Durian Sellers - recommendations and to avoid

Aukang

Pasir Ris near kopi Thiam durian stall what time arrive huh? 

See bro Carbon82 pix also buay tahan

This season is heaven for ppl who eat but not die-hard durian fans. Can walk away one.

Last week i go nearby fruit shop which sell durians. Near closing time still got sturofoam trays of durians on the table. I kaypoh and the seller looked quite desperate. From $18/pack i say too ex, and when i walk away he offer buy 1 get one.  But risky lah... these are obviously leftovers.  And you might also get slashed for lowballing :D

FR at Pasir Ris AC kopi Thiam stall. 

Wanna buy msw at 22/kg  but observed the seller unwilling to let me taste. Nevertheless I poked my finger in and tried some. 

IT'S NOT MSW!! I 

End up I bought XO that were super watery. Not going back anymore. 

Edited by Hamburger
  • Sad 5

There are at least 5 places selling ah lian at Pasir Ris wet market area. First one is the fruit shop opposite Kimly coffee shop. second is the stall next to the air-con coffee shop. third is the shop near Giant. 4th is beside the TT check-in entrance, and 5th is the fruit shop in the middle of the row of market stalls. 4th and 5th are small scale. 

4th stall selling by per fruit basis, ranging from big,  medium and small at $20, $15 and $12 each. They look fresh.

Wah didn't know so many people asking about the Pasir Ris durian stall at 443.

As shared by @Fitvip, there are several durian stalls at Blk 443, but these are the 2 I have tried (there is another one at Blk 440 but stock are sometime quite limited).

rGWs9Tf.png

Stall #1 which is located directly next to carpark entrance (I bought mine from them last night) is smaller and have lesser stock, but quality are quite consistent. Price are almost the same as the other stall, but the boss is damn ngiao, they will round up to the nearest dollar than rounding down. 

Stall #2 which is located next to the lift lobby area have piles of durian and of different species, price can be cheaper sometime, but quality is also a little inconsistent. Almost bought from them last night, but when I stand there observing the fruit brought by others, some of the JB MSW has very thick husk and not too many seeds, thus pop over to stall #1.

For those who want to make a trip there, the Pahang durian would arrive after 7 - 8pm (I was there at 8pm+ and the delivery workers were still unloading the durian from the lorry. Stick for those JB durian would come in much earlier, usually after lunch till about 3pm thereabout.

Do check out the other one at Blk 440, quality and price are both quiet ok. I found these photos from google.

kong-lee-hup-trading.jpg

8DmEa1A.jpg

• Praise 13

On 7/4/2021 at 9:47 PM, Heartlander said:

I have been buying in bulk from Pahang. Standard practice to use rubber bands to tie the durians, does not mean tie is open mouth already.

If buy in bulk, that is nothing compare to other worries. You pay less for better quality, but there is no guarantee on quality though most of the time they are good. The plantation owners also not going to replace unless the durians really bad like rotten or got worm, which I finally encountered few days ago. These type they will replace but watery type no luck, which more common near season closing. And Pahang standard for MSW is grade A and B only, difference in size of 1.5kg. From my experience, no point paying more for grade A as taste wise both are the same, only bigger or smaller seeds. And bigger durians got higher chance to be bad while smaller durians generally mostly ok.

Very useful info Bro

How to choose small seeds one?

The bigger seed ones best to eat immediately, keep in fridge for a few days the flesh will harden 

Good durian at amk. Grade A $22 per kf

reserved and picked up at 7pm. No queue 

$98. Seems to be more expensive.

5CB53763-6B97-42F5-903E-D54F7DCC580B.jpeg

• Praise 12

3 hours ago, Wind30 said:

5CB53763-6B97-42F5-903E-D54F7DCC580B.jpeg

Look like a lot of small seed.

11 minutes ago, Tohto said:

Look like a lot of small seed.

my wife and in laws loved it. I thought one fruit was really good but one fruit was slightly watery. But definitely not bad and can eat. 

Durian that are slightly more watery = more powerderful smell=pungent if some may say. 

Those dry dry kam pao type, less pungent hence less shiok to eat. 

I was at penang durian plantation and tried those fresh and super kum pao type. Not impressed.

Felt like eating bread. 

5 hours ago, Hamburger said:

Durian that are slightly more watery = more powerderful smell=pungent if some may say. 

Those dry dry kam pao type, less pungent hence less shiok to eat. 

I was at penang durian plantation and tried those fresh and super kum pao type. Not impressed.

