9 unforgettable hairstyles S

GongJiaoWei

singapore-barber.jpg

If you look into the mirror each time these days and feel like you are suffering from a bad hair day, it’s always good to take a breather and look back at some of the classic hairstyles from the 1990s.

Here are 10 different hairstyles from yesteryear that have left a lasting impression in our hearts.

And on our heads.

1. Bowl Cut

Bowl+Cut.jpg

The bowl cut is the epitome of gender equality since both boys and girls were subjected to the same childhood atrocity. Many children had it courtesy of thrifty parents and their DIY home barbershops.

2. Flat-top

Flat+Top.jpg

For some reason, everyone can remember having one friend who had this haircut.

Short, neat and so very flat you can balance balance books on his head.

3. Side-Parting

WLLHUNG.jpg

This is what happens when your parents comb your hair for you. The level of dorkiness is directly related to how flat your hair is combed. Some of you have combed your hair so flat you have developed your first signs of balding along that parting.

4. Center-Parting

Aaron-Kwok.jpg

Perhaps one of the most common hairstyles to have in secondary school back then, the center-parting was considered to be cool. And we have Aaron Kwok to thank for this abomination of a hairstyle.

Bonus Ah Beng points if you had one of those orange combs with the sharp ends.

5. Armani

Armani.JPG

The “Armani” hairstyle was perhaps as bad as the center-parting, if not worse. To create this look, flatten the top of your hair and leave only the fringe standing. Truly awful, yet it has garnered so much popularity back then. Gaudy.

6. Faux Hawk

Becks.jpg

One of David Beckham’s more iconic haircuts, many have attempted to recreate the fin, but only a handful managed to replicate a decent-looking faux hawk. What was supposed to look like the above image almost usually turns out looking like this:

Fail+Hawk.jpg

Faux hawk? More like faux pas.

7. “Spiked” Hair

Spiky.jpg
All guys are definitely familiar with this type of haircut. Even today. But back then in school, the bigger or more outrageous your spikes are, the more badass you are. The most common types of spiked hair were the shorter and neater ones though, probably an evolution of the flat-top.

Once in a while, you’ll see some weak attempts at liberty spikes because they wanted to look like “that guy from Good Charlotte”. (Does anybody remember Good Charlotte?) But they usually end up looking like this instead:

Liberty+Spikes.jpg

8. Long Fringe/ Mullet Combo

Asian+Emo.jpg

Sometimes incorrectly classified as the “Asian Emo”, this long fringe mullet combo was fairly common among guys after secondary school. Oh and butches, too.

9. The Currypok a.k.a. Pompadour

Currypok.jpg

Named this way because it resembles the curry puff.

Curry+Puff.jpg

Retro as this hairstyle may be, it certainly puts meaning in the phrase “old is gold”. The pompadour has made a revival in the recent times, and seems to be the rage these days. Tasteful and classy, the modern pompadour is usually remixed with an undercut, upping the style factor.

Pompadour.jpg

http://mothership.sg/2014/05/9-unforgettable-hairstyles-sporean-guys-swear-by-in-the-90s/

whenever saw William heng face, I will laugh automatically :D:D

But too bad, nowadays people is following fatty kim gangnam hairstyle :D

Got ahlian version?

Like hers want? :D

post-98840-0-33460900-1404360269_thumb.jpg

Edited by Rezorn86

one of the top malay band, the other top malay band is WINGS

Search was the among the top Mat ROCK Bands back then.

The guy on the extreme right..yeah..the one with the ding-dong hair style..is actually Chinese!..Hillary Ang.

all men.

KNN, the William Hung photo damn gross...hahaha.

Don't like that lah, he is cute lah :D

He appeared at the right time, right place... just that singings sucks :D

Hey, don't have my hair style...

always go to malay barber downstairs :)

and then I say, uncle, slope at the side and back, no need trim centre, cos no more hairs :D

whenever saw William heng face, I will laugh automatically :D:D

But too bad, nowadays people is following fatty kim gangnam hairstyle :D

Like hers want? :D

attachicon.gif33BDC5EBD631D45E3A5068A0B0CF90_h498_w598_m2.jpg

no, too new liao. i want the 90s ahlian cockroach feeler hair... sibeh got fweeling that one. along with the yellow windbreaker over black bra. or school uniform tuck in tight tight skirt pull high up.

Bro, sounds like we belong to the same era leh. What about the bengs with the long side burns. Ever saw these bengs at the toilet, busy styling their long side burns ensuring the it looked like a perfect inverted triangle, all the way down to the jaw line. Oh, and not forgetting the bengs with center-parting with tails dangling away. Image is then complete with the JPG long wallet and pointed orange comb in the back pocket.

Ahbeng last time vely rich.... i could only afford giordano blues

Muayhahahaha Giordano Blues!

side parting - checked

curry pok - checked

flat top - checked

center parting - checked

spiked hair - checked

armani - checked

6 out of 9. not bad.