Foreigners hit 50.5% of total workforce?

Baal

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/05/25/foreigners-hit-50-5-of-total-workforce/

Foreigners hit 50.5% of total workforce?
dmca_protected_sml_120n.pngPostDateIcon.png May 25th, 2014 | PostAuthorIcon.png Author: Contributions

ST-Online-2014.05.01-Jobless-rate-inches

Jobless rate inches up amid tight labour market” (Straits Times, May 1).

Singaporeans’ unemployment increases to 3%

Unemployment-Rate-as-at-31-March-2014.pn

It states that “The unemployment rate for Singapore citizens was 3 per cent last quarter, up from 2.8 per cent, while that for residents – that

is, Singapore citizens and permanent residents – was 2.9 per cent, up from 2.7 per cent.”

• According to the Ministry of Manpower’s (MOM) Employment Situation, First Quarter 2014 report – “There were 3,518,700 persons in employment in March 2014.
  • An estimated 59,300 residents, including 52,300 Singapore citizens were unemployed in March 2014. The seasonally adjusted figures were 62,500 for residents and 55,700 for citizens.”

Only 49.5% of total workforce is Singaporeans?

So, although there is no breakdown of the employments statistics for residents into Singaporeans and permanent residents (PRs) – if we divide 52,300 unemployed Singaporeans by their 3% unemployment rate – we get 1,743,333 Singaporeans in the workforce.

Divide this 1,743,333 by the total employment of 3,518.700, and we get 49.5%.

Therefore, does this mean that about 50.5% of the workforce is not Singaporeans?

If so, then we may have reached a milestone in our labour statistics – with more than half of the workforce being non-citizens for the first time in Singapore’s history.

Whatever happened to the consistent rhetoric in recent years that the influx of foreign labour will be curtailed?

133,033 new citizens = 55% not “Singaporeans”?

If we make an adjustment for the 133,033 new citizens granted from 2007 to 2013 – what percentage of the workforce are not originally Singaporeans – about 55% or more?

150th Press Freedom ranking?

Finally, don’t you feel that there may be something wrong with the title of the subject news report – “Jobless rate inches up amid tight labour market” – in a tight labour market – shouldn’t the unemployment rate go down instead of up?

SY Lee and Leong Sze Hian

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/05/25/foreigners-hit-50-5-of-total-workforce/

Someone wearing not black will starting saying your understanding and perimeters used for calculation is "inaccurate".

You know what ppl say....

Lies, Damn Lies and Statistics.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lies,_damned_lies,_and_statistics

"Lies, damned lies, and statistics" is a phrase describing the persuasive power of numbers, particularly the use of statistics to bolster weak arguments. It is also sometimes colloquially used to doubt statistics used to prove an opponent's point.

Unquote

You know sh!t stirring. This is one way.

So look around. How many Sgporeans are working in not so popular sectors like construction and Marine? These sectors are filled with foreigners. Why aren't these jobs given to Sgporeans?

You know, I know, everybody knows lah. What are stats or numbers anyway?

No, bro. Stats and numbers are very important. If you don't have accurate figures, you cannot make claims - at least accusatory claims against the gahmen. Otherwise you risk being sued like that silly blogger.

Figures are very important to technocrats (like our gahmen scholars). Fight fire with fire.

It states that The unemployment rate for Singapore citizens was 3 per cent last quarter, up from 2.8 per cent, while that for residents that

is, Singapore citizens and permanent residents was 2.9 per cent, up from 2.7 per cent.

According to the Ministry of Manpowers (MOM) Employment Situation, First Quarter 2014 report There were 3,518,700 persons in employment in March 2014.

An estimated 59,300 residents, including 52,300 Singapore citizens were unemployed in March 2014. The seasonally adjusted figures were 62,500 for residents and 55,700 for citizens.

Only 49.5% of total workforce is Singaporeans?

So, although there is no breakdown of the employments statistics for residents into Singaporeans and permanent residents (PRs) if we divide 52,300 unemployed Singaporeans by their 3% unemployment rate we get 1,743,333 Singaporeans in the workforce.

Divide this 1,743,333 by the total employment of 3,518.700, and we get 49.5%.

Therefore, does this mean that about 50.5% of the workforce is not Singaporeans?

