Is it so difficult to find a trustworthy workshop?

Riverfish

Have tried a few workshops so far on my humble ride, and none have been up to the mark. Visited Autobacs Bukit Batok for the most recent services, and thought the relatively big player would cherish its name in the trade, and how wrong I was.

The service package was supposed to include x number of checks on lighting, tyres, brake system, etc, etc. But the outcome was: a headlight has been spoilt for months but plainly missed out during the check, tyre pressue was not checked again (the second time with this workshop already). Returned to the workshop to highlight the negligence (or shall I say a con job as i paid for those checks, didn't I?), only to be offered bull**it excuses.

Is it so hard to find a trustworthy workshop in Singapore? Where is professionalism and integrity? Or do you guys always stand by the mechanic while he performs the job?

Have tried a few workshops so far on my humble ride, and none have been up to the mark. Visited Autobacs Bukit Batok for the most recent services, and thought the relatively big player would cherish its name in the trade, and how wrong I was.

The service package was supposed to include x number of checks on lighting, tyres, brake system, etc, etc. But the outcome was: a headlight has been spoilt for months but plainly missed out during the check, tyre pressue was not checked again (the second time with this workshop already). Returned to the workshop to highlight the negligence (or shall I say a con job as i paid for those checks, didn't I?), only to be offered bull**it excuses.

Is it so hard to find a trustworthy workshop in Singapore? Where is professionalism and integrity? Or do you guys always stand by the mechanic while he performs the job?

It is really hard. Part of it is that it is a tough arsed job to be a mechanic. Greasy, hot, laborious etc and so it is hard for the workshop boss to find good applicants.

2nd part is I guess, too easy to skim and cheat in such an industry.

But frankly, things like lights, brakes, tyre pressure, I rather check myself and not have a greasy mechanic do it. I never like to go for all these 99 point or 6000 point check everything type packages.

Edited by Ake109

It is not difficult to find a trusted workshop. It is the price you are willing to pay. I have been with this w/s for 25 years and they have served me well. Just send in my car and tell the mech ( only trusted mech ) what I want and it is all done. I stayed around because the w/s is far from where I am staying so no choice.

It's not difficult particularly in the internet age. Ask other owners for recommendations. My preference is to go to workshops that specialise in that particular make/model.

Personally I'd avoid the big retail places like autobaccs/Stamford tyres etc, I feel their workshop facilities are more geared to the installation of products than general servicing or repairs.

in MCF somewhere I have ever posted a thread to denounce Autobacs' fraudulent behavior, unfortunately you became its victom also,

frankly speaking, among Singapore car workshops, hard to find trustworthy workshop, but profiteers can be found everywhere, especially if the profiteer found you are layman of cars, so avoid to be cheated,

1stly, improve your basic car knowledge,

2ndly, do homework before going to a particular workshop

3rdly, don't believe those ads of "reputed" workshop, e.g Autobacs

4thly, if the workshop's mechanics too young or got tattoo on body, forget it,

5thly, once you found honest workshop and mechanic, always go to the same, initailly maybe price is not the cheapest, but after mutual credits, price will be going to reasonable, and can give you valuable advice,

Car owners stayed back to check on their cars while servicing?? Been servicing my car for many years, I think I'm the only goodu to stay back to watch. I see many other cars around, but the owners always missing. As long as workshop don't chop you, it's fine lah. Worst is those ask you to change this change that even if it's not necessary.

x number of checks is just marketing ploy.

But since majority of public likes it, it will continue.

And since majority of public don't inspect such "checks" done or not, it can be ignored by the workshop.

If you asked, they can always say they used their eyes to check it already.

If you want something done right, you really have to plan it yourself.

When you want to change oil, when you want to change tyres, when you want to change battery, etc.

People are used to throwing their cars to ws and expect the car will be in perfect shape after it comes out of the ws, after they paid.

But when it stalled on the road or car won't start, there's the usual kpkb.

The COE now so high, people keep their cars for 10 years and have to go for more servicing.

So there is a long queue and the mechanics have no time to do their 20 point check.

Best is check yourself and anything you need doing just to tell them.

Also best to stand there and see what they do.

Also a lot of mechanics have no formal training so

its a case of grease monkey see, grease monkey do.

I wish they were all like Ed China but he is a millionaire

and won't come to Spore to work for a low salary.

Worst is those ask you to change this change that even if it's not necessary.

After I bought a 2nd hand car, went to this workshop to service and change several things, including ATF and brake pads etc. The mechanic checked and told me ATF still good, brake pads still have more than 90% so don't waste money to change... Have been going back to them ever since, from 8-9 years ago.

4thly, if the workshop's mechanics too young or got tattoo on body, forget it,

This would depend on the boss and how much he teaches them. The mechs at my favoured workshop are all young guys but they've been taught well and are obviously experienced and knowledgeable about the cars they're working on. In fact the guy that usually works on my car looks like he's still in school.

it's AD, how is price?

dude, good service doesn't come cheap..

This would depend on the boss and how much he teaches them. The mechs at my favoured workshop are all young guys but they've been taught well and are obviously experienced and knowledgeable about the cars they're working on. In fact the guy that usually works on my car looks like he's still in school.

agree! the mechanics that I've frequent also have tattoo and young.. no issues with that..

LoL... You open your own workshop lor. Hire highly skilled & professional mechanics and offer the best car servicing service but yet charge at reasonable price.

Prease, quickly go and open one I suppork you. But let me say first, if your workshop and mechanics suck I will come to MCF and make sure that I give my most honest opinion.

You are the car owner not the mechanics. Of course whatever symptoms you know best. Just like going to the doctor. You expect the doctor to do the 50 point checks on you and can diagnose within minutes? He can't. He still need you to tell him what is wrong with you mah. Talk about expectations.

x number of checks is just marketing ploy.

But since majority of public likes it, it will continue.

And since majority of public don't inspect such "checks" done or not, it can be ignored by the workshop.

If you asked, they can always say they used their eyes to check it already.

If you want something done right, you really have to plan it yourself.

When you want to change oil, when you want to change tyres, when you want to change battery, etc.

People are used to throwing their cars to ws and expect the car will be in perfect shape after it comes out of the ws, after they paid.

But when it stalled on the road or car won't start, there's the usual kpkb.

You are right. Better take matters into our own hands. Just felt cheated though, that you paid for services that were never delivered.

LoL... You open your own workshop lor. Hire highly skilled & professional mechanics and offer the best car servicing service but yet charge at reasonable price.

Prease, quickly go and open one I suppork you. But let me say first, if your workshop and mechanics suck I will come to MCF and make sure that I give my most honest opinion.

You are the car owner not the mechanics. Of course whatever symptoms you know best. Just like going to the doctor. You expect the doctor to do the 50 point checks on you and can diagnose within minutes? He can't. He still need you to tell him what is wrong with you mah. Talk about expectations.

So a doctor can write down in his diagnosis report that the patient is all well, without even bothering to check his heart rate or blood pressure?

I was talking about headlight and tyre pressure. The relevant checkboxes were ticked in the service chit but check was obviously not performed at all.

My expectation was as simple as: I pay, you deliver your service as agreed. Am I expecting too much then?