Felt like eating bread. 

yes the plantation areas are usually very freshly dropped. Some Malaysians seem to like that thick dry sticky type, although its less "fermented"? 

i was discussing this with a seller in Raub and he told me i should ask for overnight durian 😆 he then picked me a MSW that was wetter (dropped earlier) and perfect for me. 

Chong pang. Recommended the RP king from pahang. 12/kg. 

The one on the right is very good. This season have not gone back to TDT..since quality were decent at other stalls at lower price.😄PXL_20210706_112725024.thumb.jpg.587e0191618f55a110ee6738b383651f.jpg

• Praise 14

11 hours ago, Wind30 said:

Thought Pahang MSW will be about that price range...

the $22/kg is already price down as compare to few days ago price of $24/kg.

hopefully can down some more as the it goes😆

1 minute ago, Credor said:

Thought Pahang MSW will be about that price range...

the $22/kg is already price down as compare to few days ago price of $24/kg.

hopefully can down some more as the it goes😆

I guess only way is to have Malaysia continue their lockdown 

Blk 443 Pasir Ris Dr 6. Uncle told me XO Durians very bitter, fleshy and small seeds this round. Ask me try then next time try the MSWs. 

Bought 3 at $15/kg (Total 4kg/$60).

XO 

20210706_213656_resize_54.jpg.5411d08f824bfbc31b2612f015e8fe32.jpg

20210706_213649_resize_69.jpg.6a6fdbe86166beb02b3ba93fd18ac1dc.jpg

Got half a husk later use to drink with some salt water. JPEG_20210706_220256_resize_36.jpg.a82a8987691dc23e09dd0a68a4f20dae.jpg

20210706_210415_resize_62.jpg.18239d091fe3c6e0cecea11e075c18b2.jpg

20210706_210654_resize_37.thumb.jpg.f5bc678077f0abafe13c36449cda7e8e.jpg

Verdict : 👍👍👍👍👍. Love the bitterness, fleshy and creamy taste. MSWs next time🤭😋

This stall - 

20210706_210404_resize_25.jpg.426e257a80892d795e93a7b4a3126462.jpg

Lots of durians 

20210706_210141_resize_24.jpg.969173b315de3b52f33602cdb1e514f0.jpg

20210706_211144_resize_30.jpg.a7b2b747c0dfe73fd8eae4e8143f57c6.jpg

20210706_211130_resize_99.thumb.jpg.f4aab93163e2a1a553b32a535438116f.jpg

20210706_210708_resize_33.thumb.jpg.823494bd25411e4f77d3d9f17780c596.jpg

20210706_211805_resize_31.jpg.615592a60fb54a69ff288d6de693eea5.jpg

Stay safe all 

• Praise 14

17 minutes ago, PSP415 said:

Blk 443 Pasir Ris Dr 6. Uncle told me XO Durians very bitter, fleshy and small seeds this round. Ask me try then next time try the MSWs. 

XO 

Got half a husk later use to drink with some salt water. JPEG_20210706_220256_resize_36.jpg.a82a8987691dc23e09dd0a68a4f20dae.jpg

Stay safe all 

the durians look really good, but why the half husk inside so dirty? 

Just now, Shibadog said:

the durians look really good, but why the half husk inside so dirty? 

Uncle been opening n packing durians for customers and his woollen gloves came into contact with the various husks. Hence, you get the dirty look, I mean "deposits" here 😅

51 minutes ago, PSP415 said:

XO 

20210706_210415_resize_62.jpg.18239d091fe3c6e0cecea11e075c18b2.jpg

20210706_210654_resize_37.thumb.jpg.f5bc678077f0abafe13c36449cda7e8e.jpg

Verdict : 👍👍👍👍👍. Love the bitterness, fleshy and creamy taste. MSWs next time🤭😋

This stall - 

20210706_210404_resize_25.jpg.426e257a80892d795e93a7b4a3126462.jpg

Lots of durians 

20210706_210141_resize_24.jpg.969173b315de3b52f33602cdb1e514f0.jpg

20210706_211144_resize_30.jpg.a7b2b747c0dfe73fd8eae4e8143f57c6.jpg

20210706_211130_resize_99.thumb.jpg.f4aab93163e2a1a553b32a535438116f.jpg

20210706_210708_resize_33.thumb.jpg.823494bd25411e4f77d3d9f17780c596.jpg

20210706_211805_resize_31.jpg.615592a60fb54a69ff288d6de693eea5.jpg

Stay safe all