Can I Practice at the SAF New Indoor Firing Range?

JackRabbit

I am sure all of us have read about the new SAF indoor live firing range that was recently launched.

New indoor live-firing range for soldiers launched

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/new-indoor-live-firing/836414.html

Soldiers now have a new indoor live-firing range as part of their marksmanship training. The Multi-Mission Range Complex (MMRC) at Pasir Laba Camp was launched by Defence Minister Dr Ng Eng Hen on Friday.

SINGAPORE: Shooting is a critical part of any soldier's arsenal of military skills, and Singapore soldiers now have a new high-tech indoor live firing range where they can hone their shooting skills in a variety of environments, under one roof.

The Multi-Mission Range Complex (MMRC) at Pasir Laba Camp was officially opened by Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen on Friday.

The three-storey facility has seven firing ranges providing realistic scenario-based training.

The complex also includes an urban operations range where soldiers can practice shooting at close-quarters.

At the inauguration ceremony, Dr Ng said the complex is an example of how the army taps on technology to achieve its goals and mission.

Dr Ng said: "This complex is indeed a milestone for the army and I would say it is a strategic platform for the SAF to maintain, if not improve, the competence of our individual soldiers.

“We learn from the best shooting ranges overseas, and I doubt you will find anywhere in the world, such a large and complex shooting range like this. This is really the front edge of development, it is state-of-the-art.”

The MMRC allows marksmanship training to be more efficient.

It usually takes two to three days for a unit to complete a marksmanship test for its soldiers, but now with the complex, it can be completed within a day.

The special lighting at the MMRC also allows day and night conditions to be simulated, so units can hold day and night shooting training within a few hours of each other.

The army has outsourced functional services at the complex, including ammunition management and conduct of the range.

But it maintains that security has not been compromised.

Colonel Chiang Hock Woon, chief infantry officer at the Singapore Armed Forces, said: "From the ammo security point of view, the Certis Cisco, the process, everything adheres to Mindef SAF protocol, and so we certify their people, and we also audit their process on a regular basis."

For soldiers, it is a load off their shoulders.

Lieutenant (LTA) Liang Lemin, an operationally-ready national serviceman, said: "Definitely less responsibility and it gives us less burden. So, we can focus in the shoot, rather than focus on safety, focus on getting men to move, where to move, what time to move, is there enough ammo, is the medical personal here.

“So, now we just come here, and focus on the task at hand, and then we get out, job done nice and quickly.”

The ranges at the complex also track and monitor the shooting performance of soldiers in real time.

So, they receive almost instant feedback on their performance, and hopefully shoot better the next round.

And these features have already started to show results.

Specialist cadet (SCT) Suthan Selvam, a full-time national serviceman, said: "Last time when I did my firing, I got a borderline pass. I keep missing a lot of targets, because a lot of things were going through my head.

“Then, when I come here, I feel I'm more focused, and I got quite a decent score. I got 16 upon 20."

Over 22,000 servicemen have undergone training at the complex since it came into service six months ago.

- CNA/ac/nd

Shooting... now this is a topic close to my heart.

I guess most of us; heck, a few hundred thousand Singaporean males, are/were soldiers at one point of time or another.

Some of my fondest memories of SAF include the opportunities I had to actually get behind a variety of small arms and blast away using live rounds. Managed to fire the following weapons live, during my NSF/ORNS days:

M16, P226, SAW, GPMG, Steyr Sniper Rifle, and the current SAR21.

When I left the SAF after serving the requisite 2.5yrs NSF + 13 yrs ORNS... I really missed the smell of cordite and the kick of live fire. Even during the 13 years of NS, there were actually very few opportunities to fire live rounds. Mostly were just blanks during field exercises.

Some years ago, I wrote into SAF with a (WITS) suggestion that we open up some firing ranges for reservists, on their own time and interest, to get the opportunity to hone their shooting skills with live ammo.

If the cost of operating the ranges and the cost of ammo was too high to absorb, SAF could charge reasonable fees for the ex-servicemen to pay. Of course, this should totally voluntary on the part of the ex-servicemen. Those who were interested could participate, and no compulsion for those servicemen who just Served And F*ckedoff. If SAF was too busy - they could subcon the task to SAFRA or a private company.

It is a win-win scenario - SAF would get soldiers kept in fine shooting form for FREE (assuming they passed on the costs to the reservists). Reservists would have another option for leisure activity, an opportunity to keep current and in shape with their hand-eye coordination and target practice, have fun trying out the latest weapons in the arsenal, a stress relief opportunity (heck, we could hang pictures of people we hated as Fig 11 target boards!), probably lower the number of fighting incidents outside - since we could work off our stress here.

Sad to say - nobody replied to my suggestion.

Well, now here is another opportunity to raise this suggestion once again. I am very sure that all live firing ranges are very busy and always in demand.. but I think it should be possible to allocate some time sharing - for example on Sat afternoons, and Sundays, and perhaps even weekday evenings after 8pm etc, if there is no official training.

The system could be opened to only SAF and ex-SAF personnel if due to security restrictions, perhaps. Perhaps some ranges could even be opened to public, if possible. Of course, proper security checks could be done to ensure no psychotic chaps get hold of the weapons and ammo, and ex-servicemen could be employed as Safety officers during firing.

