Front lower arm and suspension questions

Lengendcf

Do you intend to renew COE ? 

If not the best bet would be just leave it alone if you can tahan the clunking noise ? Does it feel your whole car gonna fall apart ?  [laugh]

I doubt there are any suspension specialists ... To be fair to them, mechanical troubleshooting is not easy. The thing is, it is very hard for them to troubleshoot if the damage/fault is not obvious. For eg, I ever encountered a soft thud sound when going over hump on my front right side. I went to 2 workshops and the mechanics took a ride with me but cannot detect it. But once I leave the place, I can feel it. 

ok, as for your 3 merchants

1. I hope its not Elite at Sin Ming you are referring to. If not, go to them if you want a 2nd opinion. They call themselves Driveshafts Specialist. 

2. ok mah at least he didn't anyhow say what went wrong  ^_^ Noise at the wheel usually points to tie rod end and lower arm busg. 

If you dun mind going to the East, I PM you my usual wkshop. 

Suspension use gao gao 9 years already what are you expecting? Of course it's going to be some major surgery. If someone bring something to you that's going to expire to fix you will also not show any enthusiasm, it's a natural reaction. You will want to focus on things that's  worth your time.

Sorry to bring up old post.

Regular mechanic told me to change front lower arm, I guess the whole thing and not just the bushings.

Also told me to change front linkage and front anti-roll bar bushing. Do you guys change it too?

Thanks.

Noise? Vibration?

Can change arm bushings but the expensive Singapore labour to push out the old one and push in the new one may end up same as the entire arm.

Regular mechanic told me to change front lower arm, I guess the whole thing and not just the bushings.

Also told me to change front linkage and front anti-roll bar bushing. Do you guys change it too?

Thanks.

Noise? Vibration?

Can change arm bushings but the expensive Singapore labour to push out the old one and push in the new one may end up same as the entire arm.

Both also have so time to change I guess.

The other 2 items mentioned, do you guys change?

Thanks for reply bro.

Thanks.

If able to source the bushings yourself from stockist, it will be way cheaper than the entire arm (for my case at least). Labour cost range ard $100 depending on the workshop. Some workshop just recommend to change the entire arm. This you have to research to find out whether changing the bushing is cheaper or entire arm is cheaper.

Since you are replacing the front suspension components, change the stabiliser bar I-link and the Anti roll bar bushing at the same time.

Edited by Heartbreakid

If able to source the bushings yourself from stockist, it will be way cheaper than the entire arm (for my case at least). Labour cost range ard $100 depending on the workshop. Some workshop just recommend to change the entire arm. This you have to research to find out whether changing the bushing is cheaper or entire arm is cheaper.

Since you are replacing the front suspension components, change the stabiliser bar I-link and the Anti roll bar bushing at the same time.

Thanks for info bro.

Thanks.

what is front linkage ? Tie Rod end ? If still left many years to go, I would change all 1 shot. Not exp. 

I change front lower arm bushing before. At the end of the day, only a bit cheaper than change bushings (Eg. like $300 vs $250 type). So after that my subsequent car I just change the whole arm. 

Edited by Othello

what is front linkage ? Tie Rod end ? If still left many years to go, I would change all 1 shot. Not exp.

I change front lower arm bushing before. At the end of the day, only a bit cheaper than change bushings (Eg. like $300 vs $250 type). So after that my subsequent car I just change the whole arm.

Haha no idea. He told me front linkage.

Still got 3 and a half years to go so will change all I guess.

Thanks for info bro, will go stockist and enquire. Maybe just change the whole arm.

Yes bro change it as there are 3yrs plus to go.

Cannot live with the gro gro sound whenever go over humps.

The steering feel will also be tighter. It's worth the change for better feel of the drive.

Haha no idea. He told me front linkage.

Still got 3 and a half years to go so will change all I guess.

Thanks for info bro, will go stockist and enquire. Maybe just change the whole arm.

Change the whole arm, take back the worn arm and source around for bushing replacement. If you can find a reasonable price, change the bushing and keep it as spare. If not, at the end of the car ownership, just discard or give it to your regular workshop.

Thanks for sharing guys.

Yes bro change it as there are 3yrs plus to go.

Cannot live with the gro gro sound whenever go over humps.

The steering feel will also be tighter. It's worth the change for better feel of the drive.

Yah man.

Not just humps, the speed reducing strips too.

If possible change the whole arm and not only the bushing. If the workshop doesn't have the correct tools they may install it incorrectly. Also the bush have to be at the correct orientation as the arm is a moving part. You can purchase parts from major stockist in Sg and have them installed at your workshop. Since you are changing suspension parts, might as well check if the absorbers are in good shape. 

I changed the shock absorbers and related items before renewed COE.

I bought the front lower arm and the 2 items liao. Will change tomorrow. The stockist don’t sell the bushing separately anyway.

Thanks for all the info.

Just to further your cause you can try www.fitinpart.sg They have loads of bushing especially for bread and butter cars. Just key in your number plate and all items available will be listed.

*I have no relations with nor do I benefit from fitinpart.sg. Just introducing some leads that may help you in getting the correct parts. 

Edited by Ichibawa

Just to further your cause you can try www.fitinpart.sg They have loads of bushing especially for bread and butter cars. Just key in your number plate and all items available will be listed.

*I have no relations with nor do I benefit from fitinpart.sg. Just introducing some leads that may help you in getting the correct parts.

Thanks bro.

I always get my aircon filter from them. Good website and easy to use.

I changed the shock absorbers and related items before renewed COE.

I bought the front lower arm and the 2 items liao. Will change tomorrow. The stockist don’t sell the bushing separately anyway.

Thanks for all the info.

After all these change you still need to send for wheel alignment.

Yep I will.

Lucky my workshop just above Kenny alignment.

Thanks.