How to marinate chicken wings for bbq

tanbk

Having bbq on new year eve.

Kindly share ur best recipe for marinating chicken wings.

Please include the quantity of each ingredient as well.

never tried for BBQ before, but since going to BBQ, marination should keep it simple, seasoning sauce, salt, pepper and some chilli powder (if prefer spicy), squeeze half lemon and keep in fridge for a day before BBQ.

then apply honey while bbqing.

Marinate with salt, chilly powder, garlic and coriander powder (optional). Squeeze some lemon or add curd to tenderize the meat a bit. Best is to keep them in sealed plastic bags in the refrigerator overnight

Having bbq on new year eve.

Kindly share ur best recipe for marinating chicken wings.

Please include the quantity of each ingredient as well.

I usually add a little soya sauce.

Ingredients for Singapore BBQ Chicken Wings:

10 chicken wings - (rub the chicken with salt to get rid of any weird smell and taste, then rinse off )

metal skewers or wood skewers

Marinate sauce:

1 2 tbsp oyster sauce

3 tbsp honey

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tsp ginger juice

1 tsp sesame seed oil

salt to taste (optional)

white pepper

http://www.singaporelocalfavourites.com/2012/09/how-to-make-singapore-bbq-chicken-wings.html

I always buy those foil trays. Throw in the meat or wings. Oysters sauce, sesame oil & some sliced chilli. Plastic food wrap seal it and put it in the fridge overnight. The next day put in oven. For you will be BBQ.

Anyway if you are using the foil tray just seal it with aluminum foil. Whole tray put on the pit and leave it until it's cooked. Much faster.

Trying to be more adventurous.

Bought a piece of Foie Gras from Culina. Looks like the below.

20121213-seared-foie-food-lab-01.jpg

Intend to just bbq slices of it and serve with jam.

Will it work out fine?

Your bbq got be be real smoking hot to just sear it on the outside, or else, all melt Liao.

Will it work out fine?

better to pan sear, even and very hot.. don't overcook. otherwise won't be nice. grilling foie gras harder to get right.

chicken wings bbq, better not to have wet wings or the skin will stick to grill and not crispy skin.

any marinade that you fancy will do.

don't use too much oil, it just makes more smoke or charcoal will flame up and cause burning and soot to deposit on chicken.

make sure to break the wing joints so the wing will lie flat on the grill or skewer it. wings that are bent just don't cook well.

marinade over night for best taste. before bbq, make sure to let the wings dry out.

honey marinade not very effective, need to dilute slightly and apply lightly with brush. actually its just sugar syrup.

marinade ideas:

herb and spices: pepper, five spice, coriander, any spice u like

umami: salt, sugar, soy sauce, oyster sauce

fruitiness: orange oil from zest, lemon juice, etc

kick: whiskey, wine, XO, coffee liquor

up to your fancy

those hawker center one just marinate w salt no fancy ingredients.

they put salt in water and marinate wing in water for abt 3hrs.

plus if wing are fr fresh chicken,hawkers no.

HNY!

Oyster sauce, garlic powder, sesame oil and honey.

dun add honey or sugar to marinate. it will burn the chicken wing if the fire is strong and makes it char while uncook inside.

if u wanna add honey, apply only when its half cooked

Exactly what I was just gonna post.

Just bbq plain and then have a good dip available.

LOL... yeah, just on xmas day, our family had a BBQ and the maid go marinate the wings with honey and butter, end up kena F because all the wings burned easily due to the honey.

lol.. if salted butter the salt will marinade the wings, but butter will drop off into the grill..

honey causes a sticky messy on the grill.

yes the carbs tend to carbonize on the grill and meat.. just a little will help give it the maillard reaction or the browning of the skin.. this very important to give the taste.

not putting any carbs will work also just got to grill longer

I been doing some roasting of chicken wings recently since i moved in recently.

My recommendation would be for 6 chicken wings

1. 1 tablespoon olive oil (can use normal cooking oil)

2. 1 tablespoon soya sauce

3. garlic granules/powder if u dont mind

4. Spices - cajun or curry powder if u wish

marinate. 20mins also can. overnight also can.

honey is a double edged sword. u can add a small amount if u want but yes it chars more easily. i would say if u dun mind a bit of burnt skin but want that sweetness, still can.

if u lazy, plain also can. but it lacks that flavour.

I always buy it pre-marinated (from a catering company) and also hire someone from them to BBQ so everyone can relax and eat instead of having some poor chaps BBQing for everyone.

haha how true ...