Book lane 1 & 2, and go with some ex-platoon mates for guys nite out, and friendly competition on who's the best shot. Maybe even start a league tournament, or inter-con shooting. Heck, if it all works out - can even find shooters to represent SG in regional shoot-meets.

Would you be interested in going to such a live firing range, and paying, perhaps $5-10 a session and 30 cents a round (min purchase of 30 to 50 rounds)? Could be just like going bowling, what?!

Firers, watch your front! Own time, own target, carry on!

• Dislike 1

The system could be opened to only SAF and ex-SAF personnel if due to security restrictions, perhaps.

if you wan to practice shooting, join the local gun club.. or go overseas to shoot (Cambodia can shoot AK-47 for a few bucks).. Hell will freeze over if SAF ever lets civilians touch a rifle... they dun wan any wacko steal a round or shoot each other in the range...

Range simulator is not new. It has been around for some time.

This one I think comes with those mazes and all? Since it mentioned to help improves CQB..

if you wan to practice shooting, join the local gun club.. or go overseas to shoot (Cambodia can shoot AK-47 for a few bucks).. Hell will freeze over if SAF ever lets civilians touch a rifle... they dun wan any wacko steal a round or shoot each other in the range...

Actually to prevent wacko steal a round is easy. But shooting another may be difficult to prevent.

Who knows if the person is still at a good state of mind after he ORD.

That's the very thing... range simulator... I have tried those... no kick.

Especially, when you have experienced firing the real thing with a full charged live ammo. And going overseas ... well, everyone knows that. But, the point is having the experience in Singapore.

After all, it's not something that not been done before. Live firing ranges have been around since SAF began.. so no need to reinvent the wheel. We've all participated before and have the experience and the 1st hand knowledge, it's not like learning a new language.

And using the actual guns from SAF, not some lame .22 used for Olympic target practice - that makes for realistic training. Real 5.56mm, 7.22mm and 9mm. Heck, even 40mm grenades with an M203 launcher! Just pay the ammo price - so no cost to the taxpayer.

TS you can always volunteer to continue your NS obligations. During my reservist time I see a lot of ah pek with nothing better to do who volunteered. SAF will be more dan happy to welcome you with open arms. :D

I absolutely hate shooting. Coz during my BMT time, my range was 300m run down. My camp was in Nee Soon 7bts. I can recall most of the time when PC told us got range we sian 1/2. One thing was the range is nearby. Almost every morning we would have to "run" from camp to range in SBO attire. 5am we would draw arms eat breakfast and dan "run" to range. During range nobody is allow to sleep, not even lunch break, have to clean weapon to prevent IA. After night shoot we have to "run" back to camp and continue clean weapon. 2am dan get to settle down and sleep. We did a lot of range for some reason. It's not that we are bo-bo shooters but later we got the best coy dan I realised why.

My BMT and sispec very budget one. No throw grenade, no M203, dun even get to shoot curry powder. I only got to shoot the SAW(live round) and M203(simulator) and the most fun was firing the claymore mine(live firing).

ICT time we get to learn to shoot the SAR21. It was a breeze to use compared to the M16. With the 1.5x scope at 100m, it's a sure hit. Unlike my BMT's 300m where the foresight tip covers the full/half figure target(when we aim the M16), so difficult to get a hit. Somemore got what moving targets. Night shoot was even more easy with the laser tip. Clean rifle like no need to clean coz the SAR21 exhaust gas is not release into the chamber/bolt assembly like the M16. The gas is totally isolated. Less IA becoz of that too.

Now that I have MR, if you ask me whether I want to shoot again? Thanks, but no thanks.

That's the very thing... range simulator... I have tried those... no kick.

Especially, when you have experienced firing the real thing with a full charged live ammo. And going overseas ... well, everyone knows that. But, the point is having the experience in Singapore.

After all, it's not something that not been done before. Live firing ranges have been around since SAF began.. so no need to reinvent the wheel. We've all participated before and have the experience and the 1st hand knowledge, it's not like learning a new language.

And using the actual guns from SAF, not some lame .22 used for Olympic target practice - that makes for realistic training. Real 5.56mm, 7.22mm and 9mm. Heck, even 40mm grenades with an M203 launcher! Just pay the ammo price - so no cost to the taxpayer.

Haha.. bro.. if u wan these , can... Thailand got in their camps.. just need to grease some palms and their armoury open to you.. but must shoot in their range la... After the army range, then can do other "live firing" in their massage parlours too.. hahaha [laugh]

http://www.bangkokshootingrange.com/gun_package.html

Dude... like I said. It would not be compulsory. It's just another leisure activity option, like golf or bowling.

But doing so would also hone one's target practice, and that is a good thing for the SAF, right? Especially if it does not cost them.

Asking me to rejoin the SAF is sick. I have served my time, and I am not interested in running up and down Mt Biang all over again. The point is just to be able to shoot guns.

If you don't want to shoot anymore... it's your choice. But the opportunity for others who are interested... wouldn't this be a good thing?

It will never happen. There're lots of wacko everywhere. Later the plain clothes commando go & start firing at everyone at the range when someone touch his things...

Some like day range some like nite firing [flowerface]

I love dawn attack.........enemy wake me up from my sleep in the early morning..........my weapon fast fast stand to........load.......after some mountain holding and forest digging.. .........fire!!!!............Re-org ............and start again..........after that have a ciggi.............sibei SONG!!!!........... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

eeee.....sibei tiko :wacko: