Anyone familiar with buying Singapore Government Bonds?

Hi, i am a newbie in investment.

Are there any SGS right now which i can invest and will give a coupon rate of > 3% with maturity in 2 years?

Thanks in advance for all advises.

No SG govvy can give you >3% with 2 yr maturity.

Maybe 10yr maturity possible...

Not possible in Sg lah. Coupon interest rate damn high but yield damn low.

I used to actively invest in treasury bill. I gave up on SGS for a long time already.

Hi, i am a newbie in investment.

Are there any SGS right now which i can invest and will give a coupon rate of > 3% with maturity in 2 years?

Thanks in advance for all advises.

i also in the market for SGS with this kind of yield and maturity

if have such good deals, please tell me ok?

If you want higher interest rates, try buying corporate bonds instead.

SGS bonds have very low yield even if you manage to get it directly at launch.

So what's the latest inputs?? MCf bros or [gorgeous] have on SG Bonds now??

Can only apply after 1 Sep, and get it from 1 Oct....

The yield is betw 2% to 3%... principle guaranteed...

But if you want a higher yield, then look into REITS ...

Can only apply after 1 Sep, and get it from 1 Oct....

The yield is betw 2% to 3%... principle guaranteed...

But if you want a higher yield, then look into REITS ...

Yield is between 2% to 3% if you hold for 10 years.

If you hold for 1 year, I suspect it will be below 1.5%.

Rates can't be better than fixed deposit offered by banks.

SSB should be for money u plan to keep close to untouched for about 7-10 years.

Or else not much point vs the FD rates of about 1.6-1.7% offered by the banks currently for amounts ~50k SGD.

there is a difference, allows liquidity because you can redeem anytime with no penalty and is principle guaranteed.

And min $500 Max 100k though

http://www.sgs.gov.sg/savingsbonds

If we Talking about 5 digits , its a waste of time.

If we are talking about high 6 digits, it starts to make a bit of sense

Rich get richer, thats been the rule of the jungle for centuries......

Better all listen to agents go buy property and (let agent) huat , muayhhahahahahaha

Some high yield saving accounts are paying 1.5%. So if you have $100million, you will be getting $125k per month. ^_^

there is a difference, allows liquidity because you can redeem anytime with no penalty and is principle guaranteed.

And min $500 Max 100k though

http://www.sgs.gov.sg/savingsbonds

the liquidity is not immediate. U can only withdraw and get the money the following month.

Say for some unknown reason, u need the $ straight away. U can only get it at the start of the next calender month.

Unlike FD, u can redeem it straight on any working day.

Very minor difference, to me about the same. But a fine point. FD also no penalty mah.

Like i said, if u keeping the $ there for less than 5 yrs, i think FD can match the interest rates. However if at 10 years, then can't match lor, cos it's just slightly poorer than SGS liao.

Some high yield saving accounts are paying 1.5%. So if you have $100million, you will be getting $125k per month. ^_^

ocbc 360, dbs multiplier, uob one accounts all offer more if u get ur salary credited to them, spend minimum of X dollars on CC etc etc.

Usually up to 50k per account only though

Inflation / CPI is 4% componded annually.. I think NPV wise u losing money.

But then again, I am short sighted and dont have financial acument that allows me a better insight..

Happy to be wrong.. [laugh]

am waiting for them to announce what the actual yield is and what is the yield step up by holding on for longer period.

the liquidity is not immediate. U can only withdraw and get the money the following month.

Say for some unknown reason, u need the $ straight away. U can only get it at the start of the next calender month.

Unlike FD, u can redeem it straight on any working day.

Very minor difference, to me about the same. But a fine point. FD also no penalty mah.

Like i said, if u keeping the $ there for less than 5 yrs, i think FD can match the interest rates. However if at 10 years, then can't match lor, cos it's just slightly poorer than SGS liao.

FD redeem early no penalty meh?