.jpeg.2165d88abe2097ce5476ee30ba9d7a1d.jpeg

needless to say, I didn't buy any  [rolleyes]

• Shocked 2

Last night's free durians n shepherd's pie. 😋😋😋

3 boxes Black Gold and 1 Red Prawn.

IMG-20200710-WA0036.thumb.jpg.f720307be1fea96aed56544d28533901.jpg

IMG-20200711-WA0011.thumb.jpg.e9401748ef8304fdd3bb2907e86019d1.jpg

IMG-20200711-WA0010.jpg

BG were v good n bitter. Red Prawn was sweetish with tinge of bitterness. Flesh not as gao.

Stay safe all 

Edited by PSP415

3 hours ago, PSP415 said:

IMG-20200711-WA0010.jpg

BG were v good n bitter. Red Prawn was sweetish with tinge of bitterness. Flesh not as gao.

Stay safe all 

I see that this is a small consolation since psp didn't manage to get into parliament 

8 hours ago, PSP415 said:

IMG-20200711-WA0010.jpg

Stay safe all 

so good omg

After the failed ah lian yesterday,  this evening lanlan drove to TDT.  Reached there about 6pm,  and as usual long queue.  

Wanted to buy a mixture of D24, D1 and D88 to try,  but they were only left with msw,  orh Kim and D24. So took 3 x D24, total 7kg.  

100 times more value and taste 100 times better than the fat white ah lians yesterday. My OC and my son both gives thumb up!!!!  西北苦!!!!

Maybe now is peak season for D24 at TDT,  almost everyday also have,  and stocks very healthy.  Can buy.  

First time I make use of their vacuum pack.  Nice,  no smell in the car.... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

rps20200711_215145.jpg.1c517af36237b3d02b174c4a1501cca5.jpg

rps20200711_215324.jpg.929c2e142cab23fa0e47eadfc005f144.jpg

Today one incident at TDT made me decided to go back to them for my ah lian fix from now on.  Not just for the great products, but also for the human in them.  

There was this pregnant lady and her husband queuing behind me which I did not notice.  Suddenly I heard one of the staff explaining to her what products they have and what she may try,  and how much she sld buy for the 2 of them. He did not over sell,  and he made it clearly to her that he doesn't want to over sell her. 

After that he told her to skip the queue,  go to the side while  he went to prepare her order, packed, and took the boxes to her before collecting her money. 

Such human behaviour,  made the demon heart soft also...  

Yes,  the different between ordinary and extraordinary,  is just that little extra....  [thumbsup][laugh][laugh]

Bot Sultan D24 (XO) from 99 Old Trees after dinner. At $38 per box of approx 700g. 

Bitter n gao gao this one but not same bitterness taste level as MSW and S17.

Got gian but they no stock of either so XO it is.

😋😋😋 

Ate 3 seeds then remembered to take photo.

20200713_001628.thumb.jpg.cad662b5c40166bb5a446707b5aa8dd1.jpg

20200712_210226.thumb.jpg.d97ffc9baf417c3d92ddb1df78afa696.jpg

Was told durian season peak in August so more stocks n prices will be cheaper. I shall see then😅.

Take care and stay safe

MSW @$18/kg from Blk 25A Chai Chee Road (Soon Guo). 8.5 out of 10 (bitter sweet, thin husk) 

JvFuuZG.jpg

More towards bitter in taste (best taste among the 2), big seeds. 

sea559k.jpg

Bitter sweet, very thin husk and small seeds (super high yield) 

G7JIVfV.jpg

Total close to 1.5kg of meat (53% meat 47% husk & seeds), much higher than average of 30 - 40% meat!! [thumbsup]

Owp398t.jpg

• Praise 18

31 minutes ago, Carbon82 said:

MSW @$18/kg from Blk 25A Chai Chee Road (Soon Guo). 8.5 out of 10 (bitter sweet, thin husk) 

JvFuuZG.jpg

More towards bitter in taste (best taste among the 2), big seeds. 

sea559k.jpg

Bitter sweet, very thin husk and small seeds (super high yield) 

G7JIVfV.jpg

Total close to 1.5kg of meat (53% meat 47% husk & seeds), much higher than average of 30 - 40% meat!! [thumbsup]

Owp398t.jpg

Usual yield of 25-35% quoted is inclusive of seeds. This is super high yield. Did you pick yourself or you ask for thin husk or it is just luck? 

35 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Usual yield of 25-35% quoted is inclusive of seeds. This is super high yield. Did you pick yourself or you ask for thin husk or it is just luck? 

The seller choose for me. I guess I am super lucky yesterday, every compartment is fully packed with meaty pod. So far the best I had was close to 40% meat (I will occasionally weigh the husk + seeds to work out the yield)

PXYvRuA.jpg

From my past experience, small rounded durain has better yield than large and/or oddly shaped one. Thick or thin husk, large or small seed, it is depending on luck as I have not observed a particular pattern yet.

• Praise 11