VW jin-buay-song owner

Eyke

could it be just the coil pack issue which is very common on the TSI engines? why not take it to a reputable workshop for a 2nd opinion?

no la confirm 1 piston low compression, leading to engine damage, replaced whole engine, apparently a design flaw specific to certain batches of engines

OIC. its going to cost you a bomb if you get VCS to do the repair.

Just come across your case. I suffer the same fate with my passant 2L T a few years back. Less than a year and car was in workshop for an answer. End up waiting for weeks, have to get my lawyer letter out to show them some colours. Beside under warranty and then the 7 clutch issue was not announce in the open yet to make VW so famous! They were even more Lau LAN. One of the Vw service guys even stated we need to check if You make modifications and therefore the engine kepo....this was 1 week in the workshop and end up the only mod is a 18inch sports rim!!!! I even have to ask lawyer write in to request what correlation between sports rim and engine going kepo! End up engine changed!! And car sold!

unfortunately warranty ended last year 2013, but then again, how can the pistons misfired just after the warranty has expired! it's not wear and tear ler and apparently, it's a design issue. that's why they take apart engine (i pay - trust me u wun believe how much it cost), no point replace parts inside, change new engine (VW pay), cross fingers and pray it will never happen again until i scrap car truely

its a 1.4 TSI, stock engine, no modifications or tuning

cant rebuild, which i suspect is due to design flaw in certain batches of rocco engines, UK guys also had similiar issues

love the rocco truely but bad VW after sales and follow-up, what's so difficult to reply email or calls?

also VW is really bad at keeping personal data, i know the previous owner name and even where he stays, ask them update, lazy and recalcitrant

lemon law lo, what to do, i bought this in Feb 2014 from 2nd hand dealer

SIBEI SIEN and MA FAN

Edited by Sg571958

unfortunately warranty ended last year 2013, but then again, how can the pistons misfired just after the warranty has expired! it's not wear and tear ler and apparently, it's a design issue. that's why they take apart engine (i pay - trust me u wun believe how much it cost), no point replace parts inside, change new engine (VW pay), cross fingers and pray it will never happen again until i scrap car truely

its a 1.4 TSI, stock engine, no modifications or tuning

cant rebuild, which i suspect is due to design flaw in certain batches of rocco engines, UK guys also had similiar issues

love the rocco truely but bad VW after sales and follow-up, what's so difficult to reply email or calls?

also VW is really bad at keeping personal data, i know the previous owner name and even where he stays, ask them update, lazy and recalcitrant

lemon law lo, what to do, i bought this in Feb 2014 from 2nd hand dealer

SIBEI SIEN and MA FAN

Apparently their 1.4L engine whether it's the single TC or Twin charged or NA has this problem of timing chain that will slipped and cause the entire system to go out of sync and cause misfiring. Which can cause the engine internals to destroy itself.

This applies to all the VAG vehicles whether it's VW, Audi, Skoda or Seat.

You may do some reading here...

http://www.adamlewin.co.uk/vw-mk5-golf-tsi-engine-timing-chain-problem/

The main characteristic of a slip timing chain is the clattering sound(like a diesel engine) the engine produce at idling.

You may call it a design flaw of the timing system. I call it a catastrophic malfunction as it will destroy the entire engine. For those owning the car with the 1.4L in whatever output in which ever of the VAG vehicles, good luck.

sounds like their timing chain is worse off than timing belt.

Apparently their 1.4L engine whether it's the single TC or Twin charged or NA has this problem of timing chain that will slipped and cause the entire system to go out of sync and cause misfiring. Which can cause the engine internals to destroy itself.

You may do some reading here...

http://www.adamlewin.co.uk/vw-mk5-golf-tsi-engine-timing-chain-problem/

The main characteristic of a slip timing chain is the clattering sound(like a diesel engine) the engine produce at idling.

You may call it a design flaw of the timing system. I call it a catastrophic malfunction as it will destroy the entire engine. For those owning the car with the 1.4L in whatever output in which ever of the VAG vehicles, good luck.

