Alternator fail

Tcx607

just gotten mine replaced, not because alternator, but the pulley attached to the alternator. the pulley fall apart from the alternator.

i have to agree that it is not a simple task and have to get your hand dirty.

post-47950-0-59236200-1388846782_thumb.jpg

Anyone driving a 2nd generation Vios 08 onwards who need to change a new original Toyota alternator, please PM me.

My friend who's driving one ask the workshop to order one in and it turn out not his alternator pulley spoilt.

$530 for the alternator, workshop at Sin Ming Autocare CARS. Labour charge discuss with the workshop.

Thanks.

Edited by Fcw75

My bro's swift 1.5 Kaput at 7.5yrs. Changed at AD for $600.

Accord 600+ for new?, that means my bro got rip again.

Brothers, I can't help reading B&B cars charing high rates on alternator malfunction.

today my fren C180 compressor caused cranking upon cold start daily, i found few distributor charing from 250-330, the difference in prices is attributed from location to location in rental and CBD area, inside cbd is prime reason for few dollars more.

Another higher cost is labour charges incurred by owner who buy part directly or indirectly for distributor/s or third party they middle-men, a mark-up of 10-30% more for a runner to w/s, and distributor's & assistant mechanic who dirtied their hands to dismantle and mount d alternator, test and correction, more experienced mechanic takes one half hour to changed alternator, alter pulley, and belt, there isn't a day passed w/o the alternator cranking in tune due to car age, wear and tear plus driver's attitude toward car's care, labour charge varies form 150-250 per job, dependent on what you want to change all at one go, it does not necessary merely an EO change / filter and gasket.

i/m neither a technical guy nor an car expert, merely an observer who happens watch thing happened in car industry . Of course, we are no rocket science to say who's right and wrong.

A ferrari guy can drive his sport car like no tomorrow, but does he know his engine well and crash it, hardly he merely walks out and get another piece of carbon fibre.

My bro's swift 1.5 Kaput at 7.5yrs. Changed at AD for $600.

Accord 600+ for new?, that means my bro got rip again.

Maybe not. All alternators r basically the same so the cost is also abt the same.

Better is to source a 2nd hand unit from scrap yard or get a re-con unit from those shops that specialize in re-con alternator. Usually only the carbon brush n bearings spoil. Re-con ty just replace these for a almost like new alternator at half the price. Now also the circuit board but that is more lasting.

Maybe those sold at big ws also replace with re-con unit. How u know?

Brothers, I can't help reading B&B cars charing high rates on alternator malfunction.

today my fren C180 compressor caused cranking upon cold start daily, i found few distributor charing from 250-330, the difference in prices is attributed from location to location in rental and CBD area, inside cbd is prime reason for few dollars more.

Another higher cost is labour charges incurred by owner who buy part directly or indirectly for distributor/s or third party they middle-men, a mark-up of 10-30% more for a runner to w/s, and distributor's & assistant mechanic who dirtied their hands to dismantle and mount d alternator, test and correction, more experienced mechanic takes one half hour to changed alternator, alter pulley, and belt, there isn't a day passed w/o the alternator cranking in tune due to car age, wear and tear plus driver's attitude toward car's care, labour charge varies form 150-250 per job, dependent on what you want to change all at one go, it does not necessary merely an EO change / filter and gasket.

i/m neither a technical guy nor an car expert, merely an observer who happens watch thing happened in car industry . Of course, we are no rocket science to say who's right and wrong.

A ferrari guy can drive his sport car like no tomorrow, but does he know his engine well and crash it, hardly he merely walks out and get another piece of carbon fibre.

parts from distributor or stockiest, the price will definitely be cheaper than getting from ws.

as long as u go to a ws, they will mark it up and charge u...plus labor
but be warned some ws don't even want your business if u bring your own.. just have to bring your it elsewhere.

parts from distributor or stockiest, the price will definitely be cheaper than getting from ws.

but be warned some ws don't even want your business if u bring your own.. just have to bring your it elsewhere.

Have to find a ws that accept cust who bring their own parts in this case. Sounds tuff. 1 day when u do run into maj repair where u need to leave car there they may claw back what u "owed" them previously.

But getting the part from the WS also has its advantages, cos the WS is also responsible for the part. So consider the extra money paid as a kind of assurance lor....

Yes, some WS don't want to do your business when you bring your own..... [:(]

Have to find a ws that accept cust who bring their own parts in this case. Sounds tuff. 1 day when u do run into maj repair where u need to leave car there they may claw back what u "owed" them previously.

Why you "owed" them? Previously you bring your own part, but you paid for the labour cost right? Don't get you leh....

But getting the part from the WS also has its advantages, cos the WS is also responsible for the part. So consider the extra money paid as a kind of assurance lor....

Why you "owed" them? Previously you bring your own part, but you paid for the labour cost right? Don't get you leh....

Agree, but once I know they crawl back past account, i dump them and go to another w/s, on hand I have at least 4-6 w/s at my disposal.

One must do research 1st before plunging in or keena carrot

If you're first time @the w/s , they may not want to do biz with you, I always ask good kakis to refer to me, tis way, they welcome the referral like family, surely and slowly, we must give and receive reciprocally.

