Kusje Supersonic November 11, 2014 Share November 11, 2014 Anyone knows roughly which bank gives the best rates nowadays? I was damn lazy and went thru a broker when I got my loan the last time. He just showed me the few best quotes and I settled it from there. Dunno how much he made but my quote was similar to what others got from the same bank so no loss to me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic November 11, 2014 Share November 11, 2014 You going for fixed or floating? Thinking of fixed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic November 11, 2014 Share November 11, 2014 Thinking of fixed depends on how long you plan to service the loan. if can pay off fast maybe within 10yrs? i think float more worth it leh. don't see sibor going to too much in the next couple of yrs. if you plan take 25yr loan then fixed better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L23 6th Gear November 11, 2014 Share November 11, 2014 if i'm not wrong, the rates are going up next year wor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged November 11, 2014 Share November 11, 2014 (edited) Thinking of fixed You bought EC or condo? I got mine through finahomeloan.sg. I am on 0.95%+ average (sibor+sor). Effective rate 1.271% currently. Unfortunately, the way home loans are offered in SG, you can't take a long term view when deciding to go for fixed/ floating. You can only decided if rates will rise fast and furious within 3 years (3 years is short term to me). At the end of 3 years, whether you are taking fixed or floating, you will have to refinance as the 4th year rate is carrot head rate. Caveat: For floating rates, there is are 2 banks (ANZ and BOC, AFAIK) offering constant spread of 1%-1.05%%+SIBOR/SOR throughout the entire loan tenor meaning if you intend to take floating rates, you do not need to refinance unless you get another package with a compelling spread way lower than 1% or 1.05%. Good luck and happy hunting! If condo: ANZ/ BOC/ SCB If HDB: ANZ/ SCB Edited November 11, 2014 by Sabian 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 11, 2014 Share November 11, 2014 depends on how long you plan to service the loan. if can pay off fast maybe within 10yrs? i think float more worth it leh. don't see sibor going to too much in the next couple of yrs. if you plan take 25yr loan then fixed better. i think fix rates, the most fix for 3 or 5 years, after that board rate dont have fix rate for 25 years one unless is cpf 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic November 11, 2014 Share November 11, 2014 You bought EC or condo? I got mine through finahomeloan.sg. I am on 0.95%+ average (sibor+sor). Effective rate 1.271% currently. Unfortunately, the way home loans are offered in SG, you can't take a long term view when deciding to go for fixed/ floating. You can only decided if rates will rise fast and furious within 3 years (3 years is short term to me). At the end of 3 years, whether you are taking fixed or floating, you will have to refinance as the 4th year rate is carrot head rate. Caveat: For floating rates, there is are 2 banks (ANZ and BOC, AFAIK) offering constant spread of 1%-1.05%%+SIBOR/SOR throughout the entire loan tenor meaning if you intend to take floating rates, you do not need to refinance unless you get another package with a compelling spread way lower than 1% or 1.05%. Good luck and happy hunting! If condo: ANZ/ BOC/ SCB If HDB: ANZ/ SCB HDB can also consider POSB. IIRC they had (still have?) a package that promises interest rates will be below the HDB rate for 8-10 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic November 11, 2014 Share November 11, 2014 You bought EC or condo? If condo: ANZ/ BOC/ SCB If HDB: ANZ/ SCB Resale condo. Have made contact with UOB/OCBC/DBS/RHB/SCB/Maybank. Will try out ANZ/BOC tommorw. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged November 11, 2014 Share November 11, 2014 Resale condo. Have made contact with UOB/OCBC/DBS/RHB/SCB/Maybank. Will try out ANZ/BOC tommorw. Scb, anz and BOC only for floating. Their fixed package not that great. findahomeloan.co/Package-Details?fahlpid=347 findahomeloan.co/Package-Details?fahlpid=334 findahomeloan.co/Package-Details?fahlpid=207 UOB fixed 5 year 0.85% spread for floating package also worth a look. findahomeloan.co/Package-Details?fahlpid=337 For fixed, DBS fixed 3yr is also worth a look. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear November 11, 2014 Share November 11, 2014 (edited) Not sure if sharing comm frm bank is still a practice. When I looking for my loan , my housing agent offer to share his comm. frm the bank with us. A few grand. ANZ has the best deal during my time. spread was fixed at 0.75 + ave sor/sibir throughout tenure, 0.7 if you place $150k with them.I seriously doubt i see other better rates. Min annual income > 60k to qualify for the loan. Edited November 11, 2014 by ShepherdPie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear November 11, 2014 Share November 11, 2014 (edited) save 50K a year for 10 years will also get 500K for kids' uni why need to buy EC to hope? if property market downturn then kids no need to study liao if u are 20/30... buy if you want take the risk..but if are in..40s. By the time u sell your ec already 50+..hopefully u have enuff cash for the next house.. else u may have problem securing a decent loan.. Flipping really dun think so.. as some Bro say.. you might as well go for better price condos where the time to sell is shorter. Edited November 11, 2014 by ShepherdPie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic November 16, 2014 Share November 16, 2014 (edited) went to see sea horizon @ pasir ris. Good layout and location not bad. But i eligible to buy... lets wait for the plot of land just next to it and hope. Edited November 16, 2014 by Hamburger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged November 16, 2014 Share November 16, 2014 went to see sea horizon @ pasir ris. Good layout and location not bad. But i eligible to buy... lets wait for the plot of land just next to it and hope. Why you feel sad that you're eligible? Pasir Ris good meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic November 16, 2014 Share November 16, 2014 Why you feel sad that you're eligible? Pasir Ris good meh? Those that stayed in Pasir ris would know. For now it's the more lepak place to stay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 17, 2014 Share November 17, 2014 Those that stayed in Pasir ris would know. For now it's the more lepak place to stay. simi see lepak? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged November 17, 2014 Share November 17, 2014 (edited) To chill. Those that stayed in Pasir ris would know. For now it's the more lepak place to stay.That's right. For now... When the pair Ris Grove condos and sea horizon side condos TOP... Edited November 17, 2014 by Sabian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic November 17, 2014 Share November 17, 2014 Y no complain hdeebee top Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 17, 2014 Share November 17, 2014 To chill. That's right. For now... When the pair Ris Grove condos and sea horizon side condos TOP... Hmm a bit crowded when the 4 condos and Sea horizon (EC) are all up... But i agree it's quite a chill place. But probably the EC is the best. since enjoy the discount (if it's significant) and everyone else nearby is also 99LH. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...