Hydrogen cars could be headed to showroom near you

Darthrevan

All the school-time chemistry all come out. H2 can go "pop" , now ammonia is poisonous. LOL!

Try and buah petrol on your face and eyes, or drink it? See whether poisonous or not? Anyway, you need to extract H2 from NH3 before you can use it in your FCEV lah. 

We better return to the horse and cart. Only need grass. Bestest. 

Edited by Toeknee_33

On 10/16/2020 at 2:13 PM, Toeknee_33 said:

Yeah! I think so too! But some people here keep referring to Hindenburg and H2 explosion! 🤷‍♂️

I believe BEV is the interim technology and a stop-gap solution. I am not sure if investing in a BEV charging infrastructure is the right thing to do. I think SG somehow knows this and thus is not "charging" into it.

Just like in ancent time people thought flying around the world was not possible. Until someone invented aircraft and then the rest is history. 

So yeah, maybe last time it is dangerous, but with advancement in technology, I am sure reseachers, manufactures, scientists and etc will figure out how to safely extract hydrogen and thus is totally safe. Things keep improving right? If we keep thinking of the past.. How can we improve? 

2 hours ago, Toeknee_33 said:

This might be the way forward, produce green ammonia, transport it as a liquid to your destination, extract H2 from it via dehydrogenation, and you have an endlessly renewable source of energy that is also environmentally sound.

If this becomes viable, and SG invests in a H2 vehicle refuelling infrastructure, and more affordable FCEV vehicles are available, this will sound the death knell of BEVs.

No more environmentally harmful batteries and range anxiety and sitting around waiting for the car to juice up!

image.thumb.png.4844e1fa1373eb83b9464f443e4eaec8.png

I'm a fan of BEV but yea you have a point. 

The process of using green ammonia to produce fuel is quite tedious compared to the current means of generating electricity. Until there are tech/infrastructure ready to catalyze this process or help skip steps, BEV will be the LT goal, period. 

40 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Just like in ancent time people thought flying around the world was not possible. Until someone invented aircraft and then the rest is history. 

So yeah, maybe last time it is dangerous, but with advancement in technology, I am sure reseachers, manufactures, scientists and etc will figure out how to safely extract hydrogen and thus is totally safe. Things keep improving right? If we keep thinking of the past.. How can we improve? 

Speaking of ancient times, not too long ago in the 1920s ish, when people were using horses to get around, when asked on what is the next innovation in transport, they say a faster horse. They had no idea what was coming then hahah 

Makes you realize that the next thing that will come won't be that straightforward or intuitive. Who knows, hydrogen tech maybe the answer. 

4 hours ago, Toeknee_33 said:

All the school-time chemistry all come out. H2 can go "pop" , now ammonia is poisonous. LOL!

Try and buah petrol on your face and eyes, or drink it? See whether poisonous or not? Anyway, you need to extract H2 from NH3 before you can use it in your FCEV lah. 

We better return to the horse and cart. Only need grass. Bestest. 

👏👏👏👏👏

Not saying we should not embrace new and green technology. 

It's the accessibility of stuff if goes into wrong hand can create hazardous effect. 

As you said, "it's basic chemistry" 

Having such fundamental knowledge and wrong application can have detrimental effect. 

Ammonia in abundance... Bleach is easily available. 

See the Beirut blast 2 months ago.... their authorities don't care about the highly explosive materials in storage that caused the detrimental effect. 

What I 'm saying was handling substances that can be mix with another readily available product that when mixed and can caused harm should be regulated. 

11 hours ago, theo8 said:

Speaking of ancient times, not too long ago in the 1920s ish, when people were using horses to get around, when asked on what is the next innovation in transport, they say a faster horse. They had no idea what was coming then hahah 

Makes you realize that the next thing that will come won't be that straightforward or intuitive. Who knows, hydrogen tech maybe the answer. 

Hydrogen makes sense - only need an insulated container (much lighter, and cleaner to make) to store in the car, vs heavy batteries.

Maybe we can have small hydrogen maker at home too, just add water and turn on electricity for electrolysis to do the rest. 

13 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

Hydrogen makes sense - only need an insulated container (much lighter, and cleaner to make) to store in the car, vs heavy batteries.

Maybe we can have small hydrogen maker at home too, just add water and turn on electricity for electrolysis to do the rest. 

yea bro I agree with ya, hyrogen fuel is similar to the liquid state petrol. It makes perfect sense. 

