Do You Want To Retire Before 60 ?

The rules are dictated by my HR btw not by the Singapore Government, they realize the current practices were unfair and detriment to the company and imposed them accordingly.

Frankly from my experience of working with various offshoring agents almost anything can be replicated, barring maybe Sales or Roles requiring personal interrelation for business to be enhanced.

Perhaps you can advise what skills/craft one can master to a top level in an office type environment which cannot be replicated by a foreigner who is willing to do it for cheaper/faster/better?

Since this thread is about getting ready for retirement before 60, my point is that taking care of matters one can control is the best way forward.

Private company senior management do favours, call in favours, have their blue-eyed boys, practice some nepotism, etc. Since you say it is human nature, why demand that politicians create draconian laws?

Isn't the best way to discover one's own talents and enhance skillsets such that no one can take it away from you? If you are already among top in the industry, will you worry about such things?

If you are the best at what you do, won't you be able to command top salary? One is free to resign and take his craft elsewhere, right? Take it to competitor who pays more. Why torture oneself? Why not even consider setting up your own company in a field or sector which you are interesting in or enjoy the competition and challenge?

If you are not a major shareholder, don't even like the work, have other skillsets superior to your co-workers or your supervisor, why bother about human games in the office?

I think it's back to my point about few older workers actually bother to challenge themselves, discover their interests and talents, and get out of the comfort zone. Maybe it is all fear of the unknown and fear of failure.

(All this issues one realise only when get retrenched and career derailed)

Lol why would I get angry? I work with MNC owners on occasion and these were the views mentioned by them, I recall that's what you mentioned on your earlier post to get such views?

Actually my earlier view was mentioned with an assumption that you know how government tender process works, maybe my mistake. The tender process looks at a myriad of factors cost being an important one but also track record, ability to deliver on schedule and to specification, financial soundness of the company etc I'm merely suggesting that the Singaporean core is accounted as one of them (seeing that's what the government is advocating). 

Again suggest look at the big picture, understand the underlying process and enhancement that can be made to benefit the country as a whole.  Correct me but your post appears to just hone in on one factor that I raised earlier for objection, they don't look at just one factor.

Again, before you answer or get angry or triggered, think rationally:

If every private sector company has to hire only citizens, that is assuming ALL working adult citizens are top in skillsets, productivity, willingness to do their utmost, etc.

This also means EVERY private sector company will compete to pay mostest to citizen just so they can have highest favourable score to be at top consideration during govt tenders.

But you know that talents are distributed unequally. And each worker will not admit his true abilities. Especially the lower quality ones. Now add to this the pay inflation due to the competition for the top citizen talents.

If you were boss or business owner, what would you do?

Have you had experience filling out a work team with only top skilled citizens? Is it even possible? And are you guaranteed best performance and best outcomes to beat the competition?

Bro can share your knowledge? What stocks to buy so I can retire before 60?

How much of your salary do you save? Aim for 30% until you have one year lump sum of your monthly expenses.

Then put aside a bit more towards investments, and a little more towards the car COE.

Once your investments lump sum reaches $50k, then reward yourself with a new or used car paid in full or with small loan.

See how you feel giving a large lump sum away for a car first. You will discover more about your relationship with money than a lifetime of talking and not doing. Discover how you are when spending large sum of your hard saved and hard earned money.

(I was thought that regular wage earners usually screw up when faced with large sums of money suddenly appearing. In a long term study in the US, 70% of lottery winners (blue collar or white collar) went bankrupt within 5 years of winning the lottery.)

Bro can share your knowledge? What stocks to buy so I can retire before 60?

Bro

Although this question not directed at me

I can share with you.

Forget about stocks

Do you want to retire now?

I teach you, can.

Ok, how much liquidity can you extract today?

Go casino show hand. One game settle all.

No need to waste time.

However no guarantee hor

Same as everything in life.

Muayhahaha

When you win, remember who taught you hor.

Good luck

Edited by Throttle2

My financial adviser tell me the same thing leh.

Why I keep buying his savings plan but I still no COE  [bigcry]

How much of your salary do you save? Aim for 30% until you have one year lump sum of your monthly expenses.

Then put aside a bit more towards investments, and a little more towards the car COE.

Once your investments lump sum reaches $50k, then reward yourself with a new or used car paid in full or with small loan.

See how you feel giving a large lump sum away for a car first. You will discover more about your relationship with money than a lifetime of talking and not doing. Discover how you are when spending large sum of your hard saved and hard earned money.

(I was thought that regular wage earners usually screw up when faced with large sums of money suddenly appearing. In a long term study in the US, 70% of lottery winners (blue collar or white collar) went bankrupt within 5 years of winning the lottery.)

I showed hand and it was only enough to pay the entry fee  [dead]

Shall stick to buying toto for now  [laugh]

Bro
Although this question not directed at me
I can share with you.
Forget about stocks

Do you want to retire now?
I teach you, can.

Ok, how much liquidity can you extract today?
Go casino show hand. One game settle all.
No need to waste time.

However no guarantee hor
Same as everything in life.

Muayhahaha

When you win, remember who taught you hor.
Good luck

I showed hand and it was only enough to pay the entry fee [dead]

Shall stick to buying toto for now [laugh]

In that case, yes stick to buying toto.