Agree, but once I know they crawl back past account, i dump them and go to another w/s, on hand I have at least 4-6 w/s at my disposal.

One must do research 1st before plunging in or keena carrot

If you're first time @the w/s , they may not want to do biz with you, I always ask good kakis to refer to me, tis way, they welcome the referral like family, surely and slowly, we must give and receive reciprocally.

Thats the thing. Thats why I asked my ws how much he makes from a bot of 1 Litre syn eo I take. So that I can discuss with him how much to adjust into my bill to acheive a win win situation.

Ur point 1 makes sense. Its like since I take from u, i will face off with if any issues.

Owe them as in "rightfully" what they would have earned if I took eo from them. So 1 day when I have issues where I have no sources, they charge me back with "late fee & interest".

of course there will be others not bother by bringing own parts, less hassle and not knowing what needs to be changed & merely own car to enjoy the leisure.

The purpose of this forum is to share among us the vantages of bring'g own part vs going to w/s hence alternator failed, which plays an important element in engine cranking, towards the end of the day, we took pains in knowing more about car rather then guessing what's wrong with my car today... ( the younger generation do not even go to hawker ctre for food. )

Went to a workshop at bukit merah lane when my car battery light lighted up when driving upon my friend's recommedation. Workshop diagnosed and confirmed its the battery and starter that had failed instead of alternator when I questioned them how can battery light be related to starter. However, still proceeded to change since they are the expert not me.

To my horror, the battery light appeared again after 3 weeks. Went back to the previous workshop that changed my battery and starter but the mechanic went into hiding after seeing me. How I know? because I saw him when I stopped outside his workshop but when I walked into the workshop looking for him, his staff told me he is not working today. This not only happen once but twice, on both days that i went.

SO LPPL, I went to 3 other workshops around that area and all told me its the alternator and not related to battery or starter at all. Finally, I found a workshop who specialises in doing electric stuff for cars, had my alternator repaired there and everything has been good so far.

Conclusion: do your due own diligence before going down to a workshop for repairs, don't because your friends recommend then you just happy happy go down expecting the same experience that your friends had!

Went to a workshop at bukit merah lane when my car battery light lighted up when driving upon my friend's recommedation. Workshop diagnosed and confirmed its the battery and starter that had failed instead of alternator when I questioned them how can battery light be related to starter. However, still proceeded to change since they are the expert not me.

To my horror, the battery light appeared again after 3 weeks. Went back to the previous workshop that changed my battery and starter but the mechanic went into hiding after seeing me. How I know? because I saw him when I stopped outside his workshop but when I walked into the workshop looking for him, his staff told me he is not working today. This not only happen once but twice, on both days that i went.

SO LPPL, I went to 3 other workshops around that area and all told me its the alternator and not related to battery or starter at all. Finally, I found a workshop who specialises in doing electric stuff for cars, had my alternator repaired there and everything has been good so far.

Conclusion: do your due own diligence before going down to a workshop for repairs, don't because your friends recommend then you just happy happy go down expecting the same experience that your friends had!

unfortunately, due diligence may equate to "pay school fees" at times.. believe many "learnt" that way n occasionally still kena but no choice - they have equipment n we haven't..

When the dashboard battery sign light up, when the engine is running, it means a charging system problem.

It's not a battery or starter motor problem.

Charging system problem means the battery is not being charged.

That could mean an alternator not functioning, or the wire/connection from the alternator to the battery.

In some cars, that wire is fused. That fuse could have blown.

It may also be due to the accessory/fan belt turning the alternator is broken.

True. Just couldn't believe that such a dishonest and irresponsible workshop exists!

When the dashboard battery sign light up, when the engine is running, it means a charging system problem.

It's not a battery or starter motor problem.

Charging system problem means the battery is not being charged.

That could mean an alternator not functioning, or the wire/connection from the alternator to the battery.

In some cars, that wire is fused. That fuse could have blown.

It may also be due to the accessory/fan belt turning the alternator is broken.

Bro, you have got good knowledge on cars unlike me. All have been good after i replaced the regulator on my alternator. Keep my fingers crossed

True. Just couldn't believe that such a dishonest and irresponsible workshop exists!

Bro, you have got good knowledge on cars unlike me. All have been good after i replaced the regulator on my alternator. Keep my fingers crossed

Unfortunately, too many workshops need the "extra" business.

The temptation to charge extra is always there.

Even if the case was a simple broken belt, they may persuade you to charge the alternator.

Same with "aircon not cold". If you go to the wrong w/s, they may simply tell you change aircon compressor.

Lots of money to be made.

It is up to you as a car owner to learn more or seek opinions from those with no vested interest.

Even if the case was a simple broken belt, they may persuade you to charge the alternator.

Same with "aircon not cold". If you go to the wrong w/s, they may simply tell you change aircon compressor.

It is up to you as a car owner to learn more or seek opinions from those with no vested interest.

I could have avoided all these if I had stayed calm and did my own research before sending my down for repairs :(

Its hard to find a honest workshop nowadays. Just take it as a lesson learnt.

the example u quoted happened to me, n was from a "recommended merchant" in the near east. i ended up not doin anythin yet since aircon still cold but previously like "not as cold" during hot spell.