PSA: Watch out when driving in the rain

Myxilplix

As everyone knows, Singapore and Malaysia are currently experiencing a prolonged dry spell.

While everyone is talking about saving water, the heat, the brown grass and the Malaysians are worrying about water rationing, I feel that everyone needs to be reminded of the dangers we will face once it does rain.

Most of us will remember that the roads are most slippery when it just begins to rain as the accumulated oils/grease/grime that has settled into the asphalt will start to get dislodged and start to rise up to the surface. After 10-15 minutes of rain this tends to get washed off, especially in heavy rain. At some junctions that see a lot of heavy vehicle traffic, you might even see a rainbow sheen of oil on the road surface when it starts to rain (or if some truck has a leaky diesel tank/fuel line/hydraulic lines/grease boots/etc etc).

Although this is not new information, we are used to dealing with roads that are "flushed" on a regular basis (sometimes daily) due to our tropical weather. When we finally do get rain, please keep in mind that you will be driving on roads that will not have been "flushed" for weeks. As such we can expect a lot more accumulated oil being released and more slippery roads, possibly for a longer time as well.

As such I would like to remind all road users (drivers/motorcyclists/cyclists) to be extra careful if you are on the roads when we finally do get some rain. If possible it might be wiser to stop for awhile because all the fancy tires, traction control systems, awd, abs, etc etc are not going to help you if you hit a big patch of oil.

Hopefully we get rain soon and that the first rainfall will be a prolonged and heavy one over the entire island to give our roads a good flushing.

• Praise 14

If heavy rain does come the first thing that will happen is flash flood. Becoz of the dry spell we are already seeing a lot layers of dry dead leaves along the roads. These leaves will clog the drainage and cause flash flood.

I dunno what NEA is doing but they should be deploying more road sweepers to remove most of the leaves before the rain returns.

Public Safety Announcement lah.

Also agreed about the dead leaves thing, some of the centre dividers and grass patches on the roadsides are absolutely blanketed with dead leaves. Fire risk and drain cloggers.

Further to leaves clogging -

Very hard / dry ground will have greater rainwater runoff - the soil won't absorb so much water (at least until it softens) so drainage system has to handle more water.

Public Safety Announcement lah.

Also agreed about the dead leaves thing, some of the centre dividers and grass patches on the roadsides are absolutely blanketed with dead leaves. Fire risk and drain cloggers.

As everyone knows, Singapore and Malaysia are currently experiencing a prolonged dry spell.

While everyone is talking about saving water, the heat, the brown grass and the Malaysians are worrying about water rationing, I feel that everyone needs to be reminded of the dangers we will face once it does rain.

Most of us will remember that the roads are most slippery when it just begins to rain as the accumulated oils/grease/grime that has settled into the asphalt will start to get dislodged and start to rise up to the surface. After 10-15 minutes of rain this tends to get washed off, especially in heavy rain. At some junctions that see a lot of heavy vehicle traffic, you might even see a rainbow sheen of oil on the road surface when it starts to rain (or if some truck has a leaky diesel tank/fuel line/hydraulic lines/grease boots/etc etc).

Although this is not new information, we are used to dealing with roads that are "flushed" on a regular basis (sometimes daily) due to our tropical weather. When we finally do get rain, please keep in mind that you will be driving on roads that will not have been "flushed" for weeks. As such we can expect a lot more accumulated oil being released and more slippery roads, possibly for a longer time as well.

As such I would like to remind all road users (drivers/motorcyclists/cyclists) to be extra careful if you are on the roads when we finally do get some rain. If possible it might be wiser to stop for awhile because all the fancy tires, traction control systems, awd, abs, etc etc are not going to help you if you hit a big patch of oil.

Hopefully we get rain soon and that the first rainfall will be a prolonged and heavy one over the entire island to give our roads a good flushing.

very good advice. Appreciate it.

good reminder.. but why got "PSA" in subject title ar?

haha......at first thot he blame gahmen fault for not having rain. [laugh]

If heavy rain does come the first thing that will happen is flash flood. Becoz of the dry spell we are already seeing a lot layers of dry dead leaves along the roads. These leaves will clog the drainage and cause flash flood.

I dunno what NEA is doing but they should be deploying more road sweepers to remove most of the leaves before the rain returns.

The layers of dried leaves are getting thicker!! Drains will be choked!!

when that happens, "50 yrs" is up lo!! [laugh]

don't belittle the 50yrs statement hor!!

Not everything gahmen fault lah. This one is nature, whole world's weather going crazy. Maybe can blame humanity for changing the world, but that one also arguable.

BUT. If it rains and got flood cos of leaves and debris clogging drains, then become gahmen fault [grin]

haha you better than me.. i thought he refering to only happen in PSA at habourfront only!! hahaha

Not everything gahmen fault lah. This one is nature, whole world's weather going crazy. Maybe can blame humanity for changing the world, but that one also arguable.

BUT. If it rains and got flood cos of leaves and debris clogging drains, then become gahmen fault [grin]

right now, having some 'ponding' wouldn't be a bad idea.