There is some ambiguity here. 52,300 Citizens were unemployed. If that's 3% of the total SC work-eligible population, then the TOTAL SC working population is (100/3)*52,300 = 1,743,333 as they have computed.

However, they then proceeded to divide this by the "total employment" figure of 3,518,700. I'm not sure what this figure means. Does it refer to the total work-eligible population (SC+PRs+foreigners combined), or does it refer to the people who are currently employed (and those unemployed are excluded)? Because if it's the latter, their calculation is off.

But if their calculation is off, then it's even more extreme than they've claimed. The total no. of SCs in current employment (for the period under consideration) should be calculated as [(100-3)/3]*52,300 = (97/3)*52,300 = 1,691,033. That's lower than their figure (which also included the unemployed SCs). Hence the percentage of those employed who are Singapore Citizens would come out to be 1,691,033/3,518,700 *100 = 48.06%. That's about 1.5% less than even their claimed low figure, giving even more cause for concern. That would mean that SPRs + foreigners have hit almost 52% of the workforce, not "just" 50.5%.

Also, don't forget that the "Citizens" stats include new citizens also. We're talking about a truly dwindling proportion of born-and-bred locals in the workforce.

More people wiping table then working in office. Only T2 remain blue Singaporean as table wiper

have lar....my working place has this uncle wipe table wan! Got eye ailment and works so that he doesnt need to ask his children for the eye problem! But he not wearing watches or ride a bicycle like T2....maybe he not haolian type......hahaha!

I would think that assuming that there was indeed ambiguity, the writer deliberately erred to the side of "best case scenario" so as to cover his back. In this case, the "best case scenario" is also pretty alarming.

There is some ambiguity here. 52,300 Citizens were unemployed. If that's 3% of the total SC work-eligible population, then the TOTAL SC working population is (100/3)*52,300 = 1,743,333 as they have computed.

However, they then proceeded to divide this by the "total employment" figure of 3,518,700. I'm not sure what this figure means. Does it refer to the total work-eligible population (SC+PRs+foreigners combined), or does it refer to the people who are currently employed (and those unemployed are excluded)? Because if it's the latter, their calculation is off.

But if their calculation is off, then it's even more extreme than they've claimed. The total no. of SCs in current employment (for the period under consideration) should be calculated as [(100-3)/3]*52,300 = (97/3)*52,300 = 1,691,033. That's lower than their figure (which also included the unemployed SCs). Hence the percentage of those employed who are Singapore Citizens would come out to be 1,691,033/3,518,700 *100 = 48.06%. That's about 1.5% less than even their claimed low figure, giving even more cause for concern. That would mean that SPRs + foreigners have hit almost 52% of the workforce, not "just" 50.5%.

Also, don't forget that the "Citizens" stats include new citizens also. We're talking about a truly dwindling proportion of born-and-bred locals in the workforce.

Edited by Baal

Maybe this is a TOTAL DEFENCE strategy hor. Get many many foreigners into Singapore so that nobody dare to attack Singapore. [laugh]

post-32027-0-57595100-1401066089.jpg

Sometimes too much numbers/figures on a micro level tends to complicate the picture... take a step back and look at it on a macro level....

On the streets...at hawker centres... food court ... workplace... your hm (neighbours)... or just simply public places.. do you feel everywhere also foreigners....

there u go.....

Why so surprised?

I thought singaporeans already minority in this sunny island, so it should naturally follow that workforce is less than 50%.

in fact, 50.5% is too high, should lower it.

More importantly, is the income that singaporeans are earning, not the proportion of the workforce

What you expect when PAP ministars think of their own citizens like this?

daft_zps7bd27b8f.jpg

But quite true la... kenna asspoke so much will still vote for them... surely daft

Edited by Mockngbrd

It is not exactly a bad thing. Means more singapore citizen are enjoying life and not working.

What you expect when PAP ministars think of their own citizens like this?

daft_zps7bd27b8f.jpg

But quite true la... kenna asspoke so much will still vote for them... surely daft

yes it is true

i have to repent of my sins

that is why i do not even switch on the tv for national parade over the past few years, as i believe i do not deserve to participate, even vicariously through the TV

It is not exactly a bad thing. Means more singapore citizen are enjoying life and not working.

Work Life Balance ... Singaporeans insist on it these days ... [laugh]