Durian Sellers - recommendations and to avoid

Aukang

On 5/24/2023 at 7:00 PM, Twister said:

Walao... the Bishan Liulian store is just adjacent to CPF building, which is just next to J8... 🤔...

Your wife must be 金枝玉叶,cannot expose to ambient heat... 🤭

Tell me about it...macam made of ice liddat...dont say walk across...we walked towards the mall main entrance only she said let's head back down to basement where it was cooler...😅

On 5/24/2023 at 7:01 PM, Fcw75 said:

Wait in the end only eat 马铃薯片. 😂

On 5/24/2023 at 7:02 PM, TangoCharlie said:

And kakilai and 数绵羊😂😂😂

Foreseeing what's not gonna happen later...I did extra set of simple form of tabata so that I no need to tink too much...can sleep early 😂

Went down to Blk 139 Tampines St 11 earlier to check out durians from Kelvin. 

20230525_203742_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.85624ed6df43c47ce2cb29b8fcec11b7.jpg

20230525_203751_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.c85248fa2a0ba02e0631798f20a3052b.jpg

If you can wait for better quality ones from Pahang Bentong MSWs, good to do so. Likely mid or end June/July harvest. 

Sampled 2 (JB MSWs) under $14/kg section. Their prices range from $10/14/16. 

CMI. Not bitter, durian fragrance and taste very mild. Kelvin says the stocks coming in this month will not be too far from what we sampled. 

Did not buy and did not take photos cos my phone refuse to bother. 😂

When better stocks are here, will share. 

Stay safe all 

Edited by PSP415

On 5/25/2023 at 10:54 PM, PSP415 said:

Went down to Blk 139 Tampines St 11 earlier to check out durians from Kelvin. 

20230525_203742_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.85624ed6df43c47ce2cb29b8fcec11b7.jpg

20230525_203751_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.c85248fa2a0ba02e0631798f20a3052b.jpg

If you can wait for better quality ones from Pahang Bentong MSWs, good to do so. Likely mid or end June/July harvest. 

Sampled 2 (JB MSWs) under $14/kg section. Their prices range from $10/14/16. 

CMI. Not bitter, durian fragrance and taste very mild. Kelvin says the stocks coming in this month will not be too far from what we sampled. 

Did not buy and did not take photos cos my phone refuse to bother. 😂

When better stocks are here, will share. 

Stay safe all 

Wah bro, i went on Wednesday night there aint any durian, went to 824, also bo!!!

In the end went to giant hypermart to buy. $22/kg -.-

bo bian, the craving overwrite my brain…. 

• Shocked 2

Didn't want to buy any, but got tempted and got 1 D13 for $5 and 1 MSW at $10/kg today @BP ring road.

IMG_20230525_143733.thumb.jpg.540c87d6ed9a40afc997cdad885aaa81.jpgIMG_20230525_143905.thumb.jpg.572b24981a3feb911bad8df72ee3e06a.jpgIMG_20230525_144139.thumb.jpg.35d68367cc4be9866cca3467e94ebb66.jpg

The flesh has a blueish tint to it and it is indeed slightly bitter with a whiff of alcohol.

On the other hand, the MSW leans sweet with a tinge of bitterness but it's seeds are somewhat large and ripeness is patchy.

Being disappointed, no photos are taken.

The D13s has stolen my heart as of now.

• Praise 10

Those Durian sellers keep saying got bumper crop but I don’t think so. It’s because China demand has dropped a lot so they all push here.

China now has their own MSW from Hainan island.

On 5/26/2023 at 10:00 AM, Fcw75 said:

Those Durian sellers keep saying got bumper crop but I don’t think so. It’s because China demand has dropped a lot so they all push here.

China now has their own MSW from Hainan island.

#1 compare the durian harvest volume of Hainan vs Msia import volume to china

#2 compare the quality and price

#3 China people that buy durian to show off will still prefer original Msia durian. 

First round for this season.  2 box for $55.

Black gold.

Buying dinner at amk, next door saw it cannot resist.

20230528_183748_copy_4032x3024.jpg

20230528_183753_copy_4032x3024.jpg

• Praise 17

So far msw so so only probably Johor ones. Need to wait for pahang then will be much better

First buy of the season. 6 MSW for $100. Not by weight.

Not too bad, a few got 8 pods but 1 got 4 big pods only.

IMG_3872.jpeg

IMG_3873.jpeg

IMG_3874.jpeg

Edited by Fcw75
  • Praise 13

Pahang durian in stock for kelvin.. 

$9 for msw and $12 for BG...bought 2 to sample... 

Taste wise slight more rich than JB durian, but if can wait, than I suggest wait till start of June to see if the harvest gets better or not... cheers!! 

20230530_194415.jpg

20230530_194412.jpg

IMG-20230530-WA0046.jpg

Edited by Se3h3ng
  • Praise 14

On 5/30/2023 at 8:32 PM, Se3h3ng said:

Pahang durian in stock for kelvin.. 

$9 for msw and $12 for BG...bought 2 to sample... 

Taste wise slight more rich than JB durian, but if can wait, than I suggest wait till start of June to see if the harvest gets better or not... cheers!! 

20230530_194415.jpg

20230530_194412.jpg

IMG-20230530-WA0046.jpg

Do you know the price for his red prawn? 

On 5/30/2023 at 9:16 PM, mersaylee said:

Do you know the price for his red prawn? 

Pai seh. Didnt really see…. 

Due to some weather situation in Pahang, if buy MSW now will have a a low percentage to ganna unripe durians or durians with black patches. So if buy directly from plantation better take note. The $8 must be from JB as wholesale price already about this level or slightly higher, and the durian sellers here not doing charity work haha.