Difficult to find a lightweight 15" Notebook?

Kelpie

Hi all,

I'm looking for a notebook with the following spec, can you help me?

1. i7 3rd Gen/ 4th Gen

2. Independent Video RAM (Non-Integrated)

3. less than 1.7Kg

4. Screen size = 15"

5. Windows 8 Pro/7 Pro

6. Memory, minimum 8GB

7. Not particular about brand

Not easy find. But I'm sure there are experts out there who can help.

Kindly advise me.

Thank you very much.

Regards,

look for the ultra books.

thin and light.

Most of the major brands carry them.

the thing to look out for is ULTRA THIN.

google it, you will get a whole host of them models to choose from.

Dei..... You want 15 inch, which means the battery must be decent enough to support such power hungry screen. How to make it so light wor.... One way is lug around without battery lor. Then can....

my Fujitsu UL rawks! battery life 8hrs...no horse run.! thinkpad oso, if i get the 9-cell, can do decent 6hrs.

anyway this place we want fast..meaning cars. Better go hwz ask

Lenovo Thinkpad X1 carbon.....super!

using it now

The backlight is rather dim. If you on it max , it hurts the eye.....

But its light

my Fujitsu UL rawks! battery life 8hrs...no horse run.! thinkpad oso, if i get the 9-cell, can do decent 6hrs.

anyway this place we want fast..meaning cars. Better go hwz ask

I've got a Dell Latitude with 15.6 fhd. Beside's it weight of 2.5kg, the battery rocks too!

now i carry the ipad first version already feel so heavy [laugh][laugh]

Hi all,

I'm looking for a notebook with the following spec, can you help me?

1. i7 3rd Gen/ 4th Gen

2. Independent Video RAM (Non-Integrated)

3. less than 1.7Kg

4. Screen size = 15"

5. Windows 8 Pro/7 Pro

6. Memory, minimum 8GB

7. Not particular about brand

Not easy find. But I'm sure there are experts out there who can help.

Kindly advise me.

Thank you very much.

Regards,

I'm using the Lenovo E440. Specs as follow:

i7 4702MQ Quad-core CPU

8GB RAM (can go up to 12GB)

nVidia GeForce 740M

14.1" 1366x720 Screen

Around 2kg

Battery life around 8-9hours under normal usage with WiFi on.

I tested personally the battery life. Previously I will bring my adapter along in my hand carry luggage for usage in the lounge while waiting for my flight. Now i don't even bother, just put in my check in luggage.

To see comparison of high end CPUs, go to http://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html. The 4702MQ has a score of 7321, which is amazing for a laptop processor

Edited by Shull

15" screen. then get ultrabook for what. Sure heavy right. my 15" laptop is 2+kg. The power adaptor also sibei fat cos of the motherboard needed to power the graphics card.

I am using the Samsung Series 9, very light at 1.2kg.

battery life test can last 6 hours.

Full SSD, so start up very fast.

I'm using the Lenovo E440. Specs as follow:

i7 4702MQ Quad-core CPU

8GB RAM (can go up to 12GB)

nVidia GeForce 740M

14.1" 1366x720 Screen

Around 2kg

Battery life around 8-9hours under normal usage with WiFi on.

I tested personally the battery life. Previously I will bring my adapter along in my hand carry luggage for usage in the lounge while waiting for my flight. Now i don't even bother, just put in my check in luggage.

To see comparison of high end CPUs, go to http://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html. The 4702MQ has a score of 7321, which is amazing for a laptop processor

We have the same laptop!!! Me using exactly the same one.

Yeah.. I love this laptop.. Perfect balance for portability and performance.. [thumbsup]

I agree. 15 inch and below 1.7kg are mutually exclusive.

I'm using a Sony Vaio SVS15 (discontinued model) that has the following spec. The only problem is battery life - it only lasts about 2 hours on a full charge. But my usage pattern is mainly home and office so its okay for me. I also like the large keyboard and separate numeric keypad. Because of its size, its feels lighter to hold because it is not as dense as, say, a 13 inch laptop weighing 2kg. Its also slim with no odd protrusions.

• Intel Core i7-3632QM Processor 2.20 GHz with Turbo Boost up to 3.20 GHz
  • Windows 8 Pro 64 bit
  • Hybrid HDD: HDD 750 GB (Serial ATA, 5400 rpm) + NAND Flash Memory 8 GB
  • NVIDIA GeForce GT 640M LE 2 GB
  • DVD SuperMulti Drive (Slot-in)
  • 2.0kg

2 years ago I was searching for the same specs for office and travel use. Actually this 15in notebook would be my main computer in the office, which I rather use than the company's thin-client set up [sly]

In the end, there were only 2 candidates - Samsung 7 Chronos and Sony S. I chose Sony S model VPCSE17GG/B.

Specs were i7, 8GB ram, HDD (not SSD), 15in LCD and 2kg with battery and DVD-drive. I removed the DVD-drive and slot in another HDD in the bay.

Price was about S$1700+ and pretty decent for 2012. ^_^

Now getting itchy and looking around for a similar specs....

cheers

[:)]

Edited by Armvalkyrie