Parking enforcement officers' devices capture photo evidence

Darthrevan

ST_20131229_YCSUMMONS29_3978430e.jpg
A URA carpark warden snapping a photo of a car before issuing a summons. The handheld device used to issue summonses can now take photos too.

Parking enforcement officers' devices capture photo evidence of offences
Forget about protesting or appealing against that ticket for illegal parking.
You may not see parking enforcement officers carrying digital cameras, but the familiar hand- held device that they use to issue summonses can now also take photos of parking offences.
The Land Transport Authority (LTA) started using these two-in-one devices last month. Its enforcement officers on motorcycles use them to snap photos of illegally parked vehicles before issuing summonses.
The gadget even uses Global Positioning System satellite coordinates to record the exact location where a summons is issued.

'bout time too.

Now all we need is more enforcement officers.

Less!

I think what we truly need as a society isn't more rules / regulations and regulators, but more social consciousness.

As drivers, we should not park and obstruct other people, and should be a little more forgiving if others do the same, as long as they're apologetic about it, and remove their vehicles ASAP. Once regulators come in, almost no chance of them going away, so, we shouldn't want more of them, but less of them, and more of our own social consciousness. This extends to other parts of our lives too, so we don't just fall back on regulations every time something goes wrong.

'bout time too.

Now all we need is more enforcement officers.

agreed..but the question now is with ironclad evidence..I wonder how errant motorists make appeals for parking offences?

Lao Sai, super urgent, no time to put kuporn. Grandmother gave birth. Forget where the car was parked, walked around carpark for 2 hours to search for it, and found it to be summoned.

Eversince this was outsourced to private companies, I have seen these officers sneaking around and issue summons and walked off briskly...no grace for 10 mins whatsoever.

10 mins grace was since donkey years ago and now with these officers/the ERP system,

this was cut to less than 10 mins, depending on whether the cp is packed.

There are banks/Mac/kopitiam/cheers/bakeries at serangoon gardens, to tear a coupon

just to pop in to draw money or buy a fast food meal is definitely not a gracious society that we want.

Unfortunately, its the direction we are heading.

• Dislike 1

Change all carpark into EPS so tht drivers cannot cheat on parking. Lol.

Later becomes carparks cheat drivers. Most people don't realise as no receipt printout. On those with machine printout in commercial buildings, I usually print it out and verify against their calculation. Most of the time, carparks cheat you one.

Edited by Kangadrool

There are banks/Mac/kopitiam/cheers/bakeries at serangoon gardens, to tear a coupon

just to pop in to draw money or buy a fast food meal is definitely not a gracious society that we want.

What does tearing a parking coupon got to do with gracious society??

Later becomes carparks cheat drivers. Most people don't realise as no receipt printout. On those with machine printout in commercial buildings, I usually print it out and verify against their calculation. Most of the time, carparks cheat you one.

Agreed, i encountered before carpark cheat drivers.

Its good they have the pictures as evidence now. So long as you don't park illegally, sure won't get summoned.

You got to be kidding right. Are you saying that the officers appear each and every time the moment the engine in shut off, such that you barely have time to run whatever errands you say you are going to run? They take time to come around and if you can see them by the time you reach the car park and you still persist in your belief that you should be given some sort of grace because of your 'special circumstances', then you act on that belief at your own risk.

This is classic self-centeredness. I believe I should be given exception to my advantage because of my special circumstances and I should not be penalised for me not following the rules.

Graciousness is understanding a policy that applies to everyone and which on the whole puts in place a system that is fair and which hdoes not extend particular favour to any individual.

Last but not least, if you can use the word 'sneaking' on those officers, then I say any one who "pop in to draw money or buy a fast food meal" as you say is equally guilty of 'sneaking'.

I support enforcement of traffic rules and make no apologies for it, especially to those who seek to get on the moral high horse when stripped down it is nothing but about doing things for one's personal convenience, if necessary at the expense of others.

Eversince this was outsourced to private companies, I have seen these officers sneaking around and issue summons and walked off briskly...no grace for 10 mins whatsoever.

10 mins grace was since donkey years ago and now with these officers/the ERP system,
this was cut to less than 10 mins, depending on whether the cp is packed.

Unfortunately, its the direction we are heading.

You got to be kidding right. Are you saying that the officers appear each and every time the moment the engine in shut off, such that you barely have time to run whatever errands you say you are going to run? They take time to come around and if you can see them by the time you reach the car park and you still persist in your belief that you should be given some sort of grace because of your 'special circumstances', then you act on that belief at your own risk.

This is classic self-centeredness. I believe I should be given exception to my advantage because of my special circumstances and I should not be penalised for me not following the rules.

Graciousness is understanding a policy that applies to everyone and which on the whole puts in place a system that is fair and which hdoes not extend particular favour to any individual.

Last but not least, if you can use the word 'sneaking' on those officers, then I say any one who "pop in to draw money or buy a fast food meal" as you say is equally guilty of 'sneaking'.

I support enforcement of traffic rules and make no apologies for it, especially to those who seek to get on the moral high horse when stripped down it is nothing but about doing things for one's personal convenience, if necessary at the expense of others.

Thats why those cashcard payment easier to get lot. Even if have to drift around waiting, also drift for shorter time. Actually those cashcard hdb parking areas have 10 mins grace. When I come out after 7-8 mins it reflects $0.00.

As for the coupon cp, those "hot" areas cfm no grace. All waiting to pounce.

Thats why those cashcard payment easier to get lot. Even if have to drift around waiting, also drift for shorter time. Actually those cashcard hdb parking areas have 10 mins grace. When I come out after 7-8 mins it reflects $0.00.

As for the coupon cp, those "hot" areas cfm no grace. All waiting to pounce.

no use if all by EPS their revenue down.....

they make more by giving summons than making you pay by cashcard.

normal HDBee only 60cents per 1/2 hour, but if you late 10mins they make $6 , KPI dude~~~~

no use if all by EPS their revenue down.....

they make more by giving summons than making you pay by cashcard.

normal HDBee only 60cents per 1/2 hour, but if you late 10mins they make $6 , KPI dude~~~~

Fifty cent per half hour la.

The summoner usually ATB, quite chio and comely one.

Question,

Early as in entry 12ish am Sunday, HDB car park no charge right?

Left 2 or 3 hours later, no deduction leh.

Some eps carpark got sign say season parking only, still can enter and exit (a few hours later) free on entry Sunday 1amish , out at 4amish.

Why is it not clearly stated, and why electronically signed as season parking only when got white lots in MSCP?

Less!

I think what we truly need as a society isn't more rules / regulations and regulators, but more social consciousness.

As drivers, we should not park and obstruct other people, and should be a little more forgiving if others do the same, as long as they're apologetic about it, and remove their vehicles ASAP. Once regulators come in, almost no chance of them going away, so, we shouldn't want more of them, but less of them, and more of our own social consciousness. This extends to other parts of our lives too, so we don't just fall back on regulations every time something goes wrong.

Totally agree. I wish for that too.

But alas, human beings are inherently selfish.