Durian Sellers - recommendations and to avoid

Aukang

Too many durian snobs around, imo.

OK I can tell Red Prawn which I quite like but really the taste of the rest varies within the species some good some bad, so how to tell between species.

It's like wine you really have to drink a lot to have any idea. And I mean a lot and most of the experts spit out wine when tasting.

With durian the taste is not so easy to get out of mouth so how to do a proper comparative tasting.

Kampong durians are fine.

And then S$24 per kilo.

Dam stupid.

How much per kilo if just considering the flesh.

Well over a couple of hundred S$per kilo I'd guess.

my dad or in laws will sometimes buy from MY kampong stalls.. bring back to SG. v nice actually liao. thick flesh, small seeds and bitter. Price is only like RM5-8 per kg

hmmmm......... you also like 'wild' ... [sly]

yup.... kampong ones natural and wild .... [laugh]

kampong 'chicks' are wild and natural too...... [laugh][laugh]

my friend house at Serangoon Garden planted a durian tree in the garden.

Durian tree is about 2 storey high. About 15-20yrs old.

Taseted before. Not bad. Edible.

This thread makes me crave for durian. how about a durian meet at geylang ? most central place and paring is in abundance.

With Tiko Ranger here..... be careful when you recommend Geylang..... they have other things in mind..... [laugh][:p]

my friend house at Serangoon Garden planted a durian tree in the garden.

Durian tree is about 2 storey high. About 15-20yrs old.

Taseted before. Not bad. Edible.

Serangoon Garden Way? i ever saw an old house there with a large durian tree many years back. it's no longer there though.

wah. good price. [laugh]

Wat are u waiting for?

But I think your wife now under confinement cannot eat.

Sekali she show u :angry: :angry: when u buy home! Haha...

Visited many places for durian.

The places I recommended are

- Ghim Moh market... seller store named Ah Seng

- Balestier road, next to Rocca Balestier. store named Air Force or 空军

cheap and reliable...

Go... Go... Go!!!!

Anyway, not too far from your place...

Btw, when's bb due?

yeah lor.. near near.

baby due in mid Sept.

can i sit and eat there? got kampong chicks to bio or not? [laugh] or i can only pack home?

oh... i love to listen to their squawks.... [laugh]

In kampong, don't need alarm clock in the morning, just listen to your neighbour if he is a market stall hawker or school bus driver.... [sly]

He will make one round with the wife squawks loudly before setting off to work ... [:p]

Edited by Picnic06

yeah lor.. near near.

baby due in mid Sept.

can i sit and eat there? got kampong chicks to bio or not? [laugh] or i can only pack home?

The stall got no place to sit. But as its juz next to a kopitiam, I have sat there

and eat with frens before.

No kampong chicks in sight, but as PP is an old estate, can always bio kampong HENS...

Visited many places for durian.

The places I recommended are

- Ghim Moh market... seller store named Ah Seng

- Balestier road, next to Rocca Balestier. store named Air Force or 空军

cheap and reliable...

Yes, Ah Seng in Ghim Moh Market is good. alway crowded especially during week ends, went there last Saturday around 7pm, no more stock available. MSW around $12 ~ 13 / kg, D24 around $6.

The one next to Rocca is called Combat, used to buy from there but quality seem not so consistent now especially those package one.

Toa Payoh Lorong 8, Blk 211, corner fruit stall.

$15/- per head, eat all you can within 1 hour ... [cool]

you mean that lor 8 hawker centre stall ??? the fruit stall next to the car park?? they got $15 per head for 1 hour??