Durian Sellers - recommendations and to avoid

Aukang

On 10/7/2020 at 10:07 PM, Fcw75 said:

I didn’t even know durians still in season.

Haha, that is a good thing. Won't crave!😁

Durians durian & more durians, the one and only season of the time whereby MSW lovers will troop up north peninsula , with or no strawberry jam, here we cannot come le . . .:D

Was at Clementi Central.

Bought 2 small durians at $5 each.

Quite sticky and slight bitterness with pale yellow flesh.

20210321_202856.jpg

16163305081907775525540300042038.jpg

Edited by Brass

This time, I appeared at Shanmugam's constituency.

Bought one durian at $7 after bargaining (some stall called Benut Tan Brothers). It was 3 durians for 20, but the others were pretty rubbish to say, so I was adamant on only buying this durian.

Quite meaty for 1 durian though admittably not all parts were ripened to perfection (some parts sweet and some bitter) and seed size is totally the opposite of the 2 durians I ate last week.

Enjoy!

20210326_234617.jpg

16167741038052157699700716527235.jpg

16167741653478514683200213162727.jpg

Lai lai lai, hearsay season going to be over liao. Who got east side (Tampines) lobang? Been very shag to keep going to west/central to buy good durian.. 

Edited by Se3h3ng

Fall to temptation and brought these 2 for $92 ($21/kg). One time enough liao... 

This smaller one is good, dry and bitter with strong after taste, but only 10 seeds (not small seed type) 

wZwA8oi.jpg

ksekk9N.jpg

The larger one is lousy, wasted my $$$. Meat is not fully ripen for some, and tough for others. Taste is barely 50% of the other one. Total about 16 - 18 seeds at most. 

SR4ACQ9.jpg

WQDnmdX.jpg

• Praise 12
  • Sad 2

MSW above 2.5 kg I abit hesistant to buy.. Past experience is the chance of uneven ripeness is quite high..

32 minutes ago, Ender said:

MSW above 2.5 kg I abit hesistant to buy.. Past experience is the chance of uneven ripeness is quite high..

Somehow I like those about 1-1.5kg ones...  [thumbsup][laugh][laugh]

3 hours ago, Tianmo said:

Somehow I like those about 1-1.5kg ones...  [thumbsup][laugh][laugh]

Same same.🤣

On 4/5/2021 at 9:28 AM, Carbon82 said:

Fall to temptation and brought these 2 for $92 ($21/kg). One time enough liao... 

This smaller one is good, dry and bitter with strong after taste, but only 10 seeds (not small seed type) 

wZwA8oi.jpg

ksekk9N.jpg

The larger one is lousy, wasted my $$$. Meat is not fully ripen for some, and tough for others. Taste is barely 50% of the other one. Total about 16 - 18 seeds at most. 

SR4ACQ9.jpg

WQDnmdX.jpg

wah boss... not bao jiak meh?

😬😅

Penang durian season is starting .. a bit early this year. Unfortunately it coincides with their lockdown for the first two weeks of June (which is likely to extend)

some are starting to send packed fruit to KL due to the ban in interstate travel.

On ‎5‎/‎31‎/‎2021 at 6:02 PM, Shibadog said:

Penang durian season is starting .. a bit early this year. Unfortunately it coincides with their lockdown for the first two weeks of June (which is likely to extend)

some are starting to send packed fruit to KL due to the ban in interstate travel.

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2021/06/02/a-thorny-problem-durian-orchard-owners-fear-oversupply/

<quote>

A thorny problem – durian orchard owners fear oversupply

GEORGE TOWN: Between June and August each year, durian orchard owners in Balik Pulau near here would rake in huge profits, thanks to the fans of the king of fruits who travel far and wide to get their hands on the best durians on sale.

However, following the implementation of the nationwide total lockdown starting yesterday, these orchard owners now face huge losses and an oversupply of the fruits if they cannot find ways to market them widely.

Shamsol Abdul Aziz, 34, who owns a 1.6ha durian orchard in Sungai Pinang, said he had invested more than RM120,000 on quality fertilisers and care for his durian trees last year, hoping for a better yield this season, adding that he was not alone because most orchard owners had invested large amounts on the maintenance of their durian trees.

He said the investment might increase the yield of his orchard up to 17 tonnes this year compared with 11 tonnes last year.

“However, due to the implementation of the total lockdown, I may face a loss of RM80,000,” he said today.

