Let's talk about NS... good memories or nightmares?

Scion

My BMT company guy fought with another coy guy. End up in 7 day DB. He seem to shed a lot of weight and more tone up.

Heard of the infamous field pack exercise

Wah...like that i will kana go db so many time liao! And charlie company got 1section mass brawl...bravo got one racial fight...nearly whole company involved! Like that whole company go db? Charlie also got whole platoon awol....none kana charge after oc coaxed them to book in.

Edited by Eviilusion

come... let's talk about NS shall we? :D

for me, the memories were mostly ok... some unforgettable ones were:

- unknowingly took up a prone position in a nest of ants during a training exercise... jumped up and tio kan by the sergeant

- dozing off during an evening ambush (at Tekong) and waking up suddenly in total darkness seeing nothing (couldn't even see my own hands)

- lost the ring of a smoke grenade but luckily able to find it before the sergeant knew about it (avoid at least three extras!)

- eating many leftover drumsticks like yao gui while cleaning the cookhouse

the camps I've been posted to:

- Nee Soon Camp

- Tekong

- Pasir Laba Camp (terrible memories!)

- Mandai Camp

- Khatib Camp

- Sungei Gedong Camp

- Paya Lebar Airbase (good life there!)

any secrets to share?

Wah...like that i will kana go db so many time liao! And charlie company got 1section mass brawl...bravo got one racial fight...nearly whole company involved! Like that whole company go db. Charlie also got whole platoon awol....none kana charge after co coaxed them to book in.

what unit is this? whole platoon awol!!

the worst case I heard so far is back in 94 or 95, 2SIR got 1 platoon of men mutiny. all throw 11B down from their bunk and refused to go for their meals.

hi, what is the highest rank ever charged?

got colonel kena charged before?

Highest Rank I encounter is CPT and 1WO.

Crabs rank, I dun think will go DB.

what unit is this? whole platoon awol!!

the worst case I heard so far is back in 94 or 95, 2SIR got 1 platoon of men mutiny. all throw 11B down from their bunk and refused to go for their meals.

1SIR 85-87....mono-intake. Me A coy.....mess awol involved oni 3 men....2 returned after a yr and 1 still awol till now. Drug case many many involving all races. Intake was made up of mostly uneducated boys...p6 and some lower! Oni a handfull of the intake has o or n levels. But they the best bengs mats n makhels! There was even a case where and nco chased an officer with bayonet drawn. This i saw with my own eyes.... Our rsm was the first WO1 to convert to captain.....WO1 Wahab Hussein.

I think they do gardening most of the time cos they don't serve anyone. not even their parents.

During my time in 2000~02, JWs are in-charge of area cleaning of general area, gardening, cooking of meals and serving meals to the MP at the cook house (buffet style, not sit and wait for lunch expect for the Commandant, officers and Senior specs).

They also deliver duty personel night snacks from the cook house to the guard house and cell blocks.

Detainees meals are also prepared and delivered by the JWs.

Every morning there is a JW rubbish party to push the rubbish cart to the rubbish centre OUTSIDE DB escorted by MP of cos.

So conclusion is JWs do serve.

Edited by Eeee78

My nightmare is during BMT, didn't know who the hell is "monkey god" till PT time.

Yeah... Experienced 'monkey god' too. PT damn xiong... Everyone morale super low the night before PT. But after that is damn shiok!! Ice cold Coke from vending machine is the best drink u ever tasted!!

any I also heard many that stay there long enough, come out can become iron man.

They are not suppose to excerise in their cell.

Those that kanna the sand/field pack regime are those minor offenders.

Hard core and serious offenders get to rot in cell.

Funny thing is that the JWs get to play basketball and excerise.

Some are even more FIT than the MP.

my lowest ever morale during NS was the booking-in at 20:00 every Sunday night at Pasir Laba camp (Sispec course)

quite funny when think of it now

They are not suppose to excerise in their cell.

Those that kanna the sand/field pack regime are those minor offenders.

Hard core and serious offenders get to rot in cell.

Funny thing is that the JWs get to play basketball and excerise.

Some are even more FIT than the MP.

i see....

the sandbag regime had became the representative image of DB... it struck fear in every one of us

my lowest ever morale during NS was the booking-in at 20:00 every Sunday night at Pasir Laba camp (Sispec course)

quite funny when think of it now

I was there for the same course. got ghostly encounter... [:/]

1 SIR A coy 85-87...2nd or 3rd mono-intake (forgot liao)....best CTSS record. 100% passes and 80 marksmen. Was informed a few yrs ago that the record still stand! They had to fill in drivers and storemen during reservist final ratp to reduce the numbers of passes. Ccb....

Just in.

300 recruits hit by diarrhea + vomiting at Tekong

Wednesday, Oct 02, 2013

SINGAPORE - An outbreak of diarrhea and vomiting affected some 300 recruits at the Basic Military Training Centre (BMTC) on Pulau Tekong last week.

According to a statement from the Ministry of Defence (Mindef), the incident lasted over a period of seven days.

Investigations showed the likely cause to be due to Norovirus, which can cause gastrointestinal upset but runs a self-limiting course, said the statement. Most of the affected soldiers recovered after one to two days.

Cookhouse premises and food handlers at BMTC were tested and determined not to be the source of norovirus infection. The food and water at BMTC also tested negative.

As a precautionary measure, common areas have been cleaned and disinfected and training within swimming pools put on hold temporarily. Commanders have also stressed the importance of maintaining personal hygiene to all recruits and staff at BMTC.

Mindef has said the Singapore Armed Forces will continue to monitor the situation closely and take all necessary measures to ensure the well-being and health of the soldiers.

Edited by Altivo

Just in.

300 recruits hit by diarrhea + vomiting at Tekong

Wednesday, Oct 02, 2013

SINGAPORE - An outbreak of diarrhea and vomiting affected some 300 recruits at the Basic Military Training Centre (BMTC) on Pulau Tekong last week.

According to a statement from the Ministry of Defence (Mindef), the incident lasted over a period of seven days.

Investigations showed the likely cause to be due to Norovirus, which can cause gastrointestinal upset but runs a self-limiting course, said the statement. Most of the affected soldiers recovered after one to two days.

Cookhouse premises and food handlers at BMTC were tested and determined not to be the source of norovirus infection. The food and water at BMTC also tested negative.

As a precautionary measure, common areas have been cleaned and disinfected and training within swimming pools put on hold temporarily. Commanders have also stressed the importance of maintaining personal hygiene to all recruits and staff at BMTC.

Mindef has said the Singapore Armed Forces will continue to monitor the situation closely and take all necessary measures to ensure the well-being and health of the soldiers.

Wah....300? Maciam the movie 300. I dont think the camp has enuff toilet to accomodate them all. And those at the cookhouse cooking n handling the food mafan wan! All eyescwill be on them.

Wah...like that i will kana go db so many time liao! And charlie company got 1section mass brawl...bravo got one racial fight...nearly whole company involved! Like that whole company go db? Charlie also got whole platoon awol....none kana charge after oc coaxed them to book in.

They fought in cook house. too openly liao.