But right now the challenge that stops people from using hydrogen fuel is the long and currently not so economical process of "manufacturing" the hydrogen that is ready to load up your hydrogen car. It takes a couple more steps and the technology that supports this process isn't matured. Until they can solve this "manufacturing" issue and also tackle the safety aspects of the fuel, hydrogen fuel is still pre-mature. 

13 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

31 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Change all roads to be wireless charging..... 

Getting the energy companies to JV to build these roads. 

Also also excess power from vehicles to be put back into grid. 

Then it's a perpetual power cycle?

Come... Let the scientists do the work on supply chain now. 

Then with ERP2 to charge road usage.... And energy charging... 

Selling back excess energy , there should be a price equilibrium. 

Edited by Atonchia

Wah lau a .......  So much Dragon and Phoenix talk here leh ...... WAH ..wah.... SEND ELECTRICITY from Australia wor ......

4500km so use DC hor .....  Equator got more Sunlight or Australia got more Sunlight ?

At equator 1 sqm 1400W Sunlight hor ....... because the Sun use 455k ton of Mass to convert into energy wor.

The Math like DON'T WORK leh .......... 

Anw, let revisit in 10 YEARS TIME ........ we got all the time in the world one .....

On 11/25/2013 at 3:07 PM, Darthrevan said:

5-hydrogencars.jpg

11-hydrogencars.jpg

7-hydrogencars.jpg

8-hydrogencars.jpg

Cars that run on hydrogen and exhaust only water vapor are emerging to challenge electric vehicles as the world’s transportation of the future.

At auto shows on two continents Wednesday, three automakers unveiled hydrogen fuel cell vehicles to be delivered to the general public as early as next spring.

Hyundai Motor Co. will be the first to the mass market in the U.S. It unveiled a hydrogen-powered Tucson small SUV at the Los Angeles Auto Show that will be leased to consumers. Honda also revealed plans in Los Angeles for a car due out in 2015. Earlier, at the Tokyo Motor Show, Toyota promised a mass-produced fuel cell car by 2015 in Japan and 2016 in the U.S.

Hydrogen cars are appealing because unlike electric vehicles, they have the range of a typical gasoline car and can be refueled quickly. Experts say the industry also has overcome safety and reliability concerns that have hindered distribution in the past.

But hydrogen cars still have a glaring downside — refueling stations are scarce, and costly to build.

Consumers can expect costs in line with some luxury models. In Tokyo, Toyota promised a price of $50,000 to $100,000, and as close to the lower figure as possible. That’s comparable to its Lexus luxury sedans, but a range that makes the once space-age experiment with fuel cells more credible.

Hyundai said it will lease the Tucsons for $499 per month for three years with $3,000 down. And Hyundai is offering to pay the hydrogen and maintenance costs. The company will start leasing in the Los Angeles area, where most of the state’s nine fueling stations are located. California lawmakers have allocated $100 million to build 100 more. Honda wouldn’t reveal any pricing details.

Even as battery-powered and hybrid-electric cars took on conventional gasoline models in the past decade, automakers continued research into hydrogen fuel cells, said Paul Mutolo, director of external partnerships for the Cornell University Energy Materials Center. Manufacturers now are limited only by costs and the lack of filling stations, he said.

Hydrogen cars, Mutolo said, have an advantage over battery-powered electric cars because drivers don’t have to worry about running out of electricity and having to wait hours for recharging. “It’s very similar to the kind of behavior that drivers have come to expect from their gasoline cars,” he said.

Hydrogen fuel cells use a complex chemical process to separate electrons and protons in hydrogen gas molecules. The electrons move toward a positive pole, and the movement creates electricity. That powers a car’s electric motor, which turns the wheels.

Since the hydrogen isn’t burned, there’s no pollution. Instead, oxygen also is pumped into the system, and when it meets the hydrogen ions and electrons, that creates water and heat. The only byproduct is water. A fuel cell produces only about one volt of electricity, so many are stacked to generate enough juice.

Hydrogen costs as little as $3 for an amount needed to power a car the same distance as a gallon of gasoline, Mutolo said.

Wow........ 8 years ago .... starting talking already leh ....... COE also going to expire soon leh ....

1 hour ago, Apple-Tree said:

Wow........ 8 years ago .... starting talking already leh ....... COE also going to expire soon leh ....

image.thumb.png.831c065f065ae025f944feef2f9c8286.png

What so surprising?? More than 100 years and they are still talking about electric cars. 

Aiya you go one corner and enjoy your rattly and smelly diesel lah.

Hydrogen will explode. You should stay away.

Edited by Toeknee_33