Before the movement restrictions, durians from his orchard would be marketed in nearly every state in Peninsular Malaysia, especially in Kuala Lumpur.

Shamsol, who has been in the business for 10 years, said durian traders had faced the same problem last year due to the enforcement of the movement control order that forced them to use various platforms, especially online, to ensure the fruits could be sold but they had not anticipated that the situation would be more critical this year.

He said sales on the Jom Beli Online platform introduced by the Penang Island City Council were not as brisk compared to offline sales.

Fellow trader Siti Hallimaton Ayob, 50, said she and her husband were forced to carry the fruits from their orchard to Sungai Dua as demand is higher there, adding that due to the 10km movement restriction, durian lovers could not buy the fruits directly from orchard owners in Balik Pulau.

This could lead to an oversupply of durians in the next two weeks, she said.

“I am grateful to the government for allowing traders to operate, but we have to resort to various ways to promote the durians, including making online sales and hiring delivery riders to send the fruits to buyers,” she said.

<unquote>

however, my friend in Penang says Penang durian prices did not go down last year and don't seem to be going down this year either.

9 hours ago, Shibadog said:

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2021/06/02/a-thorny-problem-durian-orchard-owners-fear-oversupply/

<quote>

A thorny problem – durian orchard owners fear oversupply

GEORGE TOWN: Between June and August each year, durian orchard owners in Balik Pulau near here would rake in huge profits, thanks to the fans of the king of fruits who travel far and wide to get their hands on the best durians on sale.

However, following the implementation of the nationwide total lockdown starting yesterday, these orchard owners now face huge losses and an oversupply of the fruits if they cannot find ways to market them widely.

Shamsol Abdul Aziz, 34, who owns a 1.6ha durian orchard in Sungai Pinang, said he had invested more than RM120,000 on quality fertilisers and care for his durian trees last year, hoping for a better yield this season, adding that he was not alone because most orchard owners had invested large amounts on the maintenance of their durian trees.

He said the investment might increase the yield of his orchard up to 17 tonnes this year compared with 11 tonnes last year.

“However, due to the implementation of the total lockdown, I may face a loss of RM80,000,” he said today.

Before the movement restrictions, durians from his orchard would be marketed in nearly every state in Peninsular Malaysia, especially in Kuala Lumpur.

Shamsol, who has been in the business for 10 years, said durian traders had faced the same problem last year due to the enforcement of the movement control order that forced them to use various platforms, especially online, to ensure the fruits could be sold but they had not anticipated that the situation would be more critical this year.

He said sales on the Jom Beli Online platform introduced by the Penang Island City Council were not as brisk compared to offline sales.

Fellow trader Siti Hallimaton Ayob, 50, said she and her husband were forced to carry the fruits from their orchard to Sungai Dua as demand is higher there, adding that due to the 10km movement restriction, durian lovers could not buy the fruits directly from orchard owners in Balik Pulau.

This could lead to an oversupply of durians in the next two weeks, she said.

“I am grateful to the government for allowing traders to operate, but we have to resort to various ways to promote the durians, including making online sales and hiring delivery riders to send the fruits to buyers,” she said.

<unquote>

however, my friend in Penang says Penang durian prices did not go down last year and don't seem to be going down this year either.

I was told it is oversupply due to lockdown, maybe that is why some of the Penang’s hor lo and red prawn are getting to SG.

Anyone tried? 

I would think those doing groupbuy on durians and those durian shops in Singapore would benefit from this situation. I would ask my wife to ask contacting her durian contacts in Malaysia about durian prices.

But to share do ensure there is no hanky panky about the deals as our TP would follow some of the Malaysia lorries to make sure they drop their goods at designated location and go back North directly after that. Just last few day a Malaysian driver delivering some items for my wife kept talking about police from custom till our house, then we realised that the lorry was escorted by a TP. Really on the ball.

41 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

I was told it is oversupply due to lockdown, maybe that is why some of the Penang’s hor lo and red prawn are getting to SG.

Anyone tried? 

I saw at least two sellers here advertise Penang durian but hv yet to try. Not sure how the durian takes to the long journey but I may try it in one or two weeks when the peak comes. Am aiming for a couple of my favourite Penang varieties [inlove]

btw i noticed some so-called "penang red prawn" is actually D175 from johor. They just want to differentiate it from D13 the "fake red prawn". This was abt one or two months ago during Johor season. Before Penang season started.