Saudi woman defying driving ban killed in car crash - See mo

http://straitstimes.com/news/asia/more-asia-stories/story/saudi-woman-killed-defying-driving-ban-report-20140508

RIYADH (AFP) - A Saudi woman was killed in a car crash in the capital on Thursday as she defied the kingdom's long-standing ban on female driving, local media reported.

The woman, in her 20s, lost control of her vehicle and crashed into the wall of a youth club in Riyadh, according to the website of the local Al-Jazeera daily.

The car caught fire and she died, it said.

Ultra-conservative Saudi Arabia is the only country in the world where women are not allowed to drive.

Didn't know that women are disallowed to drive in Saudi until I read this report..

Saudi and Kuwait were the only two countries where women weren't allowed to drive. Kuwait finally allowed women drivers after the war (probably due to the large US women military personnel presence there). Women are also not allowed to sit in the front seat of a car unless it is driven by their male relative.

In fact, Saudi Arabia don't allow women to sit in the same area as men in public restaurants. Women and their family members have to sit in a cordoned-off separate 'family section'. At most food stalls, there are separate lanes, with a divider in-between, for women and men to queue. There are separate financial banks or rooms for women. Women are not allowed into hotel health clubs or gyms. Women also require their male guardians' permission before they can travel abroad.

Wonder what the women do for entertainment? Their bedside drawers may be full of toys......... [sly]

Edited by Flying_genie

Women disallowed to drive? Why?

AWARE, where are you?

[laugh] [laugh]

Send the whole AWARE dept there

[laugh] [laugh]

Send the whole AWARE dept there

Since many male drivers say "What do you expect, woman driver!" when they see silly driving behaviour on the road, this time better keep it away from AWARE else there will be too many female drivers, making ME male drivers sibei TuLan!! [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

This reminds me of a clip from one of my fave stand-ups [laugh]

Thanks for sharing! The last time of the stand-up is epic! [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

LOL [thumbsup]

Talking about stand-ups, recently i watched a all-female live stand ups (part of the local stand up festival in April). Some stand ups ove-rused the F words. Good ones should be able to do well and send the house rolling on the floor without the use of such words, I believe.

Women disallowed to drive? Why?

AWARE, where are you?

I think AWARE is pretty un-AWARE.....

Thanks for sharing! The last time of the stand-up is epic! [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Yeah man... The last part was like an explosion after the sad story. Sibeh farny.

LOL [thumbsup]

Talking about stand-ups, recently i watched a all-female live stand ups (part of the local stand up festival in April). Some stand ups ove-rused the F words. Good ones should be able to do well and send the house rolling on the floor without the use of such words, I believe.

Those that swear all the time have limited vocab [laugh] Mostly American college, Def Jam, etc.

Reggie's actually American but he specialises on social, racial and gender equality issues which won't cut it from the part of USA he's from. He does his work in the UK hence most of his material are quality and he seldom repeats his acts if compared with the prominent figures in the scene.

Edited by Relagsingh

Qn is so wat if Aware is Aware or Aware is unaware.....

maybe they r thinking what shld I wear instead.... sorry for the lame pun....

anyway, even if they r aware, wat can they do?

I think Justice Choo just gave them a lot of things to digest and defend the Woman's Charter.

Enuf prblm at home to worry abt somewhere far off where Aware will have nothing to wear if the Saudis are aware of them. (sorry for the lame pun again. [sweatdrop] couldn't help myself)

wth

most if not all the drivers here hate women drivers

and some express surprise there is a country that ban women from driving?

wth

most if not all the drivers here hate women drivers

and some express surprise there is a country that ban women from driving?

They maybe slow, scary cat type,but they do give signals, after that take forever to change lane.