Vid Hypersonic February 24, 2014 Share February 24, 2014 A person may earn $20k a month but spends $22k before the pay cheque. Β Another may earn just $5k a month but spends $4k leaving $1k to savings. Β It's all about managing one's finances. Do not spend beyond your means. Not owning a car is not the end of the world. In fact, it can save your thousands every month. Β It's not easy to have savings when everything costs so much money. All the additional enrichment and tuition classes. Education is one of the biggest spending for a family with kids. In this competitive society, every parent wants their child to stay ahead of the race, yours truly guilty of that too β‘ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged February 24, 2014 Share February 24, 2014 that's no way to start married life. Β that's something i was very clear with my wife about. Β DO NOT OVERSPEND! as much as you want your dream wedding. we need to set aside money for house reno etc and Β i had to put my my foot down on this. Β i refuse to go into debt for a wedding ceremony. Β If my wife to be cannot share this sentiment with me, i don't see how this marriage would work out in the long term Β No no, that's not what I meant. Usually newly weds won't have this problem, yet. Β The situation gets worse when in mid-life the children are growing stage, needs tuition, pay school expenses, textbooks, enrichment classes.... The parents stretch their monthly inome to the fullest. If need to take care of old folks even worse. If not enough, they borrow (from someone) this month, and repay back when next month's paycheck comes in... Β It's not easy to have savings when everything costs so much money. All the additional enrichment and tuition classes. Education is one of the biggest spending for a family with kids. In this competitive society, every parent wants their child to stay ahead of the race, yours truly guilty of that too Β Correct. This is the situation now. Parents are willing to "invest" all their earnings for their children's education by giving them tuition and enrichment classes. Β So such parents basically has little or no savings at all. Every month waits for the next paycheck to come, and the cycle starts again. That is also why we see many seniors still working past their retiring age. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic February 24, 2014 Share February 24, 2014 Not every parent who spend money on tuition/enrichment classes is kiasu and want their child to be No.1 Β Other reasons like to shore up areas of weakness or inculcate subject interest are valid too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged February 24, 2014 Share February 24, 2014 never spend alot of money on kids means they will grow up and lead jiatlat life? Β Not necessary. But who can tell the future? Not every parent who spend money on tuition/enrichment classes is kiasu and want their child to be No.1 Β Other reasons like to shore up areas of weakness or inculcate subject interest are valid too. Β Yes, exactly. Β Β Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear February 24, 2014 Share February 24, 2014 Β yup, i have an engineer under me, his income not even 5K, yet, wife stay at home coaching 3 kids, last year, the eldest A-level, the second one O-level and youngest PSLE all in the same year... and trust me, they are a happy family and kids all guai guai one... did well in studies as well... so, it's really how one manage their expectation .... My god bro a normal technician,wife used to be kindergarden teacher Β Not much tuition etc,his elder son 9As include 1 A2,2nd son also not bad average 240 for psle Β I hope he can get some scholarship when A level out,btw he enter top 2 jc..i was quite shocked when heard his results..shock as in is really good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic February 24, 2014 Share February 24, 2014 My god bro a normal technician,wife used to be kindergarden teacher Β Not much tuition etc,his elder son 9As include 1 A2,2nd son also not bad average 240 for psle Β I hope he can get some scholarship when A level out,btw he enter top 2 jc..i was quite shocked when heard his results..shock as in is really good Β Wow! That is good! Your god bro must be a damn happy man. That is something money cannot buy [thumbsup] Not every parent who spend money on tuition/enrichment classes is kiasu and want their child to be No.1 Β Other reasons like to shore up areas of weakness or inculcate subject interest are valid too. Β I might spend a little more than most parents on education but it's not for them to be first. That's actually last on my mind. What I want is to equip them with skills so that they are able to survive this harsh society. Not sure if they will turn out as I hope but that's what I'm thinking. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 24, 2014 Share February 24, 2014 I might spend a little more than most parents on education but it's not for them to be first. That's actually last on my mind. What I want is to equip them with skills so that they are able to survive this harsh society. Not sure if they will turn out as I hope but that's what I'm thinking. Β I agree. I want to teach them more before they get caught up in the routine and rote learning that our national school curriculum enforces. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear February 24, 2014 Share February 24, 2014 Β Not necessary. But who can tell the future? Β Yes, exactly. Β Β Β so spend more liao wil have better future? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic February 24, 2014 Share February 24, 2014 (edited) If push comes to shove (e.g. when a child's health is at stake) - everything we have and then some. Β But otherwise, I don't believe that raising children is one of those problems that someone can just throw money at to solve. Β For instance, if a parent is intellectually able to teach a child a particular subject then he or she should do it personally. All work commitments, etc. should be set aside. Because putting the child through tuition is a poor substitute for a loving parent's personal guidance. The exception is when the parent(s) themselves cannot handle the curriculum and the child needs the help - in which case, tuition is justified. Β And all those enrichment classes - music lah, ballet lah, etc. etc.? How much of it is really aimed at benefiting the child, and how much of it is just keeping up with the Joneses? Does the child really want to do all those things, or does he want to do something else with that time? Our children are already stressed out enough with schoolwork and compulsory CCA, do we really need to burden them further to show how much we 'care'? Edited February 24, 2014 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic February 24, 2014 Share February 24, 2014 never spend alot of money on kids means they will grow up and lead jiatlat life? Β Never spend enough time with kids means higher probability they will grow up lead jialat life. Β Spending more time with kids is more important than spending more money on them without teaching them the actual value of life. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 24, 2014 Share February 24, 2014 Β so spend more liao wil have better future? Β all kind of investment need close monitoring, you can throw $1 million investment and let other people run and you never bother, chances are the money will be gone, likewise here. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged February 25, 2014 Share February 25, 2014 (edited) Β To each his own. I can understand what you mean when you say less kids means more quality attention to them. I don't agree though but still... Β how did our forefathers manage, with even less per month and they raised even larger families? Β Something in our food has made us taller and stronger.... but something about how we're raised has made us softer also. Β Just general thoughts ma... nothing personal against anyone in particular. Ya I agree, somehow our forefathers or even my grandfather and grandmother managed to raise 13 kids (inclusive my mother). Though they grew up fine, they do have some resentment towards their parents like boys get more than girls or boys were treated better etc. All of them lived in kampong so I think most of them do not have an option or dare to express because they will get caned or a very good "bashing" from the parents. Β No we are a lot softer and kids are a lot smarter, I caned = ill-treat the child... Anywy alr OT... Quality time still means a lot now... when I see both my kids clinch to me when I home... PRICELESS Edited February 25, 2014 by Carnoob 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged February 25, 2014 Share February 25, 2014 Β so spend more liao wil have better future? Β Not necessary also. You need to monitor the results too....just like what Jm888 had mentioned. Β It is also possible there'll be better future if you spend nothing.....but again, who can predict the future? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charmaine12 3rd Gear June 29, 2014 Share June 29, 2014 Β Never spend enough time with kids means higher probability they will grow up lead jialat life. Β Spending more time with kids is more important than spending more money on them without teaching them the actual value of life. Totally agree. Many parents nowadays neglect their child.. and stuff them with cash for good toys.. thinking that this is love. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 29, 2014 Share June 29, 2014 I could never define a percentage of my income for my children. Β Such things should simply come naturally. Its also part of our own background, heritage, character as well as upbringing. Β In short, its a handing over of values. Β A good balance of what money can bring and what time you can spend always does the trick better than over-leaning towards either side. β‘ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...