CNA: More motorists caught speeding at KPE's 70 kph stretch

Vulcann

Are you one of the 55 "heroes"? [smallcry]

More motorists have been caught speeding at a stretch of the Kallang-Paya Lebar Expressway (KPE) that has retained its 70-kilometre per hour speed limit.

320-singapore-skyline.jpg Singapore

SINGAPORE: More motorists have been caught speeding at a stretch of the Kallang-Paya Lebar Expressway (KPE) that has retained its 70-kilometre per hour speed limit.

The speed limit for the KPE was raised to 80 kilometres per hour on December 29 last year, except for a stretch near the Upper Paya Lebar Road north bound exit and the Airport Road south bound exit.

In a written response to a Parliamentary question from MP for Tampines GRC Baey Yam Keng, Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew said that last month, about 55 motorists were caught speeding daily, up from about 30 per day in October last year.

Mr Baey had also asked whether there is a need to enhance the signs to remind motorists of the lower speed limit.

Mr Lui said the Land Transport Authority will add two pairs of "Reduce Speed Now" signs along the stretches approaching the location.

This is on top of the existing signs and road markings.

- CNA/al

(source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/more-motorists-caught/1001338.html )

80kmh then all of a sudden one stretch becomes 70kmh.

Knn, of course, those who dont know sure kena caught be surprise lah.

Either that or jam brake and cause accident, muayhahahahah

Edited by Throttle2

Look at the lane markings.. you all will notice there are 2 part of the stretch where lane markings are marked with thick dotted line along the slight curve road.. the part of dotted line markings indicate where speed limit is at 70km/h and not 80km/h.

Edited by Yewheng

I stay at 80 be it 70 or 80 which means those got caught are doing in excess of 80km/hr.

Ppl are not afraid that Mr Bombshell will drop another one of its bombshells? He already dropped the 130hp bombshell. Ppl not worried that he might drop the bombshell say 60km/hr on KPE?

Comprain to your mp somemore lah.

I am one of them. doing around 75 kmph. [:p]

Seriously ?

That means now excess 5 kmh kana already ?

So must do 67-69kmh to be safe ?

alamak ... the new 80kph speed limit is not applicable to the entire "stretch" of kpe?

Nope its not. the upper PL stretch with xtra thick lane markers are 70kmh.

Seriously ?

That means now excess 5 kmh kana already ?

So must do 67-69kmh to be safe ?

Nope its not. the upper PL stretch with xtra thick lane markers are 70kmh.

safest is to recalibrate odo....so that no prob. Set it to 10km/h below actual speed...haha. think upsizing tyres might do the trick.

Good excuse to up to 19/20".........kekekeke

upsize to 19/20 with the correct tyre profile will maintain speedometer accuracy, no? [sly]

safest is to recalibrate odo....so that no prob. Set it to 10km/h below actual speed...haha. think upsizing tyres might do the trick.

Good excuse to up to 19/20".........kekekeke

upsize to 19/20 with the correct tyre profile will maintain speedometer accuracy, no? [sly]

yes correct, but if profile diff, there is a 5-10% diff? read it somewhere

If a slightly lower profile tire was installed on your new rims than were on your old rims, it may not be that much difference. If not, it could easily be a few percent. If you went with a higher profile tire, it could easily be off by 15%. Also, both your old and new tires could be off, if they are not the original stock size, and your speedometer gear (or VSS gear, as the case may be) was never changed to reflect that.

Normally, speedo will appear 6 to 7km/h lesser, it depends on the over diameter of your tyre. Upsize it and the speedo will appear slower, downsize it will be faster but the mileage will be affected as well.

In SG, most drivers downsize their tires.

Use the tyre calculator to calculate the actual tyre diameter, then use GPS to check with your speedo.

https://www.1010tires.com/Tools/Tire-Size-Calculator

like wat watwheels said - 79 to 80 on a 70km limit is safe. l did 89 on the 80 limit oso [:p]

Yes. the above mention speed is safe... That is also the speed I travel. [sly][sly]

Those hogger that stay at 70km/h through out better stay to lane 2.