OMG.....thot the problems were onli in the DSG. Now i hear vw engine oso prone to kaputz prematurely!.... [shocked][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

sounds like their timing chain is worse off than timing belt.

This is what that so call controls the VVT variable valve timing. Once this timing belt is out of sync, you can say bye bye to the engine.

I wonder if their other engine range are affected. I think VW knew the issue but still dunno how to fix it yet to issue a recall.

Just come across your case. I suffer the same fate with my passant 2L T a few years back. Less than a year and car was in workshop for an answer. End up waiting for weeks, have to get my lawyer letter out to show them some colours. Beside under warranty and then the 7 clutch issue was not announce in the open yet to make VW so famous! They were even more Lau LAN. One of the Vw service guys even stated we need to check if You make modifications and therefore the engine kepo....this was 1 week in the workshop and end up the only mod is a 18inch sports rim!!!! I even have to ask lawyer write in to request what correlation between sports rim and engine going kepo! End up engine changed!! And car sold!

aiyo, but in ur case under warranty should be FOC for parts and labour ler. i htink VW know they have a problem wif misfiring pistons. a latent defect

When u said A3 has more issues, is it just a perceived or actual occurences as I have at least 3 friends driving the latest A3 and they dun have problem.

I have one friend who has the A3 and had the gearbox prob. It was a one yr old car he got 2nd hand. Since it was under warranty they did do something about it but the problems still occurs on and off. But have said that when I took it for a drive it felt v nice to drive better than the 1.4 golf. But again I haven't driven many conti cars to know the difference....

Better don't comment too much else those insecure VW/Audi owners label you as not a owner but "story heard from friend's friends friend friend's car....". LoL...

Ah so it's not simi misfiring pistons lah, just that timing went to hell and the wrong parts started meeting at the wrong time (valve, meet piston. hoho).

Unless it blew a hole in the block I don't see why they can't just rebuild the engine, simi replace. It's not rocket science.

Chay! Poor DSG reliability, with bad engine design.

VW now really CMI hor.

Many of their cars made in Mexico, Portugal and Spain - no wonder lah.

Edited by W210k

Chay! Poor DSG reliability, with bad engine design.

VW now really CMI hor.

Many of their cars made in Mexico, Portugal and Spain - no wonder lah.

Yeah. I saw a lot of ang moh post in Youtube say the same thing. "What German engineering?" dan they show the engine Head, the Aluminium casting has the country "Mexico" and VW logo embedded at the side. LoL...

Actually a lot of them has their own garage at home and they can DIY repair and overhaul the engine. Amazing, like they don't have to work or a day job. Maybe it's holiday when they film it.

Ah so it's not simi misfiring pistons lah, just that timing went to hell and the wrong parts started meeting at the wrong time (valve, meet piston. hoho).

Unless it blew a hole in the block I don't see why they can't just rebuild the engine, simi replace. It's not rocket science.

U think they r hks factory meh.

On other hand, it's possible they sent back engine to mfg country for rework while put in another reworked one, wc is faster n easier for them.

Maybe it's trade secret, cannot let mech here know too much.

I guess you have the time to wait for them to rebuild the engine but the AD wkshp might not have that kind of luxury. I bet there's always a long queue of cars waiting to be service & repair for this brand. Maybe it's easy for motorbike with just one or 2 cylinders and you can just do it at any wkshp.

Better don't comment too much else those insecure VW/Audi owners label you as not a owner but "story heard from friend's friends friend friend's car....". LoL...

Hahaha but I drove it!! And I liked it!! Hence I was eyeing the blue manual S3 on sgcarmart. Alas no time to go and take a look.

Workshops rebuild engines all the time and like someone said, people overseas even DIY it in their garages. I'm sure the local VAG-specialist workshops do it too.

It's not rocket science and there's no need to make it out to be some strange voodoo.

BUT. Now that I think about it, perhaps it is manufacturer warranty issues that make it policy to replace and not rebuild the engines. Maybe if the car is out of warranty then they might consider rebuilding.