DIY Waxing

Extremme

Firstly must thank you...:) is it all the Giant all only a certain outlet? Thanks.

To be safe, go to their bigger outlets. The one at Tampines has quite a good selection of diff brands - meguiars, sonax, turtlewax, armourall, etc. I know because I was just there last night purchasing some of them. :-)

To be safe, go to their bigger outlets. The one at Tampines has quite a good selection of diff brands - meguiars, sonax, turtlewax, armourall, etc. I know because I was just there last night purchasing some of ths

Tampines? Then i will just go to Autobacs...but i know SPC do carry Meguiars product.  Thanks DioPian.

The glass wax on the windscreen you mention, is it the car wax or another type of wax for glass. 

If it is a wax for glass may I know which brand is it and where can I buy.

I notice after a few days of washing my windscreen has streaks of dirts.

There's a reason ppl want their cars to be hand waxed.

If you were to use an hand held orbitor you will get swirl marks when the wax wear off after a while. Regardless of what brand you use you will still get the swirl marks.

The trick to applying wax is not difficult or jialat at all.

- Get 2x microfibre cloth.

- dampen 1 x microfibre cloth with water.

- Use it to apply the wax on your car. You will notice that a damp cloth is easier to use to spread the wax evenly on the surface.

- The other microfibre cloth  leave it as it is. Use it to wipe down the car when the wax you had just applied has dried.

The trick to it is using a damp cloth to spread the wax evenly so that you won't see patches of wax after you are done. Same for any other type of wax, even glass wax for your windscreen. Ppl often comprain their wiper will judder after applying the glass wax. What they should do is damp cloth to spread out the wax evenly.

I read somewhere that under a hot weather, the applied car wax may melt and be rendered useless. This is especially true in Singapore's scorching weather. Zhun one bo?

Any bros DIY waxing or polish in the West ?

I keen to join if there a group or someone who is doing.

i in west.. if you have such event jio me ...

I read somewhere that under a hot weather, the applied car wax may melt and be rendered useless. This is especially true in Singapore's scorching weather. Zhun one bo?

I always apply wax on windscreen, especially after waxing the car. The water beading effect will last easily a month, shorter if raining season.  Those Glaco or Rain-X products will last longer than general wax.

It is very easy to apply on windscreen, just need to wash it and let it dry. Then 5min is all it takes to apply the wax, and you can have a clear view when raining. Very important especially when monsoon season is going to be big this year.

I always apply wax on windscreen, especially after waxing the car. The water beading effect will last easily a month, shorter if raining season.  Those Glaco or Rain-X products will last longer than general wax.

It is very easy to apply on windscreen, just need to wash it and let it dry. Then 5min is all it takes to apply the wax, and you can have a clear view when raining. Very important especially when monsoon season is going to be big this year.

So I can use the same cloth that I wax the car to wax the windscreen as well? 

For me is yes. I normally use the cloth to remove the excess wax to clean the windscreen all around. Can be used after each car wash if you are free. 

Juddering is more likely to happen if you apply wax directly to the windscreen, though not all wax will cause that. If juddering happen, just bear with it for awhile and it will disappear naturally as wax lose its effect.

You will observe the difference especially on old car as water will just roll off the windscreen by itself under 60km/hr on rainy days. And the clear vision you get is priceless for safety.

For me is yes. I normally use the cloth to remove the excess wax to clean the windscreen all around. Can be used after each car wash if you are free. 

Juddering is more likely to happen if you apply wax directly to the windscreen, though not all wax will cause that. If juddering happen, just bear with it for awhile and it will disappear naturally as wax lose its effect.

You will observe the difference especially on old car as water will just roll off the windscreen by itself under 60km/hr on rainy days. And the clear vision you get is priceless for safety.

if its ok to wax the windscreen then we can now make full use of the clean n wax shampoo right bro. The reason for not using was afraid that there will be juddering. Thanks.

other then autobacs may i know where else you can get the Meguiars Quik Wax? Thanks.

go lazada. meguiar products sold by is AD Hypercoat. check out their offer now. there r further disc frm credit card or other promos too. Free delivery too, you can try it out.

if you are into chemical guys (cg) products, found some sellers at carousel. can look them out too.

currently using both cg and meguiar products for weekly wash and wax with buddies. cheers.

if its ok to wax the windscreen then we can now make full use of the clean n wax shampoo right bro. The reason for not using was afraid that there will be juddering. Thanks.

