Durian Sellers - recommendations and to avoid

Aukang

On 6/2/2023 at 12:43 PM, mersaylee said:

Same same with my loot...kns...not even aroma until I thot they were overly well wrapped that my car has no smell...😂

Yeah my experience about 2 weeks ago. Seems like quite a number of unripe or not so great portions even in the same fruit. 
my 550g box from durian prince couldn’t even have one whole fruit inside. Could see him “reject” quite a bit. 
hopefully by next week the MSW quality should improve. 

On 6/3/2023 at 10:01 AM, Mkl22 said:

Yeah my experience about 2 weeks ago. Seems like quite a number of unripe or not so great portions even in the same fruit. 
my 550g box from durian prince couldn’t even have one whole fruit inside. Could see him “reject” quite a bit. 
hopefully by next week the MSW quality should improve. 

I suspect the seller gav me one BG from JB...now then I recall he took one from each end of the rack with nothing in between...when i wanted only Pahang one

Partial ripe means what huh? Outsource to monkey to pluck from the tree? 😅

Edited by mersaylee

On 6/3/2023 at 10:12 AM, mersaylee said:

I suspect the seller gav me one BG from JB...now then I recall he took one from each end of the rack with nothing in between...when i wanted only Pahang one

Partial ripe means what huh? Outsource to monkey to pluck from the tree? 😅

maybe weather causing more partial unripe? Dunno. But I thought mine was a one off cause early in the season by seeing the rest here also experiencing it. Means a huge lot of JB MSW seems to be like that even 2 weeks later. 
hmm. maybe really plucked by Lao Gao! 😂

On 6/3/2023 at 10:24 AM, Mkl22 said:

maybe weather causing more partial unripe? Dunno. But I thought mine was a one off cause early in the season by seeing the rest here also experiencing it. Means a huge lot of JB MSW seems to be like that even 2 weeks later. 
hmm. maybe really plucked by Lao Gao! 😂

I tink they wanted to beat the Pahang ones by pushing them to the market sooner...clear as many as possible since Middle Kingdom doesn't want any more...😂

China demand dropped so all push here liao.

Those durian sellers who bought those gigantic freezing machine to freeze the whole durian really stucked liao.

Edited by Fcw75

About to go searching for ah lian last week. After reading the postings here, i'll wait for another two weeks.

On 6/3/2023 at 11:15 AM, Fcw75 said:

China demand dropped so all push here liao.

Those durian sellers who bought those gigantic freezing machine to freeze the whole durian really stucked liao.

They buying from Thailand and vietnam hence less from Malaysia?

not sure about Vietnamese durians but if they are similar to Thai then no no from me. 
I would have expected the Chinese taste to be a little more demanding. If they can accept Thai durian then I think their durian taste cannot make it. 

On 6/3/2023 at 11:50 AM, Mkl22 said:

They buying from Thailand and vietnam hence less from Malaysia?

not sure about Vietnamese durians but if they are similar to Thai then no no from me. 
I would have expected the Chinese taste to be a little more demanding. If they can accept Thai durian then I think their durian taste cannot make it. 

You must have missed the report.

They have been growing MSW at Hainan island and in time to come, they will be self sufficient. They will never let other countries earn forever. Their soil and weather won’t lose to Malaysia one.

And probably those huge machine are made In China and those China importers asked those Malaysia plantation owners to buy. 😁

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/first-harvest-of-chinese-durians-to-hit-the-market-in-june

Edited by Fcw75

On 6/3/2023 at 11:59 AM, Fcw75 said:

They have been growing MSW at Hainan island and in time to come, they will be self sufficient. They will never let other countries earn forever. Their soil and weather won’t lose to Malaysia one.

And probably those huge machine are made In China and those China importers asked those Malaysia plantation owners to buy. 😁

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/first-harvest-of-chinese-durians-to-hit-the-market-in-june

Ok. But read that Thailand is supplying about 95% value and volume. 
then I rest my case. Good that the tiongs like to eat that variety. 

On 6/3/2023 at 12:10 PM, Mkl22 said:

They haven’t tasted the real deal…haha. 

Remembered long long time ago, Thailand 金枕头 was the premium? Now it’s MSW. 😁

Edited by Fcw75

On 6/3/2023 at 12:10 PM, Mkl22 said:

Thailand was the 1st mover.

There could be a lot of Msia MSW disguised as Thai Durian

On 6/3/2023 at 11:59 AM, Fcw75 said:

For MSW, grafting technique is the most ingredient.

A lot of sifu will not teach ppl about it.

On 6/3/2023 at 12:12 PM, Fcw75 said:

They haven’t tasted the real deal…haha. 

Remembered long long time ago, Thailand 金枕头 was the premium? Now it’s MSW. 😁

I only know this type of jin ho jiak golden pillow...😁

golden-pillow-933-curry-pillow-buns-768x959.jpg

On 6/3/2023 at 12:36 PM, mersaylee said:

I only know this type of jin ho jiak golden pillow...😁

golden-pillow-933-curry-pillow-buns-768x959.jpg

This one really jin Ho jiak. Long time no eat. 😁

But how come the one in the photo is vegetarian?

Edited by Fcw75

On 6/3/2023 at 12:38 PM, Fcw75 said:

This one really jin Ho jiak. Long time no eat. 😁

But how come the one in the photo is vegetarian?

Healthier choice...for people like 13177...😁

On 6/3/2023 at 9:12 PM, mersaylee said:

Pahang's? Ho jiak boh? 😁

nice. seller say its Pahang wor.

now my car durian smell.