See, you already know how to do it.

Why I keep buying his savings plan but I still no COE [bigcry]

I showed hand and it was only enough to pay the entry fee [dead]

Shall stick to buying toto for now [laugh]

You can continue to buy into whatever plans but dont buy investment linked insurance plan, those are bulls**t. You rather buy insurance plan and go into other investment instrument separately.

If every private sector company has to hire only citizens, that is assuming ALL working adult citizens are top in skillsets, productivity, willingness to do their utmost, etc.

This also means EVERY private sector company will compete to pay mostest to citizen just so they can have highest favourable score to be at top consideration during govt tenders.

But you know that talents are distributed unequally. And each worker will not admit his true abilities. Especially the lower quality ones. Now add to this the pay inflation due to the competition for the top citizen talents.

Have you had experience filling out a work team with only top skilled citizens? Is it even possible? And are you guaranteed best performance and best outcomes to beat the competition?

Wow you have 47 posst but only 43 points.

You have more posts than points.

That's a really shitty ROI.

Truly a diarrhea of words

but a constipation of returns. [smash]

But please don't stop talking to Roger.

Both of you have the same mentality 

and are a perfect match made in MCF.  [thumbsup]

Edited by Jamesc

The rules are dictated by my HR btw not by the Singapore Government, they realize the current practices were unfair and detriment to the company and imposed them accordingly.

Frankly from my experience of working with various offshoring agents almost anything can be replicated, barring maybe Sales or Roles requiring personal interrelation for business to be enhanced.

I think the root of the matter is that some citizens in positions of authority in those private companies are not thinking deeper about the mid- and long-term consequences. And are in comfort zone themselves.

On the other side of the issue is the difficulty in filling out work teams with only top-rate citizens. Top-rate is rare. Among some older citizens, the embarrassing and sensitive issue of whether they are Able and Willing to do the job crops up.

But if you notice, the common point in your observations is that the individual on the ground is best positioned to take action. If the citizen worker feels unfairness or bias, be professional and raise the issue. If too overwhelming, nothing stopping the citizen worker from resigning and moving to a competitor (this works only if citizen worker is high performer too).

Take action on matters you can control.

Perhaps you can advise what skills/craft one can master to a top level in an office type environment which cannot be replicated by a foreigner who is willing to do it for cheaper/faster/better?

Desk-bound, double-checking paperwork? If you say the foreigner can do it cheaper/faster/better why bother in the same job role or responsibilities?

Citizens are rather well educated, but allow comfort zone fears to slow their own personal progress.

If one is interested to continue in the industry, use your knowledge about competitors and customers built up over the years to improve one problem area in that industry.

If one treated the existing job as a stepping stone, then take action to move to something else that will hold your interest. An industry that you want to bring improvements to.

The amount of money you make is calculated on these criteria:

-How good are you at what you do;

-How high is the demand for what you do;

-How valuable your work is to the marketplace;

-How easy it is to replace you.

Only you know your own talents and existing skillset. That's why I say to take action on matters one can control.

Lol why would I get angry? I work with MNC owners on occasion and these were the views mentioned by them, I recall that's what you mentioned on your earlier post to get such views?

Again suggest look at the big picture, understand the underlying process and enhancement that can be made to benefit the country as a whole.  Correct me but your post appears to just hone in on one factor that I raised earlier for objection, they don't look at just one factor.

To be blunt, while you say "look at the big picture" you are contradicting yourself when you try to demonstrate deeper knowledge about the issue.

And your "big picture" consists of only private sector services companies tendering for govt contracts. (IT perhaps?)

By saying that everything can be offshored, and that foreigners are cheaper/faster/better, you are already writing off the singaporean workers. Why so pessimistic mindset?

But then you say that best way forward is for companies to hire all singaporeans. Doesn't that mean you are demanding that companies hire low quality workers?

I think if you haven't tried to fill a work team with all top-performance citizens and then oversee them to produce better results consistently over years, then it is difficult to suggest that you know the "big picture".

Why I keep buying his savings plan but I still no COE  [bigcry]

Don't avoid the issue: Do you have at least one year of your monthly personal/family expenses saved first? And what about your invesments capital amount?

Pay yourself first, instead of paying commission to a financial adviser. Takes patience and planning to diligently save.

Those who want to make money quick, will quickly lose money.

You can continue to buy into whatever plans but dont buy investment linked insurance plan, those are bulls**t. You rather buy insurance plan and go into other investment instrument separately.

Super praise you Bro!

When trying to achieve a better job, save more, or invest better, there will be those who will scoff. But just because they cannot do it, does not mean it cannot be done.

These are the excuses of the unsuccessful, the average and the poor in willpower:

Why don't you change to a job you love? "It's too hard".

Why don't you try to build a business you enjoy? "It's too costly. No money".

Why don't you upgrade your skills? "No time. Too lazy".

Why don't you specialise in skillsets which are in tune to your talents? "I don't want to be stuck in a rut".

Why don't you try something new? "I am fearful of cheats or fearful of failing".

Wow you have 47 posst but only 43 points.

You have more posts than points.

That's a really shitty ROI.

Truly a diarrhea of words

but a constipation of returns. [smash]

Can get better points in Makan thread