I have been doing it for years. From my experience, juddering rarely happens, and even if happen will only last for awhile.

I am not saying I am definitely right, but I used to wax my Latio Sports every week for the two years I owned it, so I definitely know a thing or two there.

This forum is for sharing, but sure no need to take every advice out there. If you like the idea, then try lash. But if you worry, then don't take my advice lah. Not my lose anyway. Cheers.

I have been doing it for years. From my experience, juddering rarely happens, and even if happen will only last for awhile.

I am not saying I am definitely right, but I used to wax my Latio Sports every week for the two years I owned it, so I definitely know a thing or two there.

This forum is for sharing, but sure no need to take every advice out there. If you like the idea, then try lash. But if you worry, then don't take my advice lah. Not my lose anyway. Cheers.

i m not doubting you at all...sure if it works i will give a try. Thanks

Hi brother, using liquid wax for windows and windscreen is OK but don't apply too much on it otherwise the wax may snag the wiper blades when they move.

Have a nice weekend ahead :)

Hi brother, using liquid wax for windows and windscreen is OK but don't apply too much on it otherwise the wax may snag the wiper blades when they move.

Have a nice weekend ahead :)

Following my previous posting as above, I found this below for your consideration.

Re: Can I polish/wax my windshield?

Years ago, I was told not to use polish or wax on my windshield, as it might cause streaking in the rain. Is this still true?
Yes, we still recommend that you not do this. Many people seem to like Ultimate Quik Detailer or even Ultimate Quik Wax on their glass, but we still caution against over use of these products, especially on the windshield.

The reason we don't recommend this is because so many people have this attitude of "if some is good, more is better" and they end up seriously over using products. And the big problem is that they don't realize how heavily they've over used it until they get into trouble. This is true not only for the topic at hand, but general use of waxes, dressings, polishes, etc.

Michael Stoops

Senior Global Product & Training Specialist | Meguiar's Inc.

Read more at http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forumsshowthread.php?50058-Can-I-polish-wax-my-windshield&s=0997a1513d91ee384ad81470f350d30a#3Wq2UVoEJhigoaIW.99

Following my previous posting as above, I found this below for your consideration.

Re: Can I polish/wax my windshield?

image: http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forums/cpstyles/meguiars/misc/quote_icon.pngquote_icon.png Originally Posted by FullyFamous

image: http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forums/cpstyles/meguiars/buttons/viewpost-right.pngviewpost-right.png

Years ago, I was told not to use polish or wax on my windshield, as it might cause streaking in the rain. Is this still true?Yes, we still recommend that you not do this. Many people seem to like Ultimate Quik Detailer or even Ultimate Quik Wax on their glass, but we still caution against over use of these products, especially on the windshield.

The reason we don't recommend this is because so many people have this attitude of "if some is good, more is better" and they end up seriously over using products. And the big problem is that they don't realize how heavily they've over used it until they get into trouble. This is true not only for the topic at hand, but general use of waxes, dressings, polishes, etc.

Michael Stoops

Senior Global Product & Training Specialist | Meguiar's Inc.

Read more at http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forumsshowthread.php?50058-Can-I-polish-wax-my-windshield#3Wq2UVoEJhigoaIW.99

The forum you posted had many advising it ok to use wax on windscreen, in contrast to your last paragraph that advised against it. And that paragraph actually offered no substance to back the argument up.

Anyway I have been doing it for years, so not bother me at all. Not base on hearsay but personal experience. Just need abit of courage to try it. No harm done really even if has slight juddering, as it will recover after awhile as wax lose its effect. You will learn to finetune the process to make it better. But for those not so adventurous, I would recommend using Glaco that is super easy to apply with excellent result.

Edited by Heartlander

The forum you posted had many advising it ok to use wax on windscreen, in contrast to your last paragraph that advised against it. And that paragraph actually offered no substance to back the argument up.

Anyway I have been doing it for years, so not bother me at all. Not base on hearsay but personal experience. Just need abit of courage to try it. No harm done really even if has slight juddering, as it will recover after awhile as wax lose its effect. You will learn to finetune the process to make it better. But for those not so adventurous, I would recommend using Glaco that is super easy to apply with excellent result.

Glaco is good stuff. Apply once, effect can last up to 6 months.